We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and we will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torgiano
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous and we will be back”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The hotel was delightful. They made us very welcome and couldn't have done more for us. The rooms were very comfortable, well appointed and very clean. The setting was beautiful and the pool and gardens were lovely and very well looked after. The restaurant was excellent thanks to the head waiter Francesco and his staff and the food most enjoyable.We would very much like to come back to the see the finished wellbeing centre.Rose and John Kersh

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nostayathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    397
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
115
1,088
32
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Borgo Brufa is set in the Umbrian countryside surrounded by lovely views but not far from all the major cities (like Assisi and Perugia). The hotel is organised like a small village with several small buildings and a central restaurant / bar / reception area - you will need a car. The rooms are fairly new and very clean. The swimming pool is spacious (with an outside bar) perfect for relaxing in the sun and the staff warm and welcoming although it cannot boast the most efficient service (despite also catering to conferences). What we ate was very fresh (the croissants at breakfast were particularly good)!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We stayed at the Borgo Brufa for 4 days and had a lovely time despite some rather loud guests! BB has conference facilities which can be an issue for holiday makers as conference delegates tend to 'kick back' in the evenings. We were put in the same block as some very loud americans who obviously did not realise how loud they actually were - even though they were asked very politely to keep the noise down. For three out of the four nights we were interupted several times by 'clack clacking' of heels on the floor above us. They were so loud we could hear their conversation, so sound insulation may be an issue at BB. Why do people keep their shoes on inside their apartment when surely they know that there are people underneath them?? And why do they move the furniture around at 2am? Anyway, that aside BB has a lovely restaurant and a very good spa. It is set in stunning Tuscan countryside and it is well worth going site seeing - especially to the lake. Castiglione del Lago is well worth a visit and there are lovely restaurants there if you want to try Umbrian food. If you want a chilled out time, check that there is not a conference on and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

first the few good things: location, breakfast, staff in the restaurant, view to Assisi and Perugia

BUT:
- single room (as indicated in the room itself) was sold as double room, room was very small, did not at all correspond with the pictures on the internet
- through the connecting door to the next room, you could hear every move/word from the neighbours
- due to the small window, the room was quite dark, even during daytime electric light was necessary
- safe did not work properly
- the room was very dusty, the chambermaid admitted not having enough time for cleaning the rooms properly
- by 13:30 the room was not yet made, explanation: "we are booked out"

Conclusion: never again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viareggino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We decided to take a last minute weekend trip up to Umbria and found a great rate on family suites at Borgo Brufa through booking.com . We arrived around 6 pm on Friday evening and checked in. They have ample free parking, and an assistant with a large golf cart to help get you and your things to your room. We tipped and he seemed surprised so it might not be customary to tip for this service.
Our room was beautiful- 2 rooms with a small entry hall and a bathroom. The small bedroom did not have a view but it was set up with 2 beds made up for our young children and also had a television. The bathroom was well-appointed with toiletries, towel heater rack, and shower (no tub). The master bedroom was very nice, down comforter on the king bed, satellite tv, small fridge/minibar, safe, and a gorgeous countryside view of the Umbrian hillside from our balcony/bed. Beautiful!
We went for dinner at the on-site restaurant and were disappointed in the service. My husband went with the price-fix menu and ordered all courses while I ordered an antipasti and took some time to decide on my main course. This threw the timing way off with the kitchen- my husband ate his primi while I had my antipasti, and then they immediately brough his secondi before I got my primi so that by the time I was brought my pasta he was done eating. A bit dissapointing. The staff seemed very hurried and the place was quite busy. Dessert came with my husband's menu and I ordered a dessert when I ordered my meal and requested we eat dessert together. After waiting about 30 minutes and no dessert, we asked where it was and they brought us menus again to select a dessert! By that time we were tired and elected to just go back to our room. We slept very well (as did our kids) and the buffet breakfast the next day was great. Tons to choose from- muffins, breads, fruit, cereal, jams, nutella, fresh juices, bacon and eggs, coffee to order, etc. Great way to start the day.
The grounds of the Relais are simply beautiful. Very Umbrian, not too frou-frou or fancy, but classy and well-done. The landscape is magnificent and the views are heavenly.
We would stay again, hopefully the restaurant can get its act together!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

It could have been bad luck on our part, but our 2 nights' stay were like episodes out of the British comedy, Faulty Towers! We were pleased when we were upgraded to a better room, but that was the only thing we were pleased with. The internet in our room didn't work, and the manager blamed it on a "general" problem in the region. After we had him try to "fix" it for over an hour, he finally offered to move us to a different room! We then found out we had to pay to use the gym. There was a massive thunderstorm that night, and the electricity was cut off. We rang reception, they said it would be fixed shortly but nothing happened. We had to ring again to get help. Finally someone showed up and said simply that the air conditioning wasn't working. The next day, there was NO apology for all the problems, not even an acknowledgement of the inconvenience caused. On a positive note, the room we had was very spacious.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank LeSnowqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Living in Italy means that when I go away for a romantic weekend, the place has to be very special : Relais Borgo Brufa fit the bill for its location : close enough to Rome for a quick weekend getaway, discreet yet easy to arrive, atop a hill with 360° views on the sparkling lights of Assisi, Perugia, and other Umbrian towns. The warm welcome from the multi national staff and the owners themselves, the way the buildings fit into the nature. Near to great little towns of Torgiano, Deruta, several factory outlets with luxury products . Be sure to visit the goldsmith in Torgiano, Oro degli Etruschi www.orodeglietruschi.eu
The swimming pool of the spa with soft music, lights made it a perfect respite from the stress of modern working world.
Compliments for the cuisine: the chianina beef and chocolate desserts were to die for!
We will be back!

  • Liked — spa, food, location,
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank palazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torgiano
7.9 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
4.3 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
813 reviews
12.6 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
625 reviews
8.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
689 reviews
22.1 mi away
Castello di Montignano Relais & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgobrufa SPA Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgobrufa SPA Resort

Property: Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Address: Via del Colle 38, 06089 Torgiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Torgiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torgiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgobrufa SPA Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The biggest SPA in Umbria, outdoor heated swimming pool open all year round - Adults only ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Borgobrufa SPA Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo Brufa Torgiano
Relais Borgo Brufa Hotel Torgiano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing