We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Ireland”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a jewel Kilcannon House is, nestled away with spectacular views overlooking lush green Irish country and the mountains. On our late evening arrival we were greeted by two of the loveliest people you could ever expect to meet - Pat and Gertie, who warmly greeted us, and kindly provided some home made cake, bread, jam, butter plus milk to get us started in the cottage. We were introduced to the animals - Jeff the horse, Mac the dog, the cat - jazz and the chickens and Cockerel, where they roam around the stable yard. The scene was not far removed from an Irish version of the "Darling Buds of May".

The cottage was spectacularly quaint and beautiful, with seating outside overlooking the stable yard or sit round the back overlooking the mountains. Everything was in the cottage that you would need, cooking facilities are good, TV and DVD, and my favorite the most comfortable bed in the world. The cottage was very clean. It boasts a wood fire which in Winter would be very welcoming and would make the cottage more cosy than it already is.

Pat showed us around the B&B and what a fantastic place it is, and having stayed in many B&B's this one is exceptional. Spend time talking to Pat and listen to his stories of his adventures and history - this is Ireland so no rush, spend time with Gertie and enjoy her Organic cooking. Nothing is to much for this lovely couple and who always have time for their guests. Enjoy the animals especially Jeff the horse and Mac the dog who will love you even more at breakfast time if you are cooking sausages.

Kilcannon house although initially difficult to find - hint look out for the L1013 road and it is short drive up with the house situated on the left, is within easy reach by car of Dungarvan and Lismore for stocking up on provisions. If you have booked by Welcome Cottage or Cottages for You ignore the directions for the petrol pumps and the post office as these no longer exist

It was with a very heavy heart that we left this Jewel of Ireland, no where we stayed at compared to the beauty of the cottage or the warmth of the hosts.

This is a definite must visit again cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilWalker1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

What a lovely way you have of telling a story .We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in the cottage and Jeff /Mac /Zaz/Prince and all the hens sends there love, they enjoyed all the left overs .from you .the weather is still holding up great .We were delighted that you got in about the post office is gone, and our new one is . L1013 of the main road which is the N72 .Thanks for that as no matter how many times we have told The Hoseasons Group they just wont change it and this is going on for a few years now and every one gets lost .so again thanks .Hope we will see you again in the future .Gertie O .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Gertie and Pat Ormond are two of the most hospitable people I have met during my travels. Their country house and cottage are hidden away from all the hussle and bussle however to get to the hussle and bussle does not take long!! Breakfast and dinner fit for a king, with all organic, home grown produce and cooked by Gertie herself. What can I say, if you don't experience a few nights at Kilcannon House, you have not experienced tranquility, beauty, hospitality of the highest standard and the best food ever!

Room Tip: The cottage attached to Kilcannon House was so quaint and that is what we choose - typical country c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank for your lovely review ,we are glad you both enjoyed the cottage for the week/end .and also that you enjoyed your dinner and of course your breakfast before you started off back home ,we do hope we will see you again in the future .bye for now .Gertie O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were four travelers exploring Ireland welcomed by Gertie & Pat with smiles & open arms at the Kilcannon House.. Pampered with the most wonderful accommodations which included large warm beds, the most delicious treats and delightful breakfasts. Pat and Gertie were happy to provided wonderful information and advise as to where we should go and visit near by. Gertie prepared dinner for us one evening at our request. Nothing was forgotten, so yummy. Our three days with them was to short..Gertie and Pat have the gift of"100,000 welcomes" and more. Perfect host along with Jeff the horse and Max the wise dog . If you are anywhere near the Kilcannon House it should not be missed. After our travels we feel like we have two very special friends in Ireland and hope to see them again someday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisandSusan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thanks for your review it was just lovely to see that you all had a great time with Pat and myself and Mac /Jeff /Hens for all your .eggs for your breakfast each morning I think we will have some baby chicks this summer .I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dinner also .looking forward to seeing you all in the coming years so we can look after you all again .regards Gertie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent a wonderful four days with Gertie and Pat in early May. This is a home away from home not a B&B. They make you feel so comfortable. The meals are out of this world and the accommodations are great. It is certainly a place you want to revisit. Thank you Gertie, Pat and Mac (there faithful dog)
Eamonn & Gail Tuscumbia Alabama USA

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eamonnjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Aine @Paul .We are so glad that you had a great stay with us and thank you for your kind review and sharing your experiences .and we do hope to see you again .and we could do longer in the garden next time with the herbs .and sharing recipes. .best wishes Gertie @ Pat /Mac /Jeff /Hens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had the superb pleasure of staying in Kilcannon House. The phrase "a 100,000 welcomes" is a perfect tribute to this Dungarvan treasure. We were hosted by Gertie and Pat for two nights. Their knowledge and expertise in the hospitality industry was plain to see. Sublime 5 course homemade breakfast banquets, cottage garden tours, and hand made travel maps, are to name but a few of the delights to great you on this working farmyard complete with house dog (Mac), laying hens and horse (Jeff). Their local knowledge combined with unobtrusive but attentive service (including turning down your room at night) made for the type of bespoke experience that top hotels can only dream of. An experience we will certainly take up again. P&A Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastleGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Patrick@Aine. Thanks for your lovely review its a great help to our business .So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us .we both enjoyed your company and the interesting chats .hope we will see you again some time .regards Gertie @ Pat / Mac /

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights here over Easter. Gertie & Pat are great hosts, incredibly friendly and Gertie makes a fantastic breakfast. The cottage was lovely and warm (even though the weather at Easter wasn't!) thanks to the wood burning stove. Came away refreshed, relaxed and replete.

Room Tip: The cottage has it's own kitchen and lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearinthewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Melanne and Richard .you are very welcome .and thanks for posting a review here on trip/advisor we do really appreciate them .and so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and your dinner and breakfast .in the main house .we enjoyed sharing a glass of wine with you and the stories .until next time Gertie@Pat /Mac /Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My pup Riley and I stayed overnight and had a wonderful time. The house was lovely, the stories and discussion with Pat lively, and the afternoon scones and breakfast-by-Gertie delicious. There was so much offered at breakfast, I thought there must have been extra guests joining me. (It was only me!). Pat and Gertie were patient when my overly excitable pup growled a few times at the ever loveable Mack and were kind enough to place us in a very comfortable, quiet and large room with easy access to the garden for pup potty breaks. It was very cold and windy, so I didn't have an opportunity to walk in the large fields surrounding the house, but enjoyed short strolls in the garden and visiting with Jeff the horse and the free-range chicken flock. I was provided with great directions to follow the next day, through the Knockmealdown Mountains, that I enjoyed very much. Looking forward to another stay next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilbertSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your scones for your welcome cup of tea and when we were having our evening meal sharing with us/ .Pat enjoyed telling all the stories around the kitchen table ,and pup riley greetings to him also .so glad you enjoyed our 3 course breakfast it set you up for the day .we would love to see you both again soon .very best wishes ,gertie and pat /mac .jeff /hens /

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dungarvan hotels
5.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.0 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
340 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
340 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
151 reviews
7.7 mi away
Killineen House
Killineen House
#7 of 16 in Dungarvan
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cappagh | Co Waterford Ireland, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing