We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can be better...”
Review of Hotel Bella Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bella Italia
Certificate of Excellence
Croatia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can be better...”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We (family of four) was in apartment Tulipano for three nights, not in hotel rooms. The apartments in Hotel Bella Italia has 3 stars so main differences is that hotel rooms has 4 stars.
Main reason of visit Peschiera was visiting Gardaland (amusement park).
First PROS...
The apartment is well equipped with all you need for cooking. Kitchen and living room are not separate and sleeping room is large with fine bed and for kids there are bunk bed (2 flours).
Breakfast was very good, with large choice of breads, cheese etc...
One more very convenient thing is that in front of apartment is restaurant with very good prices, fables pizza and ice-cream. In vicinity there is market and prices are also OK.
Hotel has a lots of pools with many facilities for young and kids... Really great!!
Now CONS...
One is that in apartment has some strange smell (like humidity or apartment which is closed for long time). Other thing I don't like is very steep stairs on entrance to apartments, so steep that there is some kind of security fence. To be clear, that stairs are in the apartment so if you forget to close security fence and you have little kids...very bad things can happen. There is also handrail which was pulled partial from wall so totally unsafely to use it.
Overall can be better...and pity because general impression is very good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter7415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    80
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
167
19
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here. Great baby feeding facilities, bibs, microwave, baby bowls, high chairs and also cots etc. The facilities on the campsite next door are excellent and we ate in the restaurants there a few times. THe hotel is a nice 20 min walk into town along the lake. Restaurant and bar staff were very friendly,. We were awoken at 730 a few times by a strange bell noise, not sure what that was, bit annoying. Breakfast was fine, lots of choice. Tried the pizzas at lunchtime supplied by restaurant locanda next door which were lovely. Waffles very tasty too. The pool was really nice and not too crowded. One day we tried the campsite pool but couldnt find a sun lounger so returned to the more peaceful hotel pool. They supply pool towels. Rooms a little dated but clean. However for flexibility of eating, I think we would stay on the campsite next time as it was a little expensive to have lunch every day in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara123Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We booked with Topflight out of Ireland. Having arrived in the rain (not blaming anyone for that) at 1 am, we were met by night porter who handed us two umbrellas and vaguely pointed us and our luggage in the direction of our 'apartment' which turned out to be a cigarette smoke-infested dump. We complained and asked for another room which was "impossible". It was only when my wife asked for a large container so we could wash the curtais etc that they took us seriously ad moved us ext door to an apartmet overlookig the (very busy) main road outside. That resulted in a week of sleepless nights. The lack of balcony meant that we could not relax and enjoy the balmy Italian evenings. Luckily we had booked into a bungalow for the second week. We asked for an earlier transfer but that would have cost us €120 pd. After protests Topflight reduced the extra charge to €75 per day for accommodation that was less expensive pd thatr the hotel apartment

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Nalced54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We found the camp to be excellent situated for the local town, public transport and the Lake. The town is only approximately 20 minutes walk away. The camp was very clean and the facilities were excellent. The only down side is that in the 2 bedroom mobile homes there isn't much room but we didn't spend much time in them anyway.They were very well equipped and in excellent condition. We found the restaurant on the camp overlooking the lake served excellent food at a good price and the staff were very friendly. The supermarket on the camp was also reasonably price.
It was possible to catch the local bus from just outside the camp's main entrance but tickets must be bought beforehand. Unfortunately no-one informed us that tickets could be bought on the camp from Diego's bar and we ended up doing a mad dash into town to get tickets before we went to Verona. The bus into Verona is very easy to catch and only takes about 40 minutes and cost approximately €5 return.
We also caught the train into Venice which took just under 2 hours and cost €15.80 return. It's important to check that your return train goes from the same station as you arrived in. Water taxis are situated out just outside the Santa Lucia train station.
We also spent the day in Gardaland theme park. It is cheaper to get your tickets online and also there is a free bus from the train station. We found the park to be very clean and there were very few queues at this time of year.
It was a fantastic week on an excellent camp in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssexMuddpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We got married in Italy during September this year, having booked a Topflight Italian wedding package through Thomas Cooke in Belfast. We stayed at the Bella Italia Hotel in Peschiera on Lake Garda along with 25 friends and family including our 14 month old son. The wedding took place in Torri del Benaco, about 45 mins away.
The hotel Bella Italia is one part of a very large site which also includes a campsite, apartments and caravans. The Bella Italia complex is a wonderful place. It is located on the side of the lake and we loved the relaxed and family orientated atmosphere.
The hotel staff led by manageress Tina, were very pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast area was very pleasant and the food was of a high standard. Bikes and kayaks etc were available to borrow free of charge. The only negative comment I could make about the hotel is that the rooms in the older of the two hotel buildings are not of the same standard as those in the new building. They are clean and well equipped but the main drawback is that they do not have balconies.
The wedding itself was organised by local agents Arena Touriste SRL of Bardolino. The wedding co-ordinator Serena met us shortly after arrival. Serena was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. She drove us up to Torri del Benaco to see the castle where we were to get married and organised everything.
We were able to save a fair amount of money by booking the bus for our guests ourselves (Thomas Cooke / Topflight quoted 1200 Euro, we paid 300 Euro). We also made a considerable saving by booking the wedding meal ourselves (in the restaurant on site at the Bella Italia Hotel). Max went out of his way to decorate the restaurant and to ensure that we had a great night.
The wedding itself was perfect. The ceremony was conducted by the mayor in the lemon grove at the side of the castle with Serena translating. The wedding was quite relaxed and much less formal than a wedding at home in the UK. The photo’s looked great. The photographer booked by Arena as part of our package was excellent.
Before travelling to Italy the Topflight wedding co-ordinator had been very helpful. All had went very well until the day after the wedding. While we were packing to return home, a representative from Arena Touriste arrived at our hotel and explained that Topflight had not paid the full balance of the wedding cost, saying that we were to pay the difference.
They requested payment of an additional 525 Euro and said it was essential that this was paid before we left the resort.
I immediately contacted the Topflight wedding co-ordinator in Dublin. She said that the additional payment was to cover “Civil Costs” that were not included in our contract with them. She said that this was normal and should have been made clear in the T&C’s of our contract with Thomas Cooke. As i had up to this point found her to be trustworthy and as i was led to believe that this payment was essential to ensure the validity of our marriage, I felt i had no choice but to make this payment and did so using my credit card.
Later that day I was contacted again by Arena Touriste. They expressed that they were suspicious and upset that we were asked to make an additional payment, as Topflight would normally cover this cost in full. After further investigation it became apparent that the Topflight rep had lied and that there were no “additional civil costs”.
On returning home we reviewed the T&C’s of our contract and discussed with Thomas Cooke. Thomas Cooke agreed that all costs should have been covered in our package.
Prior to the wedding there had been some confusion over what was included in the Topflight package which had been agreed on a “price match” basis against a Crystal wedding package. The main area of disagreement was over the inclusion of a harpist at the ceremony. Topflight agreed to honour this as per our original agreement. On arrival at the hotel one of our guests was unhappy with their room (in the old hotel building). After speaking with Topflight they again agreed to move her to a more suitable room at no cost.
I can only assume that Topflight had incurred additional costs for the harpist and the room change and rather than being open, tried to recoup their costs in a dishonest fashion. We felt cheated and bitterly disappointed.
We lodged a complaint with Thomas Cooke who said they would investigate the matter. Five weeks later we have still received no explanation and seem no closer to having our money returned. Having consulted trading standards they advise that if we are not satisfied with our response from Thomas Cooke that our next step should be to consult ABTA who provide an arbitration service. I expect that this will be a drawn out process.
We will never deal with Topflight, or Thomas Cooke for that matter, again. We would however strongly recommend Lake Garda, The Bella Italia and Arena Touriste SRL. If you are thinking of a wedding on Lake Garda you could perhaps try contacting Arena direct.

Helpful?
5 Thank DandNBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Hotel Bella Italia is for a family holiday. It is functional, clean, don't expect 4 star luxury. Hotel rooms are well serviced and nice views of lake. Breakfast is basic continental. Pool is clean and supposedly private to hotel guests, the campers sneek & can turn the pool area from happy toddlers splashing about to chaos. Our 2nd trip. You get what u paid for. We are going back for a 3rd.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Very expensive resort which is a bit like a Butlins, quite down market and really overcrowded. You actually had to queue from 8.30am and run when pool opened to have any chance of a sunbed (could only face this indigity once - so avoided pool after that) Accomodation very basic with no mirror or place to do hair and make up in bedrooms. We worked out it had cost us £250 per night with out breakfast! Very bad value. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie_May09London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peschiera del Garda hotels
1.4 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puccini
Hotel Puccini
#9 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Ali del Frassino
Le Ali del Frassino
#4 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ziba Hotel & Spa
The Ziba Hotel & Spa
#8 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
287 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#3 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dori
Hotel Dori
#2 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Italia

Property: Hotel Bella Italia
Address: Via Bell Italia 2/A, 37019, Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Peschiera del Garda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
#7 Family Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bella Italia 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bella Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Italia Hotel
Hotel Bella Italia Lake Garda/Peschiera Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing