We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dungarvan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Dungarvan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had the superb pleasure of staying in Kilcannon House. The phrase "a 100,000 welcomes" is a perfect tribute to this Dungarvan treasure. We were hosted by Gertie and Pat for two nights. Their knowledge and expertise in the hospitality industry was plain to see. Sublime 5 course homemade breakfast banquets, cottage garden tours, and hand made travel maps, are to name but a few of the delights to great you on this working farmyard complete with house dog (Mac), laying hens and horse (Jeff). Their local knowledge combined with unobtrusive but attentive service (including turning down your room at night) made for the type of bespoke experience that top hotels can only dream of. An experience we will certainly take up again. P&A Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CastleGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Patrick@Aine. Thanks for your lovely review its a great help to our business .So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us .we both enjoyed your company and the interesting chats .hope we will see you again some time .regards Gertie @ Pat / Mac /

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a wonderful two nights here over Easter. Gertie & Pat are great hosts, incredibly friendly and Gertie makes a fantastic breakfast. The cottage was lovely and warm (even though the weather at Easter wasn't!) thanks to the wood burning stove. Came away refreshed, relaxed and replete.

Room Tip: The cottage has it's own kitchen and lounge.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearinthewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Melanne and Richard .you are very welcome .and thanks for posting a review here on trip/advisor we do really appreciate them .and so glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage and your dinner and breakfast .in the main house .we enjoyed sharing a glass of wine with you and the stories .until next time Gertie@Pat /Mac /Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My pup Riley and I stayed overnight and had a wonderful time. The house was lovely, the stories and discussion with Pat lively, and the afternoon scones and breakfast-by-Gertie delicious. There was so much offered at breakfast, I thought there must have been extra guests joining me. (It was only me!). Pat and Gertie were patient when my overly excitable pup growled a few times at the ever loveable Mack and were kind enough to place us in a very comfortable, quiet and large room with easy access to the garden for pup potty breaks. It was very cold and windy, so I didn't have an opportunity to walk in the large fields surrounding the house, but enjoyed short strolls in the garden and visiting with Jeff the horse and the free-range chicken flock. I was provided with great directions to follow the next day, through the Knockmealdown Mountains, that I enjoyed very much. Looking forward to another stay next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilbertSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your scones for your welcome cup of tea and when we were having our evening meal sharing with us/ .Pat enjoyed telling all the stories around the kitchen table ,and pup riley greetings to him also .so glad you enjoyed our 3 course breakfast it set you up for the day .we would love to see you both again soon .very best wishes ,gertie and pat /mac .jeff /hens /

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here recently. We are always hoping for the wow factor. In Kilcannon House we got it in spades, from the warmth of the unobtrusive welcome, the lovely bedroom with it's view over beautiful parkland, the superlative creamed spinach with dinner to the best breakfast we have ever had including a delicious pannacotta followed by porridge rich with cream and a Waterford crystal jug of Irish whiskey to dissolve the demerrara sugar!!!. When we were finally able to drag ourselves away from the food and the hospitality the most magical touch of all came when we were paying our bill in the kitchen and chatting to our hosts Pat & Gertie. Pat inadvertently knocked over the jug with some whiskey still in it (at that time of day we didnt manage to polish it all off). Gertie swept the whiskey from the table into a bowl where she had food scraps to give to the hens. No wonder the eggs tasted so good!!

Room Tip: All rooms comparable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

sincere thanks glad you enjoyed your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There are places you stay in because you simply need a place to stay.

There are luxury hotels you stay in because you want to avail of the facilities and unwind.

Kilcannon House isn't a luxury hotel but it is the perfect location to chill and regroup. Don't think of it as another B&B, think of it as probably the best B&B you'll ever stay in.

They have a great team, Gertie, Pat, Mac (the dog), Zag (the cat), Jeff (the horse) and all those hens - and they all seem to want to ensure you have a perfect break at Kilcannon House.

We stayed one night and none of us wanted to leave the next morning. We relaxed in a big sitting room, reading the Sunday papers with Mac at our feet as we slowly "recovered" from what was the best breakfast I've ever had in a B&B.

You have to try Gertie's porridge!

Kilcannon House is only 15 minutes outside Dungarvan, one of my favourite towns in Ireland, on the way to Lismore, another fantastic town.

If you want to explore West Waterford it is a wonderfult base.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noelmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

many thanks for your sincere write up

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This duo know how to do hospitality. The professionalism, enthusiasm and charm that Getie and her husband Pat have in their business is infectious.

We were fortunate enough to stumble upon their wonderful B&B and stay for a weekend in November. We arrived strangers and left great friends full of most wonderful home cooked food. Gertie's breakfast is a three-course affair, full of fruit, homemade conserves, freshly baked scones and bread, wonderful boozy porridge and a selection of cooked breakfasts. Pat is full of charm and complements the duo with stories and lots of rich local history.

They have a very cute self-catering stable cottage that looks very tempting for another time. We stayed in one of their very spacious double rooms. Extremely comfortable beds, lovely sleeps and the day gets kicked off with an hour long 3-course breakfast. They were very accommodating about us bringing our dog with us. He's house-trained and clean and they had no issues at all letting him stay with us, which made the whole stay much more enjoyable. He made friends with lovely little Mac along the way.

If you're lucky you might get a few tips from Gertie in baking. She's a pro.

Their business and the way they run it should act as a sounding board for all others who run or may wish to run a similar business. We recommend them, and their venture wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

sincere thanks .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Sometimes we get nervous about B&B/homestay/farmstay experiences. It's awkward when you feel like you have to entertain your hosts or you're scared to bother them. Gertie and Pat couldn't have been more perfect. They were there for anything we needed, but didn't make us feel crowded. We were made to feel perfectly at home without getting in their hair. Every interaction with Gertie or Pat was so wonderful that we wound up wanting to hang out with them our whole stay! We left after two nights with two loaves of bread we'd made ourselves (with Gertie's help), three homemade maps drawn out by Pat (an expert if there ever was one) and the hopes of returning again soon.

P.S. the breakfast was a 3 course masterpiece.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gertie O, Owner at Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

many thanks for a great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungarvan
5.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.0 mi away
Gold Coast Golf Resort
Gold Coast Golf Resort
#2 of 3 in Dungarvan
334 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
Lawlor's Hotel Dungarvan
#3 of 3 in Dungarvan
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
8.8 mi away
Dun Ard
Dun Ard
#1 of 16 in Dungarvan
325 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tannery Townhouse
Tannery Townhouse
#5 of 16 in Dungarvan
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcannon House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Cappagh | Co Waterford Ireland, Dungarvan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Dungarvan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dungarvan
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing