We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind and comfortable”
Review of Hamill's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamill's B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Ballinamore B&B and Inns
Pontpierre
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“kind and comfortable”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Needed urgently to stay in a B&B for 1 night after some troubles with our boat. A warm welcome let us forget our troubles and after a night with good sleep in a warm bed, a full Irish breakfast we were strong enough to continue our adventure.
B&B to recommend for the kindness, good service, very friendly family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FABI7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndamien, Owner at Hamill's B&B, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Hamill's B&B during your recent adventurous boating holiday. Thank you for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor members,

Kind regards,
Damien and Bernadette Hamill
Hosts at Hamills B&B - your guesthouse accommodation in Ballinamore, Co Letrim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
38
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A great bed and breakfast in a cute little Irish town. The rooms were clean and nice, and the full English/Irish breakfast was excellent, served in a lovely conservatory. Close walking distance to local bars and restaurants in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndamien, Owner at Hamill's B&B, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review following your recent visit to this 'cute little Irish town' . Yes it is a very nice small town and we are very happy to share it with our visitors. We are glad you were pleased with Hamill's B&B as your place to stay in Ballinamore. We hope you will return some time,
Kind regards,
Damien and Bernadette Hamill
Hosts at Hamill's Bed and Breakfast
Your Guesthouse Accommodation in Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this B&B as we needed somewhere in the Leitrim area. Whilst the town of Ballinamore is a small town by Irish standards, it is a little quaint with little in the way of - quality - accommodation. Hamills had a very good website and coupled with TripAdvisors rating, this seemed the best around.
Sure enough the accommodation is situated just off the main street, which was a blessing. You drove into a yard and found parking space to compliment your stay. The room was pleasantly decorated and quite spacious. The shower/bathroom which was a little on the small side, housed an excellent power shower! One of the best I have ever had.
Breakfast was good with the usual cereals and cooked breakfast and lovely toast - typical really of a professional B&B.
There were some problems however. For our visit, we needed access to WiFi. This was very intermittent and even trying another location in the house did little to ensure a good connection. Due to the shortness of our stay, we did not raise the issue with the owners but I am mindful of the fact that WiFi is often advertised in accommodation but it was not adequate for our purposes.
We found that tea and coffee facilities were not actually in the room, which was a bit of a nuisance as one doesn't like being disturbed by others by a boiling kettle in the landing.
Overall we were happy with our stay and indeed the accommodation was close to all amenities.
We may well visit again someday.

Room Tip: if you require wifi, check with owners for a room with good reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aravensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndamien, Owner at Hamill's B&B, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank yo for choosing Hamill's for your recent stay in Ballinamore. We are glad to read that overall you were pleased with your visit. We were however concerned to read of some items you mention. It is always very helpful for us receive guest feedback which will enable us to make improvements where necessary.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind regards,

Damien and Bernadette Hamill
Hosts at Hamill's Bed and Breakfast
Your guesthouse accommodation in Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a great stay in Ballinamore thanks to the charming B and B with terrific hosts, Damien and Bernadette. The weather in March may have been cold and bleak but their welcome was warm and made us feel right at home. They helped with directions and places to visit. Our room was cozy and comfortable. Though the house was full it was quiet and relaxing. The irish breakfast served by Bern was excellent. Hamill's is the nicest B and B we have ever stayed in and would highlly recommend it for anyone visiting lovely Leitrim.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndamien, Owner at Hamill's B&B, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We enjoyed reading your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Hamill's B&B. We are always glad to help with directions and information on places to visit so that our guests can get the very best from their visit to this lovely part of the world. We hope you will return sometime,
Kind regards,
Damien and Bernadette Hamill
Hosts at Hamill's Bed and Breakfast
Your Guesthouse Accommodation in Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, az
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were in town to visit family and had the pleasure of spending an evening at Hamill's. It's a lovely drive from Dublin, beautiful B&B, and Damien was a gem. He took care of our every need to ensure we had all the comforts of home. I'd highly reccomend Hamill's for any family or couple! Thanks again Damien! We miss Ballinamore already! Jennifer, Kevin and Claire.
Chandler, Az.

Room Tip: Great location, rooms were clean, wonderful breakfast and fabulous value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndamien, Owner at Hamill's B&B, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Hamill's B&B for your recent visit. We are very glad that you were so pleased with Hamill's as your place to stay in Ballinamore. Please let us know if ever we can be of any help to you in the future,
Kind regards,
Damien and Bernadette Hamill
Hosts at Hamills Bed and Breakfast
Your Guesthouse Accommodation in Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As the title says your won't be disappointed!! First class service. Thanks Damien for a great stay. Cannot recommend highly enough! Ballinamore is a friendly place to stay with plenty of places to visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndamien, Owner at Hamill's B&B, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your positive opinion on Hamill's B&B with other Trip Advisor members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again,

Kind regards,

Damien and Bernadette Hamill

Hosts at Hamill's Bed and Breakfast
Your guesthouse accommodation in Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is by far one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in. It is very central. The breakfast is to die for. Every morning of my stay I had a wonderful fry with selection of cereal, fruit, juices, teas and coffee available to help yourself. Damien, the main man there, is very helpful. He offered to pick me up at weekends and dropped me back to my train when I was leaving. The rooms superb. very clean, warm, with plenty of spare blankets (which u won't need) and spacious. TV with large selection of channels. Tea and coffee is available at all times. They also possess a selection of phone chargers available if needed. If in Ballinamore I would highly recommend u stay here. You won't regret it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzgee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berndamien, Owner at Hamill's B&B, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Hamill's B&B - your guesthouse accommodation in Ballinamore, Co Leitrim. We are really glad you were so pleased with the quality and variety offered for breakfast, with the comfort in your room and the extra touches : all of which make people reccommend Hamill's so much as a place to stay in Ballinamore Co Leitrim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinamore
11.7 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
231 reviews
10.0 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
842 reviews
10.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Commercial and Tourist Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballinamore
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buille Toll
Buille Toll
#4 of 5 in Ballinamore
39 reviews
11.6 mi away
Riversdale Farm Guesthouse Ballinamore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamill's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamill's B&B

Property: Hamill's B&B
Address: Hamill's B&B High Street, Ballinamore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Ballinamore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ballinamore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamill's B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a place to stay in Ballinamore? Hamills Guesthouse offers a convenient town centre location for your B&B accommodation in Ballinamore Co Leitrim. Hidden in leafy garden surroundings, just a step from the street with ample car parking, Hamill’s provides the perfect base for exploring and fishing in Leitrim and Cavan. – your perfect choice for accommodation in Ballinamore. •13 en suite bedrooms, comfortable, bright and spacious. (Most rooms have a double and a single bed, a number of rooms have a double and two single beds, one room has a double bed only while one room has two single beds.) •Power showers – the best you’ve ever enjoyed. •Tea, coffee making facilities. •Multichannel TV in all rooms •Free WIFI wireless broadband internet available (all rooms) •Egyptian cotton bedding and towels and the most comfortable beds for a restful nights sleep. •Generous breakfasts, with home baking, vegetarian menu a speciality and free range eggs from Hamills hens •Guest sitting and reading area at convenient first floor level •Seperate sitting room on ground floor with board games, reading material TV etc. •Special collection of books on the area, Mountain Roots, Mountain Echoes, Mountain Shadows . •Collection of John Mc Gaherns books Memoir, That They May face the Rising Sun, High Ground, Amongst Women etc.Hamill's - the perfect place to stay in Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim, Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hamill's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamills Hotel Ballinamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing