We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food.. Will definitely go back if I have the chance!”
Review of Osteria Goto

Osteria Goto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food.. Will definitely go back if I have the chance!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

While browsing through trip advisor when we were spending our weekend at Peschiera del Garda, we saw this restaurant with good reviews and decided to give it a try. Despite the heavy rain, we brave the rain to search for this restaurant and we were glad we did! The food and service make it all worthwhile.

We reached before 730pm (opening hour for dinner of the restaurant), but the service staff saw that we were drenched so he let us into the restaurant and we ordered some drinks first. The wine that he recommended my hubby was great!

The bread served was super nice! When the waitress put the tray of bread on our table, we smell a fragrance and we cant believe that it was from the bread.. and the bread tasted really good!

We ordered lemon risotto with lake whitefish. It taste so good! The yellow slices on top of the fish which we initially thought was just ginger turned out to be slices of lemon skin. And eating it with the risotto and fish gave the risotto a refreshing feeling and it was a pleasant surprise for us.

The food was tasty and value for money. We will definitely go back there if we are at Garda!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sherryjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    161
    39
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great food, shame about the view!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This place is a must and if you can get passed the car park view, the food will blow you away! There isn't much choice but what we received was cooked to perfection.

I can't recommend this place enough - I would have rated this 5 stars but the only black mark is the fact that you look out onto a car park.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darthgrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A really good restaurant in a place where so many are average.”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Chef was only too happy to discuss the menu he'd put together for that day.

I can't remember exactly what I had but I know I loved it, and my boyfriend felt the same about his meal too. Best bread basket we were served all holiday.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silentboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We sought out this restaurant having read the reviews on Tripadvisor, but were disappointed with the limited menu. It certainly wasn't a bad meal, but it really wasn't anything special. We ate in several restaurants that we thought were much better but have lower ratings than this one, so it's all down to personal preference.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane_jolly2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

For an osteria this place is is more akin to a fine dining experience. It is a small place so you have to book a table on busy days to get in and it's location isn't great, overlooking the car park but if you want a culinary experience in a place with great service and a good atmosphere it is worth eating here - very different to a lot of the other eateries in Peschiera which pack the people in and have a high turnover all evening, Goto is a far more relaxed place where the owner seems happy to have 2 sittings per table each evening. It is more expensive though so be prepared to spend a bit more.

We ate just after 7pm, and although we started off in Italian, once he realised we were English the owner displayed a high level of fluency in English. We chose a range of things from the menu, pasta dishes, mussels, rabbit with polenta. All of it was delicious and well presented. The wine list was extensive but they do serve local wines like custoza by the glass.

The service was very good with an attention to detail. One thing we do with our fussy 4 year old is get an empty plate so he can share food with the rest of us, and in almost every other restaurant we go to have to constantly remind staff to bring the empty plate. No reminders were necessary here and his needs were accommodated through all courses. A generous bread basket was provided as we arrived and replenished when devoured.

Overall, we enjoyed our experience and would recommend this place. The only downsides were location and price. I felt the overall bill was about 10 to 15 per cent higher than it should be, and if sat on the outer tables, the cars can be annoying.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glyncoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Goto also viewed

Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
 
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria Goto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing