We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camping Bella Italia
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as Expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

While Bella Italia has several decent communal facilities we were very disappointed with our self catering "Key camp" bungalow. The bungalow was very small and attached to several others meaning that you could even hear your neighbours at the bathroom. We arrived late and had to make up beds for ourselves and the children (with minimal, ill fitting bed linen). We were left 2 towels - totally inadequate for a family of 4. There is a small fridge and a gas hob...and thats your equipment! There is no counter space for cooking and with children there should be at least a kettle and toaster. I think the facilities are designed to ensure that you eat in the resort restaurants which would be fine if they had friendly staff and good food but they don't - the staff are indifferent (borderline rude) and the food is average with menu's limited at certain times......!
back to our living quarters....there is a small old fashioned tv with 4 channels all Italian and a small uncomfortable sofa in the "living area" so on a bad day you would certainly get serious cabin fever.
No high chair provided, although I'm told you can hire one from reception, but I would have felt an essential like this should be supplied.
The swimming pools were absolutely freezing and this meant our toddlers didn't get much of a paddle which is hugely disappointing.
We stayed 27 Sept 2012 for 5 nights and the site was reasonably quiet with no queues or fights over sun chairs however I imagine in high season it would also have the problem of queues.
On the plus sides....its near the airport, the site seemed very safe and clean, other guests were friendly and there are great play areas and activities for the kids. It is also well located for visiting theme parks and other localities.
Will we be back?...absolutely not...it wasn't anywhere close to my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M_Campbell16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    471
    205
    66
    58
See reviews for
908
91
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trim
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed her on a family holiday with three teenagers. We had a two bedroom apartment and it was very clean and spacious. It was a great location and we were right beside the lake. There was loads of activities for the teenagers. There is a great bus service and we pop on one that brought us into Verona. The restaurants were quite good but it was only a stroll away along the lake where there were other restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DeeEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week and my family (2 grandparents, plus 2 toddlers) were all very impressed by the site. The communal facilities were spotless and the site itself very well maintained and laid out. Our caravan (with Eurocamp) was in the perfect spot - in a quiet leafty 'street' but only a few minutes walk to the pool, shops, gelateria, lakefront and kids playgrounds.

We didn't have a car (you don't really need one) so had to rely mainly on the campsite shop. There wasn't a massive range but it had everything we needed and prices weren't extortionate. The Terraza restaurant overlooking the lake served excellent pizzas at a good price. Plus good kids meals.

Location-wise Bella Italia is perfect. It is situated right on the lake with wonderful views and there is a path along the lakeside offering a very scenic 15-20 minute stroll into the beautiful little town of Peschiera. We often wandered in for lunch, coffee or icecreams. Getting around is easy - local buses leave from right outside the campsite taking you to various towns around the Lake, as well as the cities of Verona and Brescia. Gardaland and the Sealife Centre were also easily reachable with a free bus from Peschiera.

Onsite there was everything you could want for the kids - the lakeside 'beach' to collect stones and shells, playgrounds, horse and carriage ride, small amusement parks with bouncy castles etc plus the swimming pool complex. I would highly recommend Eurocamp - we had a 3 bed Horizon caravan and it was one of the best we saw onsite. Our caravan was spotless, spacious (for a caravan!) and very kid friendly with lots of extras like cot, highchair and stairgate for the decking provided free on request.

The whole experience was only let down slightly by the temperature of the swimming pools, which were freezing. Disappointingly even the shallow toddler pool was cold and this really limited the amount of time we could spend there. My children (aged 1 and 3) were literally blue and shivering uncontrollably after 15 minutes. Do the pools not have heating? Or was it just not switched on at that time of year? I'm not sure. Overall it was a fantastic holiday but heating in the pools would have made it perfect!

Room Tip: Check out the location of your chosen accomodation before booking as you may not want to be right ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quester10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Having visited Bella Italia a couple of times now and also stayed at Camping Eden, Bella Italia has the lot, great starting location, fab views, great dining, just everything, for those who are looking to visit Lake Garda at some point, some great places to visit are Riva del Garda, Limone, Malcasine, Desezano, Salo, Bardalino all of which are fab in their own way, Gardaland if you have kids is also a must and really is up to the standard of the Florida Theme Parks, don't hesitate for one minute, a car is a big help as getting around the lake by boat can be rather expensive.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Erinshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked for 8 days with Keycamp in September,very good chalet with air con which we didn't really use as weather was just right for us,a good base for exploring around the lake and for trains to Venice,swimming pools were good as was the restuarants and food,most of the staff were nice apart from the supermarket as they were rather sullen and rude.the entertainment was ok but as it was end of season there was not much going on ,saw better in Spain at villa Nova if anyone is interested,I would imagine that in mid season it would be horrendous as it is a very big site ,but I would recommend this campsite out of the main season ,we really enjoyed our stay here

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The site is very large and very busy but well organised and well maintained. It has everything you need: supermarket (very reasonably priced), greengrocer, 3 pizzerias, lots of swimming pools (which get very busy), bar, ice-cream parlour, takeaway pizzas, roast chickens and chips, newsagent (a few English papers, not every day), rent-a-bike (much better one just off the site, go out of entrance, turn right, about 500 yards on other side of the road), kids play areas etc. The site has gates opening out onto the stoney beach and the promenade which runs to the little marina and the town. There is a good mix of tents, tourers, mobiles and apartments on the site. The guests are mainly Dutch, German, British and Irish.

It's a ten-fifteen minute walk to the town, a nice walk along the edge of the lake. We only used the car once in the 10 days we were there. Sirmione is definitely worth a visit.

We stayed in a Keycamp mobile (Vista 2 bed). The mobile was pretty tiny and they are very packed together but had a nice big decking area and a gas barbeque. The keycamp staff were very helpful. Our kids went to the Leo's Fun Station (run by Keycamp/Eurocamp) every day, they loved it! We also loved the babysitting service (7.50 Euros per hour). Most of the Keycamp mobiles are long way from the kids club, ours was a good 10 minute walk. Definitely worth having the kids bikes or scooters with you.

One last thing: according to keycamp, swimming hats must be worn in the pools. It's actually only the rectangular 'lane swimming' pool that this applies to. Hats are on sale in the poolside bar for 2 Euros. Not a big deal but a bit annoying when you've just walked right accross the site, started swimming and then get whistled at and told to get out (I had to walk all the way back to our mobile to get the 2 Euros and by then I decided I didn't want to swim anyway!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emandtheboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days, the facilities are very good, lovely pools and restaurants.

We stayed in an apartment, it was spacious but basic. The kitchen only has a 4 ring hob and a fridge, you have to rent bed sheets, towels and any baby equipment.

It's a great location, a lovely walk along the lake into Peschiera, it's about a 10-15 minute walk into the town which is really nice. It's also really handy for exploring the lake area, Verona and Venice.

Overall I would definitely recommend it for families, but some of the mobiles looked nicer than the apartments.

There is a lovely restaurant just down the lake path from Bella, turn left when you come out. Also there is a Mexican restaurant opposite the main entrance which is really nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peschiera del Garda
1.0 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Italia
Hotel Bella Italia
#10 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Del Garda Village and Camping
Del Garda Village and Camping
#3 of 32 in Peschiera del Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Piantelle Camping
Piantelle Camping
#1 of 24 in Moniga del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camping Bergamini
Camping Bergamini
#4 of 32 in Peschiera del Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.9 mi away
Altomincio Family Park
Altomincio Family Park
#1 of 24 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Bella Italia

Property: Camping Bella Italia
Address: Via Bell Italia 2, 37019, Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Peschiera del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Peschiera del Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Bella Italia 5*
Number of rooms: 605
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camping Bella Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Bella Italia Hotel Peschiera Del Garda
Camping Bella Italia Lake Garda/Peschiera Del Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing