We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise”

La Locanda di Noris
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed June 11, 2018

When we walked in we were told that they were only serving seafood. We were thrilled since the four of us love seafood. We walked into a lovely room, and immediately learned that their specialty is fried seafood. My husband and I shared a fried shrimp and calamari appetizer and it was fabulous. It was not at all greasy - a light and delicious breading covered the shrimps and calamari. My husband got the fritto misto and I got a seafood pasta. Our friends got a fritto misto, and a grilled branzino. Every dish was excellent and delicious and we were all thrilled. We had a lovely wine too. And we ended the meal with an outstanding amoretto semifreddo. Our waiter was helpful and all other staff were friendly and helpful. This is definitely a do-not-miss restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FnuLnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2018 via mobile

Outside the centre, direction Sirmione.
You will need a car; parking available.
Good reception, restaurant modern and pleasant. Fish display of very good quality, the claim to have only wild fish.
Food selection wide, also two meat dishes offered. Wine list above average, prices still all right.
Food quality good to very good. Service attentive, good management.
Please consider also the Portofino fish restaurant which is not too far away.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank P6237QPthomasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

We walked over from where we were staying, we didn't book but soon realised we were lucky to get a table without a booking. Food was brilliant, we had the grilled fish and everything was cooked perfectly. Our waiter was attentive and we received great service. Large selection of local wines, I would recommend booking a table here - note they are closed on Monday and Tuesday.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank HarrietC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

Not far from the lake you can find this small paradise called “Locanda di Noris” where you are warmly welcomed by Lilli and served with attention by maître Mattia and his staff.
One of the owners, Noris is always present, walking discreetly around, talking and making sure the clients are having a good time.
You can study the menu but I suggested to listen Mattia’s suggestions as in the kitchen you have a great chef, Maurizio Bidoli, who creates new dishes and the common denominator is fish. You will be surprised by the fish display unit, we were told the supplier is one of the partners of the restaurant, Pescherie Viviani located in Pastrengo, not far from Peschiera.
The restaurant is beautiful and elegant without being over-the-top. In summer time you have an internal garden with a mulberry tree that Noris considers their good luck charm.
We really tasted many dishes and they were all superb, I guess the pictures tell it all.
To start a mixture of raw fish and delicious “pinzimonio” : a plate of raw vegetables served with a dip made of oil, vinegar, salt, pepper and mustard. It was really amazing and we were told they have a secret recipe for this dip.
The appetizer continued with “Astro marino con schie e germogli di ravanello” ( Sea aster with shrimps typical from the venetian zone, with radish sprouts) “Granchio porro con spuma di ricottina” (Brown crab with ricotta mousse).
For first course linguine (flat spaghetti) with clam and bottarga (dense cured fish roe made from tuna, gray mullet or swordfish) and tagliolini (a variation of egg pasta) with lobster.
We couldn’t skip some seasonal fried crabs and their famous grilled fish and it was the perfect closure and extremely tasty and fresh.
“Locanda di Noris” has its personal patissier, Younes, and his creations are amazing. We had one dessert with shortcrust pastry and fruits of the forest and a “semifreddo” : frozen dessert with Bronte green pistachios and strawberry topping. You can finish with a good rum and dark chocolate.
For the wines we completely trusted the sommelier Denis who matched a glass to every dish, from French to Italian, I loved the Garda Rosé Doc Brut and the French Blanc de Blancs.
This restaurant gives you special emotions and it’s worth visiting.
In two weeks you will find a video about them on our YouTube channel

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TOPITALYEXPERIENCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017 via mobile

We booked this and took our teenage sons who were willing ( we were paying) but not enthused by the thought of just seafood.
The menu was reasonably priced for a specialist restaurant and we could not fault a single dish.
One teenager successfully converted, the other on the road.
Good fish well cooked takes some beating and the turbot we shared was perfect
I have paid four times as much and not had it as well cooked.
My sons selection of lake fish was really good and we didn't tell him what exactly he was eating other than it's fish. He devoured the lot.
The owner is a lady who clearly cares about her food and customers. We couldn't communicate well( we lacked each other's languages) but she was keen to ensure all was well throughout.
Interesting to have a Lugana turbiana crisp , light oak and butter dry.
22€ a bottle great value.

Sadly for those who want meat it is simply a very decent steak. My younger son demolished it after two fish starters and having tried the turbot expressed what amounts to teenage regret.

Immaculate restaurant and worth the trip.
Packed by the way on Friday so book.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank DECLAN MC m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda di Noris also viewed

Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
 
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
 
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
Peschiera del Garda, Province of Verona
 

Been to La Locanda di Noris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing