We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing vs. website...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing vs. website...”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel has a very nice location / great starting point to visit Siena, Florence, ... Casole d'Elsa is a nice town to visit / have dinner.

The accommodation is correct (clean, nice outdoor pool, parking, ...), but old / cheap (plastic chairs, uncomfortable, rusty, ...). The service was very basic (hard to call the staff friendly, not sharing lot of info, do not really see work, have to wait long, ...) and the breakfast was a real disgrace (limited offer, canned fruits, horrible bread, cold eggs/bacon, tasteless, full of flies, ...). I used to backpack a lot & in many hostels the food / service was actually better!

So, okay to stay there, but manage your expectations & use it mainly as a starting point to do daytrips...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayEnjoyer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax Aquaviva ... C, Direttore at Relax Hotel Aquaviva, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

I'm not so happy concerning your review but I take a note expecially for the breakfast (for the other things is your opinion even I don't know how the plastic chairs can be rusty) and also I really do not undestand what you mean when you say " hard to call the staff friendly, not sharing lot of info, do not really see work, have to wait long" ....... which staff reception, waiters ...??

After that you howewer you suggest to stay in this hotel ....... Perhaps you was not just one night and these problems got them just one morning ?

Sincerely.

Alessandro Conti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    175
    88
    49
    20
See reviews for
92
254
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Aquaviva hotel might not be the top of the range hotel but it's a nice place to relax near the swimming pools, enjoy all that Tuscany has to offer from the splendid view from the hotel rooms to the food from the numerous restaurant not mentioning the wine.
As French and former Italy resident, I was looking forward to come back to Italy. I was not disappointed, friendly staff and people, good food and fantastic country side.
the location of the hotel is ideal to visit the major cities of Tuscany (Pisa, Florence, Sienna, ..) all in a range of 1 hour driving from the hotel.
to summarize, my partner and I had a lovely week in Tuscany and the relaxing atmosphere of the Aquaviva certainly contribute to it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax Aquaviva ... C, Direttore at Relax Hotel Aquaviva, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Mr. David,

thank you for the nice review and I will take in care the wine choise because in Tuscany can offer much more.

Hoping to welcome again in Tuscany and I hope also at Aquaviva, I take the opportunity to send my best regards.

Alessandro Conti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A beautiful hotel surrounded by the green hills of the tuscan countryside. Rooms are very comfortable and have a great view. Staff is very kind and helpful. Restaurant is very good. We had a lovely week in Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinchbeck, U.K
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed some years ago at their 'sister' hotel Gemini at Casole d'Elsa and had been recommended to try the 'new' Aquaviva. Gemini has been quite stylish- a quiet haven in simply stunning Tuscan countryside. Imagine our disappointment then to come a few kilometers down the road to Aquaviva. The countryside is still stunning but we were greeted by the noise of yelling youngsters in the pool which seemed to dominate the whole hotel. The interior furnishings were modern but certainly not elegant. My husband's comment was "rather cheap." The front of the hotel seemed to have the air of a roadside motel- such a shame! If you're looking for a romantic stay- forget it! This is a hotel for rowdy families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizziep8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax Aquaviva ... C, Direttore at Relax Hotel Aquaviva, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Customer,

you can understand our surprise when reading his comment almost a year from the date of last stay, but to be fair, we wish to clarify a few things.
If you stayed at 'Hotel Gemini will certainly have noticed that the paintings, furnishings, furniture etc.. of 'Hotel Aquaviva are exactly the same and therefore we do not understand the negative negative comments, same thing for the pool ... in the Hotel Gemini there were no children? And then ... Hotel Gemini does not facing on a street with a lot more traffic than the street next to the Hotel Aquaviva? Why we should be compared to a Motel than the hotel Gemini despite having the same characteristics that you confirm saying that the countryside is even beautiful .....
With great respect, we can not share his comments, but we'll take a good note.
Yours sincerely
Alessandro Conti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Casole d'Elsa hotels

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found this hotel 6 or 7 years ago when it was newly opened. Looking for somewhere to stay, we happened to see a sign pointing it out, and were amazed to find something so smart and comfortable off the beaten track. Having enjoyed our stay so much, we went back this October, and were not disappointed.
Good-sized room with ensuite shower/jacuzzi bath/wc. Large bed with sprung mattress. Plenty of wardrobe space. Friendly staff, excellent food, free wi-fi, fabulous views, heated indoor pool, unheated outdoor pool (too cold for October use). Centrally located for exploring the area; one day we drove to the West coast and took a boat to Elbe. Plenty of interesting hill towns nearby and within easy reach of Sienna, San Gimignano and Volterra. We'll be going there again.

Room Tip: The views are from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A wonderfull place under the Toscan sun. very beautifull and nice place lost in the mountains surrounding a lot of vineyards.
There a very kind and hospitable people.
They had a quality restaurant. and they prepare sometimes barbaques in the garden.

The rooms are very confortable. With their own garden.
The wirlpool, the swiming pool..

VERY ADVISABLE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oskar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just returned from staying at the Aquaviva Hotel & Spa and can not recommend it highly enough. The facilities, espcially the pool were superb, the food was fantastic and the staff friendly and welcoming. It was a pleasure to stay there and a real dissapointment to come home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aalondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
2.1 mi away
Hotel Terre di Casole
Hotel Terre di Casole
#2 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
392 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
21.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
20.5 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
1,582 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Hotel Aquaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Hotel Aquaviva

Property: Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Address: Localita Acquaviva 1, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relax Hotel Aquaviva 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hilltop in Tuscany's Chianti wine district, Aquaviva Hotel & Spa offers panoramic views of the hills around Siena. It features a wellness centre with heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming pool, and a traditional restaurant. Each room comes with a balcony or patio. At Aquaviva you have free access to the pools. Children can have fun in the playground and baby pool. You can book the wellness facilities which include massages, a steam bath, sauna and Kneipp hydrotherapy. This relaxing hotel is decorated with antiques and original paintings that belonged to the owner's great-grandmother. Rooms and suites are air conditioned and come with satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Some rooms have a spa bath. The restaurant, Il Frate Godente, offers an a la carte menu of classic Tuscan and Italian cuisine. A generous sweet breakfast is served daily. Just 3 km away you will find the picturesque village of Casole d'Elsa, while the centre of Siena is 36 km away. San Gimignano and Volterra are within a 30-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Relax Hotel Aquaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquaviva Hotel Casole d Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing