We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

As a large famiy with children of varying ages, some now young adults, we have been to this resort on a number of occasions since it opened in 2005 staying at the hotel and the apartments (usually book when there are good offers available on the internet as not sure it would be worth the full brochure price especially the all inclusive option).We always have a truly fantastic time as there is something for everyone such as quiet areas by the top pool if you want to escape or the more lively scene by the laguana pool for the younger ones.
Pesheira has great bus and train links that can get you anywhere at a fraction of the cost of the travel company excursions. Verona is very close nearby and worth visiting.
The Hotel animation team are very good / entertaining lead by fabulous Cyril but you can take it or leave it depending on your mood and don't take it seriously!. The food wouldn't win awards but suits the younger kids who are usually in a hurry to be somewhere else and can get a little monotonous in the evening depending on the chef so if you're are looking for good Italian cuisine would recommend self catering and try the excellent restaurants in Pesheira such as Bella Vista or La Plume that are not too expensive and have fabulous views of the lake.
Hired a car this last trip via 121 Car hire/ AVIS in Pescheira so got to see most of the lake.This wasn't too expensive or difficult at all despite the reputation of some Italian drivers and meant we didn't have to rely on the complimentary shuttle bus to and from town. Lasize and Malsecine lovely resorts to visit.There is definitely something for everyone at this hotel, the staff are very helpful but it is big and can be loud, but we all love it and keep being drawn back as there is always something different to see and do.Looking forward to 2013...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Pizzeria or Laguana bar if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 135lizzyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfHotelParadiso, Web PR Manager at Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear client,

it's great to read that you and your family had a fantastic time at our hotel. We think, though, that your review is about Parc Hotel, which offers an all inclusive arrangement, whereas Active Hotel doesn't. Anyhow, if you plan to come back and would like to have a good Italian meal, we suggest you to try our internal à la carte restaurant, "Il Pirlàr". Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 438 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for a week in June, all inclusive. It was our first time to the lake Garda area. The hotel and grounds itself are nice enough but we were both very unimpressed with the 'all inclusive' basis. Inclusive drinks were out of a machine, cheap white wine, coke and orangeade none of which were very nice at all, and water. Meals were poor other than breakfast which wasn't too bad with a selection of croissants, toast, cereals, yogurts and fried breakfast along with jugs of juice available. This was served from 7.30 until 10 so good timings too. Unfortunately lunch and dinner were much worse. Lunch is a 'light lunch' consisting of 2 choices, usually pasta with plain tomato sauce and something along the lines of burger &chips or pizza (and not the Italian standard of pizza you would expect but a frozen version!). Dinner wasn't much better with little Italian cuisine served other than plain pasta or the odd baked macaroni dish, or meat, potato and veg. There was a small range of desserts, and bread rolls at each meal but no butter at dinner time. Dinner was only served from 6.30-8.30 which we felt was very early finishing as if you spend the day out you have to return early to be in time for dinner, considering we didn't eat most evenings until between 8 and 9pm in town. We were so disappointed with the meals that we only ate here once for dinner and twice for lunch. The breakfast we had daily. We didn't want to miss out on the gorgeous Italian meals we could get at restaurants and preferred to spend more money to enjoy the food on our holiday. I would never recommend going all inclusive here at all. You can buy great quality pizza and pasta dishes in restaurants for 6-7 euros. There is also a grill bar (outside near the pool) but the food here is not included (so how you can call this all inclusive Im not sure) although there is a drinks machine here which you need a key for. The other downside of the hotel was the bar. This is downstairs on basement level, again with machines for all inclusive drinks of the same choice. No branded soft drinks available which is poor. It also means you are stuck inside if you want to see the entertainment they have on, which on warm evenings on holiday isn't great. We spent every evening after our first in the hotel, out in the town as this was a much nicer holiday experience. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from town and they put on a courtesy bus to take you there and back. This is great, the only problem being it doesn't run between 12 and 3 due to siesta, so you cannot get to town or back during this time, unless you pay for a taxi (approx 10 euros) or walk - we didn't try this as not recommended due to no pavement so could be dangerous. The bus starts at 9am and runs every hour until 12, and then again from 3pm with the last return bus to the hotel at 11pm. The location of the hotel within the town is ok, the location of peschiera itself is a good base if you wish to travel to other towns. We got a train direct to Venice for 19 euros return per person which took 2 hours. We also got the train to Verona, and you can get one to Milan as well from here. It also has good ferry links to visit other towns on the lake. I would definitely return to the lake Garda area as it is beautiful, but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfHotelParadiso, Web PR Manager at Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear client,

the above notice is not referring to our Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf Resort. As you can read in our website, Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf doesn't offer the a.i. arrangement. We presume the notice is referring to Parc Hotel: in this case we are very sad to read you haven't been satisfied by our product and service. We hope to welcome you again as guest and maybe have you as guest in Active Hotel & Golf Resort, which will surely satisfy your expectations and offer you an à la carte Restaurant. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed out of season so got a great deal on the apartment. Very spacious and comfortable in a beautiful location within a golf club. We had some beautiful walks and even though we are not golfers loved to watch on the terrace with a nice glass of Processo and a nice distant lake view. Only complaint is the high cost of the final cleaning - not included in the price of the accommodation too steep in my opinion 70.00 euro! Had a great dinner at the Restaurant very good food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfHotelParadiso, Web PR Manager at Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear client, thank you very much for your review. We will take your remaks into account to improve our service. We hope you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We wanted an all inclusive hotel in Lake Garda and not many hotels offer that option, however our travel agents came up trumps with this resort. My husband, myself and our 11 year old son went for a week in August this year and absolutely loved it. We can't praise this resort enough, the staff were very friendly and helpful, food and choice of it was fantastic, spa, pools and sports facilites are fantastic as too are the views and the location. Our room was big enough, we did have a problem with the air conditioning but that was quickly sorted and we were offered a room change which we declined. There is a free courtesy bus which runs from the hotel to Peschiera quite a few times a day and car hire is not really needed as lots of courtesy buses going to tourist places from Pescheira town. We also caught the coach up to Malcesine and took the cable car to the mountain top, Mount Baldo whci had breathtaking views and well worth the trip which is about an hour from the resort. I would highly recommend this hotel for family holidays and the all inclusive option really is worth the money. The grounds and hotel are clean and well looked after. We booked this holiday through Thomas Cooke and our rep was great and popped into the hotel a few times during the week, and we booked the Malcesine trip with the rep at a reduced cost. thomas Cooke offered quite a few excursion trips from the resort.

Room Tip: my advice would be go for an upstairs room as the views from our balcony were lovley, we were in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for the last two weeks in July 2011. We took our son, daughter-in-law and 11 & 8 year old grand daughters. We have nothing but praise for the staff of the hotel, the food, the entertainment, the location and the Golf Course. Peschiera was a pretty town and a wonderful position to either go on the boats or take a train (we went to Venice, Padova and Verona). We were on an all inclusive tariff, which we found good value although they charged extra for proprietary brands.
We did not miss a hire car as everything was so handy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank antonioLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfHotelParadiso, Web PR Manager at Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear client, we are very thankful to you for your review. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have just arrived home from a fabulous holiday at the Parc Hotel, Paradiso Golf Resort. We were a group of 5 Adults and 5 children with ages ranging from 70 to 5 and it was wonderful. We were staying as all inclusive in the Parc Hotel, which is beautfiul, clean, and with stunning grounds and marvellous views. The entertainment staff were excellent! They put on evening 'West End' type shows and during the day they were always on the go providing everything from Darts to water aerobics, but you didnt feel forced into anything, the children had a 'ball'. A fantastic set of people in the 'Animation Crew' who made us feel really welcome and the children loved their 'mini disco' evey evening.

We all loved our holiday and found the staff and facilities perfect. Lake Garda and the surrounding towns are very beautiful and picturesque. We also enjoyed days out to nearby Gardaland and Movieland, only a 10 minute taxi drive away. The bus service that the hotel offer is very punctual and easy to navigate.

The Hotel itself is modern with a real quality feel to it, we occupied several rooms and they were all spacious and cleaned thoroughly daily. The food choice was excellent with meats and fish plentiful, but be warned, there is no childrens section so if you have fussy little eaters......

Only down sides were that the 'All Inclusive' was very limited. Soft drinks were from a machine and they were sparce. With the bar at the main family 'Laguna' pool offering no food & drink to those on the 'All Inclusive' which was rather disappointing, and the only food available was light snacks like biscuits or cakes at the piano bar. We found that the children loved to be at the Laguna Pool as it played popular music and the animation team and the activities took place there but we had to return to the grill bar for a drink/ice lolly as we were all inclusive, which is a good 10 minute walk away in very hot weather.

One tip I would recommend is .........take mosquito repellant!! We were all eaten alive by the little blighters and used to see plenty of people walking round with legs that looked like they had chicken pox! But this would certainly not put it off returning to the Parc Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lebigmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolfHotelParadiso, Web PR Manager at Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear client, we are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday with your family. We thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The hotel was not as advertised from the holiday company (Thomas cook), I expected it to be a quiet holiday very few families, this was not the case! The children were in the adult pool - no supervison from life guards. Lots of ants and mosquitos by the pool area - if you are sensitive to bites you will definitely need to take something with you!

The rep was very vague about the excursions available and at times did not seem bothered about the problems.

The all inclusive drinks were a little poor on selection, however Italy is very expensive!!

The food was very good on some occasions - then poor on others. It was re-used on a daily basis. The pork was undercooked (blood coming out of it).

The bus into town was excellent and the spa facilities were fab! The trip to the dolomites was out of this world. The rooms were very comfortable and the air conditioning was a god send!!

If you go to Venice, take alot of money with you! The trips are expensive and it was very hot, looking about £3.00 for a coke and £10.00 for a coffee in some shops!! You will need to shop around in the back alleys for a sensible price for food and drink. You will also need 1.50 euros to go to the toilets!!

The internet was in dial up, so very slow and in the evening the men had to wear trousers to dinner.

Room Tip: Very good rooms, however the cleaner did not clean thoroughly. Cobwebs in the room and she did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma_B444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peschiera del Garda
1.2 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parc Hotel
Parc Hotel
#6 of 11 in Castelnuovo del Garda
763 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Ali del Frassino
Le Ali del Frassino
#5 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Italia
Hotel Bella Italia
#9 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#4 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Olioso
Hotel Olioso
#7 of 27 in Peschiera del Garda
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf

Address: Via Coppo 2/b | 37014, 37014, Peschiera del Garda, Italy (Formerly Golf Hotel Paradiso)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Peschiera del Garda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
#4 Business Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
#5 Family Hotel in Peschiera del Garda
Price Range: $95 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf in Castelnuovo del Garda, which occupies the premises of a 18th century country house carefully restored, makes a suitable accommodation for those who seek rest and well-being as well as for sportspeople. The hotel is part of a large resort which includes a golf course, a sporting centre and three more hospitality facilities.The hotel is located just 2 km away from the A4 Milan-Venice motorway exit. The town centre of Peschiera del Garda is within easy reach and you can also avail yourself of the free shuttle bus service of the hotel to visit it. The hotel also include two outdoor swimming pool and a wellness centre with an indoor swimming pool, sauna, whirlpool and gym. In addition, the Active Hotel Paradiso offers, on the first floor, an à la carte restaurant with panoramic terrace overlooking the golf course and a piano bar; on the ground floor, there is a taproom, the registration desk of the golf course, a pro shop where you can buy sports equipment.The golf course, "Golf Club Paradiso del Garda", stretches over 800.000² and includes the driving range, the putting green and a golf academy with 4 regulation-size holes, at the nearby sporting centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Active Hotel Paradiso & Golf Lake Garda/Peschiera Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing