We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning, excellent, need I say more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tannery Restaurant

Tannery Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Dungarvan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Tannery Restaurant, Dungarvan, Co Waterford. Modern Irish Cooking. Chef/Owner Paul Flynn.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning, excellent, need I say more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited here today after hearing about it for so long. I cannot say enough about this place in terms of getting it right. Keep it up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blonde_with_brain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    100
    43
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful set menu for a large group last October at the Tannery. The menu was very reasonable at €30 per person. We had a nice choice from the menu and the food was very good. My favourite was the main course, a chicken cassoulet, cooked to perfection! I also really enjoyed the chocolate dessert. The staff were very attentive, and the restaurant was very busy. If I had to pick a flaw, it was that we waited quite a long time between courses and drank a lot of wine while we did so, that made for a fantastic evening, but perhaps not something everyone would appreciate. I look forward to returning so I can sample the main menu, that seems even more appealing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeniseOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5* all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

After an enjoyable weekend in the cliff house I went here with my friends for lunch, the staff are fab very polite and sharp.The crab to die for, this is definitely a hidden gem, will definitely be back and will stay in there b&b worth a trip

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate here a few nights ago, the food was outstanding, I can't remember the last time I had food as tasty as that. The staff were were great very attentive and friendly. €30 for three courses of food of that caliber is an absoutle steal! I wish I lived closer!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lislou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portishead
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value for fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This restaurant is very good value for the quality of food it provides when compared to other establishments in town. My wife and I had two starters - crab brulee and pig cheek, two mains - ribeye and smoked duck. They provided gluten free bread as well. The wine list was well priced- the cote de rhone was delicious. No room for dessert!! Total price was 25% more than gastro pub or indian but 100% more quality.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tannery Restaurant also viewed

Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 
Dungarvan, County Waterford
Dungarvan, County Waterford
 

Been to Tannery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing