We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food and service”
Review of The Old Bake House

The Old Bake House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab food and service”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My hubby and I called on this restaurant a few weeks ago. We hadn't been there in ages. It did not disappoint. We got a great welcome as usual from Irene. The food from Eddie the chef was exceptional as usual. My hubby had the duck, he thought it the best he had in ages. I had the chicken kiev, it was delicious. The fresh vegetables were so good that we got second helpings. we didn't have room for desert this time round. The only negative is that the restaurant was a little cold with only one heater at the door being visible. I know that this is minor and if we told Irene she would have got us a heater...... We didn't want to make a fuss. We will definitely return. Great value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nore784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    61
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Multiple Meals, All Great!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I recently visited this fun town. I had heard that the Old Bake House was the place to go for a great meal for a good price. Ed the chef was excellent, my friend who enjoys food to the highest of levels requested a special meal. Ed was very accommodating working with him fully. We showed up and enjoyed a feast for a king. Steak, lamb shank and lobster that melt in our mouths. The accompaniment of vegetables were also great. I was to full so I declined on dessert. Two of my friends went for it though and gave it two thumbs up. I almost forgot the service, also top notch. When you are done enjoy a beer at one of the many pubs.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went for a quick Sunday lunch the other week with friends. I wasn't feeling great and so I didn't want to eat much. I requested a sandwich, which isn't on the Sunday lunch menu but none the less one was made for me, which made me very happy. Staff were lovely and I love the decor. I've been several times before and will likely be back again soon

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bmflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food in an unlikely location”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were staying at the Armada hotel for a weekend last April and we tried this restaurant on our second night there. It was great. I got the mussels and duck. Neither disappointed. I love duck and this was one of the best duck, of not the best, that I've ever had. I'll be returning to try it out again soon. Restaurant staff were great also. They were very friendly and the service was great. Sorry it took me so long but thanks guys :) You're one of the few restaurants to whom I've ever given full marks on everything.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertScully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BakehouseRestaurant, Owner at The Old Bake House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Club 35,
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of our restaurant. You certainly know your stuff, all our food is locally sourced by Eddie Keane, my partner and resident chef owner. He's been a chef and lover of food for 35 years.
I was also very happy about the comments you make regarding the service you received from our front of house staff. They are lovely!
Best regards,
Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Better even than the reviews”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A wonderful surprise in an unlikely location .Exceptional food fairly priced and well presented.All 4 of our party with very divergent tastes were very satisfied.I am a foody and I loved the place!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bake House also viewed

Miltown Malbay, County Clare
Spanish Point, County Clare
 
Spanish Point, County Clare
Miltown Malbay, County Clare
 

Been to The Old Bake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing