We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food”
Review of Tannery Restaurant

Tannery Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Tannery Restaurant, Dungarvan, Co Waterford. Modern Irish Cooking. Chef/Owner Paul Flynn.
Bridgehampton, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We went to dinner last night 8/30/2014 and are staying at the Townhouse . There were 10 of us for dinner and the service and food couldn't have been better! Having read many reviews while planning our trip I ordered the crab brûlée flat bread and pickles , which sounds weird but the wonderful blend if the favors was awesome, I shared it around and we all loved it. Try this when you go, it will nit disappoint , found out from our waitress it's a signature dish . My husband had the potato tortellini which he said was delicious and buttery. There was a lobster ravioli my friend had that she loved. Great presentations for all dishes! For a main course we had rib eyes, quail pot pie , and lamb . All excellent choices ! We were served mashed potatoes family style. And we ordered the fried mushrooms (best I've ever had ) . Since we had a group we ordered all the desserts except for the cheese platter. Everyone liked the chocolate mousse , Moroccan syrup cake, and summer pudding with raspberry cream. Well worth the price fir a special meal. The service was great too! Could not have been better!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vbellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    103
    45
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent meal and service”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

we visited in August with our teenage children and had a meal at the tapas bar, we were seated by the bar so could see all the staff and not a wall. the food was really good, we had a couple of dishes from specials. my son specially enjoyed the liquorice ice cream. the Atmosphere was good, all staff was busy at all times. the young waitress who served us was very polite and explained all options of menu, we would definitely visit again, really enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, busy restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We werent too sure what to expect from some of the more sophsticated types who post reviews on here. On arrival without a booking, we were shown to the busy bar and reasonably soon eventually seated in the restaurant. Bar staff seem very amiable but a little overawed on a busy evening. Food served was very good, reasonable sizes and good waiting staff. Little disappointed on the choice of steaks etc which seems to be their main faire - was limited to sirloin and fillet with no riibeye etc. The 'top' steak was GBP42 which was perhaps a little too much for us. Lots of diners and lots of parties going on, Good atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairlieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tannery, Owner at Tannery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Kiakaha

Thank you for posting a review of the Tannery on TA but we are a little puzzled. We don't advertise ourselves as a steakhouse. We have neither sirloin nor fillet steak on our restaurant menu and in fact we do have rib-eye on our menu. The prices quoted are incorrect, I'm not sure how you came up with the figure of GBP42. The rib-eye steak on our menu is EURO 27. Wondering really if you are mixing us up with another restaurant?
Best wishes
Máire Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very disappointing breakfast”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

we had a meal on aug 19 which was superb would def eat there again if staying in the area staff were so friendly and helpful.we stayed overnight in the Townhouse rooms were lovely and comfortable BUT........THE BREAKFAST consisted yoghurt with fruit which was in our fridge in our room when we arrived the previous eve 4 apples left on plate not covered and two Rhubarb muffins which were left in brown bag out side our room at approx 11pm for next morn VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tannery, Owner at Tannery Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Mary

Thanks for your review and great to hear you had such a positive experience in the restaurant. I have decided to respond to this review because I think its only fair to let other potential guests know that we always, always tell people when booking that we don't serve a full Irish breakfast. Whether booking on the phone, by email or through our website. Mostly this suits people, sometimes it doesn't and they may choose to stay somewhere more traditional.

Each of our rooms has a fridge which is stocked with water, local Crinnaughtaun apple juice, organic yoghurt with our own fruit compote and milk. (This normally gets stocked around 4pm so that we are not interrupting guests later by coming into the room).

Tea and coffee is also there along with muesli and fruit (in your case last week, apples from our own orchard at home).

Last thing at night, before our chefs leave, they bake muffins which our staff deliver to each room, leaving them hanging on a hook outside the door.

As we discussed on the phone when I contacted you afterwards, I am sorry that this breakfast didn't suit you and we would have been happy to chat to you upon checkout. It is unfortunate that your husband has such an aversion to rhubarb which it seems compounded the issue.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff who do all work extremely hard along with us to make our guests time with us as enjoyable as possible and I hope that this review will not put off other people from staying with us.

With best wishes

Máire Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I was a little disappointed.”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The food was fine, but the service wasn't, unless you are known to the proprietor. I asked for candles to be brought for my husband's dessert, but the waitress was very dismissing. The review options only allow to September 2013, and my visit was some time before this. There may have been a change of staff since then.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tannery Restaurant also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Tannery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing