We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of Black Oak Restaurant - CLOSED

Black Oak Restaurant
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

we went there for a family meal, it was absolutely fab, staff were very friendly, food fab and scenery was A1..we will def be returning soon..thank you for a lovely day..

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fuerty
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A group of 7 friends and myself visited the Black Oak on Valentines weekend and from the minute we entered the premises until we left we were treated we were treated to the very best of what Clare has to offer. To start off, the welcoming open fire in reception and old photographs, along with the friendly welcome, we just knew we had picked the right place. The choice, the taste and the presentation of the food we were served was 5 STAR and indeed i have stayed in 5 Star Hotels and they could learn a thing or ten about food from this exceptional chef and his staff, 5 courses for €38 that can't be beaten either!!! Definitely going back to Clare, just to visit the BLACK OAK!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirlsFuerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fab! Fantastic food and lovely atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Had a special birthday dinner with a group of women. Such a fab night. 5 course meal which was mouth watering delicious. Great service at unbelievable value. Under new management I believe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandygreene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“5 stars and 3 star prices”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

fabulous standard and taste of food, and service at reasonable prices. highly reccommended

Helpful?
1 Thank TheMongrel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location - a real gem!”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Having listened to numerous recommendations about The Black Oak, we finally paid a visit, and it certainly didn't fail to impress! Although it was a busy Saturday night, a genuine warm welcome from manager Emily, and her staff, provided such an enjoyabe and relaxing atmosphere. The food is amazing, the attentiveness of the staff is second to none, and complete with our table overlooking the beautiful Liscannor Bay at sunset, it was simply stunning! We opted for the 4-course set menu option at 29.95 per person, and to be honest we would have been quite happy to pay a little more! Really recommend this place for something extra special, and it won't hurt your wallet either! Looking forward to getting back again soon!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank postie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Oak Restaurant also viewed

Miltown Malbay, County Clare
Miltown Malbay, County Clare
 
Miltown Malbay, County Clare
Miltown Malbay, County Clare
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing