We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance at the Relais...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Villa L'Olmo
Ranked #1 of 23 Impruneta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romance at the Relais...”
Reviewed May 21, 2007

I found the Relais Villa L'Olmo using the Fodors guide, and I was extremely impressed with everything about our stay. The price was cheaper than anything else on our trip to Italy, and it was by far the best. The pool was beautiful overlooking the olive, fig, and peach trees, with nobody else there! Eleonora at the front desk was EXTREMELY nice, and so was Claudia the owner via email and phone.

They only have 2 nights available, as we wanted 4. Due to this, they recommended their Florence location, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni, and even offered us a ride over if we needed!

Anyways, as I had been carying my fiance's ring through Italy, this seemed to be the perfect place to propose! After an extremely romantic walk down to their restaraunt (I Cavallacci I beleive?), with some amazing linguini white clam, pizza, and house white (making it one of our signature 2 bottle nights), I proposed ourside at the lit up pool. We relaxed outside until about 2AM when they turned the lights off on us.

Again, cannot recommend this place enough! Room was spacious, beds comfy, quick ride to Firenze, oozes romance :)

Email me anytime with questions or for more photos!


-Adam & Jill

  • Liked — Pool, romantic atmosphere
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SmoothOperations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    56
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
138
96
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

I loved my stay here. I went with my partner, mother and sister who all thought the views were just spectacular. Lovely views on rambling tuscan countryside. Lovely and warm rooms (in winter) and a lovely balcony leading into the pool which would be perfect for summer.
We had breakfast (at an extra 5euro pp) only on the first day which was traditional. Also recommend a visit to the Castellio Verazzano nearby for the wine and food experience. Will definately be back!

  • Liked — Amazing views/location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatechaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verbier
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We stayed at the Villa l'olmo near Florence in a charming apartment with excellent facilities including a large pool surrounded by olive trees and vineyards which extended to wonderful far reaching views.
breakfast was served in the romantic loggia by very attentive staff who contributed greatly to making our stay very memorable.
Our day trips to the near by ancient towns of Tuscany were equally memorable.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed in the Relais Villa L'Olmo for Easter with our two children
aged 3 and 4 and had the most wonderful break from London. The Hotel is made up of separate self catering 'homes' on a hillside each beautifully decorated in tuscan country style with everything you could need from basic esentials to luxury elements. A couple of minutes walk away is the swimming pool (a couple of the rooms have their own private swimming pool) which amazingly has been surrounded at one end with sand. This was paradise for our children who played for hours while we lay on comfortable loungers next to them. Breakfast is served at the top of the hill on an open air terrace and the village has a supermarket to stock up on food. We ate out one evening with the children as the Italians are so children-friendly, however the hotel also organised a babysitter for us during the day as well as in the evenings. The beauty of Relais Villa L'Olmo is the location, only 15 mintues from the city centre of Florence but seemingly secluded in the Tuscan Hills with stunning views and a cool breeze. The hotel staff spoke English fluently and were able to organise not just our childcare but also trips to the nearby retail designer shopping outlets plus transport into the city and recommend restuarants for lunch and dinner. We felt a had a fantastic break despite travelling and holidaying with two small children as the atmostphere was so relaxed and we were able to spend so much time outside in the sun. I would recommend the hotel to anyone with or without children, it is a beautiful escape in a stunning location.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

Stayed here in August and had a very good time. We had a two bedroom apartment with a sitting room and small kitchen. The aprtment was quite large and the bedrooms were comfortable.

The Relais has a very nice swimming pool and a lovely view over the valley with Impruneta on the hill. As a previous reviewer has said Impruneta is not a medieval tuscan town, but it's really quite pleasant with many decent to very good restaurants. I forget the name but the one in the main square (top right of the square if looking from the church) was really excellent.

The Relais also own a restaurant just a few minutes walk away and this was serves everything from Pizza to Bisteca - well worth a visit.

Going south from Impruneta you are immediately in classic tuscan countryside, but best of all you are just 15 minutes by car from Florence. We went in several times and parked just around the corner from the Pitti Palace. Florence of course is marvellous, but staying just outside in the hot summer is a good idea.

The Relais is not the height of luxury but very convenient and comfortable. We enjoyed our week there a lot.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

The Relais Villa L'Olmo was a wonderful spot for our family. After the larger busier cities and small hotels it was a welcome break to be in the countryside in larger accomodations. It is an ideal location in basically a suburb of Florence, with the bus stop 100 yards or so from the villa. The resurant is a short walk and is very good. There are a couple other resturants in town that are nice as well. Our pool with our villa was clean and cleaned daily. The office staff were quite pleasant and very helpful. We also had a car, and driving through Chianti, San Giagnmano, Pisa, Greve were all quite easy and scenic. The breakfast is excellent, but is an additional $10 Euros. We found all the staff to be quite pleasant.
On the other hand, it is nice, but not luxurious. It is essentially a working farm/resort. We did get some mosquito bites. The town of Impruneta is a small town where the locals hang out on the plaza with old men in lawn chairs, flirting teenagers, etc. and is not a "quaint" tourist town like Greve. The air conditioning was typical of all the places we stayed, but the evenings were cool and pleasant. The washer and dryer is a washer/dryer with one small machine performing both functions. One small load took 45 min to wash and 2 hours to dry, or should I say heat the clothes, and then dry on a line outside. We needed to use the other 3 washers near the office for a small charge to get the laundry done we hoped. One evening our electricity went out in our villa at about 9:30 pm and they immediately came and fixed it.
So in summary if you are looking for a relaxing, convinent, pleasant town in a great location with excellent staff and easy transportation and a couple good local restuarants, this is your place. If you are looking for luxury or a cute quaint town with lots of amenities, then look elsewhere. Our family would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Location and attentive staff
  • Disliked — Hard beds and inefficient washers
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itravelforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

The Relais Villa L'Olmo helped to make our stay in Tuscany a dream come true. The Villa is set on top of a hill that slopes down to olive groves and vineyards. Our apartment was a comfortable cottage with two seperate bedrooms and a living room/kitchenette. The apartment was cleaned each day with fresh towels and our beds were made. The reception was very helpful to us. They gave suggestions on dinner and helped us with directions and bus tickets. The wine and olive oil were both enjoyable. It was nice to come home every night and take a refreshing dip in the pool after the hot Tuscan sun. We also took advantage of the barbeques provided and cooked our own dinner a couple of nights. The villa is 40 minutes to Florence by bus and very accessible to other Tuscan towns such as Radda, Greve, Pisa, San Gimignano and Siena. We really loved the villa and hope someday to return.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn1pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Impruneta
13.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
15.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
524 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
430 reviews
7.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
14.5 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa L'Olmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa L'Olmo

Property: Relais Villa L'Olmo
Address: Via Imprunetana Per Tavarnuzze 19, 50023, Impruneta, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Impruneta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Impruneta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa L'Olmo 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the Chianti - Just 15 minutes from Florence Situated on the outskirts of a quaint village by the name of Impruneta, the Relais Villa l'Olmo is perched on a hill dotted with grey olive trees, overlooking the Chianti valley. Lying a mere 10 kilometres from the city of Florence and 20-minute drive from its airport, a 10-minute drive from the main road to Siena and from the A1 motorway linking Milan to Rome, this is the ideal location for relaxing in the Tuscan countryside without forfeiting the chaotic bustle of Florence. While the city can be reached by public transportation every 30 minutes, the village centre is a 5-minute stroll from the Relais, where the Tuscan culinary delicacies can be savoured in typical trattorias. Nestled in a 70-hectar landscape of rolling hills, the 16th-century Relais mirrors the careful renovation completed in 2001, work that was painstakingly undertaken to preserve the original architectural structure. In addition to the 8 apartments, 2 cottages and farmhouse available for guests, the property encompasses vineyards, olive groves, the owners' private residence and an operating farm. The big pool area is surrounded by white sand that combines with the green valley and its olive trees and vineyards offering a beautiful view on the valley. In the gardens and Barbecue gardens the Relais Guests will enjoy their evenings under the Tuscan sky whilst preparing the specialties of the region.The Relais offers also a Fitness-room well equipped with Technogym fitness equipment and massages or sessions with a personal trainer can be booked anytime on request of the guests. Breakfast can be booked on request and it's served in an ancient charming Farm Loggia. The village, at just 3 minutes walking distance, make the shopping and alimentary needs an experience and guests should not miss to explore the small and traditional shops. The Reception is available every day from 8.30Am to 7.30Pm for any information and bookings that make the guests' stay as pleasant as possible (museums' entrance tickets, tours and wine-tastings reservations, tee-times bookings, babysitting service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Relais Villa L'Olmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa l`Olmo Hotel Impruneta
Relais Villa L'Olmo Impruneta, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing