We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love gourmet food, chat and plenty...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you love gourmet food, chat and plenty...”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

If you love gourmet food, chat and plenty of local information, be sure to pay a visit to Gertie and Pat. Watch out for the porridge, it's got quite a kick ;). This is not your average b&b

Fabulous food, evening meal is a must!!! Thoroughly enjoyable visit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectricCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Kilcannon House is a lovely place to stay. Being a small farm, it is an ideal setting. Gertie, our host, couldn't be more welcoming with a beautiful sponge cake made from her hens' eggs, on our arrival. Our breakfast was a treat with bowls of porrige transformed into a delight with a touch of Jameson's whiskey, brown sugar and cream! The Irish breakfast, following, was delicious. Gertie was a wonderful host and went beyond the call of duty by even ironing my husband's socks!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude8485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Our brief 3 day stay with Pat & Gertie was one of the most memorable ever experienced by my wife & I. From the perfect cosiness of their delightfull cottage to the mouth watering food delights served up to us by our gracious hosts - I can heartily recommend this "secret getaway" for anyone seeking warmth, hospitality & an personal welcome-ness that is all but not lost in modern Ireland. It fully excels in terms of value, satisfaction & eagnerness to return. Go there - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank droileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My boyfriend and i travelled to Dungarvan last weekend to Kilcannon House B&B and had the most wonderful stay. The house is like something from a Maeve Binchy Novel, absolutely gorgeous! On arrival we were met by Gertie and her adorable dog, Oscar. As soon as we walked into the house we felt at home, the warmth, the smell of home cooking...bliss! Our bedroom was spacious with wonderful views of her farmyard and gardens. The beds were so so comfortable and it was beyond spotless!!! Food was out of this world, micheln star quality i would say, we were very very very impressed :-) Gertie is such a lovely woman and really welcomed us into her home. They also have a cute self contained cottage for two beside thier house which we are going to visit later in the year! This place is ideal if you want to get away from it all, eat AMAZING AMAZING food, meet lovely people and jsut relax chill and enjoy the beautiful irish countryside! :o)

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2009

My other half, myself and our dog needed a well deserved break away from stressful jobs and the week spent with Pat and Gertie did just that and more. The cottage we stayed in was perfect, plenty of room and great facilities oh and not forgetting the fabulous home made scones and jam waiting for us on arrival! As an equestrian enthusiast what could be better than lazily waking up in a blissfully tranquil setting to the sound of hens in the yard and hooves at the sitting room window! We were all made to feel truly welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were even driven to a restaurant and picked up on our last night there. Highly recommended and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I was delighted last year when I learned that I've been offered a rally driving course near Dungarvan.
We've been advised to call Gertie by the owners of another B&B that was being refurbished at the time. So we called her during the week explaining that we would arrive late on friday night which wasn't a problem for them. She kindly asked us what we fancied for dinner upon arrival but we preferred to leave her the choice and be surprised.
And what a surprise. The food that night was absolutely fantastic as weel as our two hosts.
The breakfast the foolowing morning was as delicious as the dinner before.
It was "gargantuesque" and so tasty (I love the pannacotta and the porride with cream and whisky...and also the eggs, fresh!!! and the bacon and everything actually).
After breakfast Pat and Gertie gave us a lot of advice on the differnet things we could see and do in the area and then Pat took us to the rally school so we did not get lost.
It is such a lovely place and the hospitality of Gertie and Pat is immense.
I highly recomment you spend a weekend there to learn what Ireland is all about...

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

April / May 2008O

Kilcannon House is less than 10minutes from Dungarvan on the Lismore Road.

We spent a night her in April (2 adults and 2 childrent) and liked it so much we came back for a weekend in May (3 adults and 3 children)

The rooms are spacious and the beds are really comfortable but the welcome is what makes a big impression. Tea, scones and homemade bread on arrival. Gertie offered to drive us into town for dinner (and pick us up afterwards) but we had other plans. When we got back to the house at 11pm - more tea coffee and cakes.

Breakfast the following morning was just amazing. Poached apples, pears, apricots from the garden plus- pannacotta and nuts to start. Then porridge (something I never liked) - but with sticky brown sugar, cream and a splash of whiskey - it was a treat I never expected. (The kids got to choose from a selection of cereals). Then came the full Irish fry - followed by more homemade bread, scones, and a selection of homemade jam.

As the adults settled into another cup of tea - Pat took my 10 and 12 year olds to look for eggs in the barn, feed the hens - and then feed the horses.

On our second trip we arranged for another meal prior to a family event. Another culinary delight - tailored to what we needed - nothing seems to be a problem for Gertie

Overall we felt we were treated more like family friends than guests.

Other info
No smoking
Pets - other guests had a dog
The guesthouse does have a website with some photos
Attractions nearby
Several good restaurants in Dungarvan
Gold Coast/Copper Coast scenery & beaches
Lismore Heritage Town is about 15minutes drive
An Rinn - Gaeltacht area

Helpful?
Thank jofus2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
5.2 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.4 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
433 reviews
7.3 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
108 reviews
8.4 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 15 in Dungarvan
308 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#4 of 15 in Dungarvan
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Cappagh | Co Waterford Ireland, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing