We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“perfectly located for exploring Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relax Hotel Aquaviva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Relax Hotel Aquaviva to your Saves list
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Aquaviva, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“perfectly located for exploring Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found this hotel 6 or 7 years ago when it was newly opened. Looking for somewhere to stay, we happened to see a sign pointing it out, and were amazed to find something so smart and comfortable off the beaten track. Having enjoyed our stay so much, we went back this October, and were not disappointed.
Good-sized room with ensuite shower/jacuzzi bath/wc. Large bed with sprung mattress. Plenty of wardrobe space. Friendly staff, excellent food, free wi-fi, fabulous views, heated indoor pool, unheated outdoor pool (too cold for October use). Centrally located for exploring the area; one day we drove to the West coast and took a boat to Elbe. Plenty of interesting hill towns nearby and within easy reach of Sienna, San Gimignano and Volterra. We'll be going there again.

Room Tip: The views are from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    132
    63
    38
    13
See reviews for
72
186
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A wonderfull place under the Toscan sun. very beautifull and nice place lost in the mountains surrounding a lot of vineyards.
There a very kind and hospitable people.
They had a quality restaurant. and they prepare sometimes barbaques in the garden.

The rooms are very confortable. With their own garden.
The wirlpool, the swiming pool..

VERY ADVISABLE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oskar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have just returned from staying at the Aquaviva Hotel & Spa and can not recommend it highly enough. The facilities, espcially the pool were superb, the food was fantastic and the staff friendly and welcoming. It was a pleasure to stay there and a real dissapointment to come home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aalondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here the last week of June-and it was a great place to stay. It is located in beautiful countryside and away from traffic and noise. It is a great place to relax and chill out. We found the staff to be very helpful-even to cheerfully providing us with a proper cup of tea in the afternoon! The waiters in the restaurant were very diligent and polite. The spa facilities are great and my husband had an excellent massage. The pools were clean and well maintained, there is a waterfall to stand in-and the setting is amongst plantings of lavender, roses, and ginestra (broom)-it is a modern hotel but the outside is covered in ivy. Each room has a large private sitting balcony facing the valleys and the views go on forever: sheep on the hillsides and Casole D'Esta on the hill overlooking it. The bathrooms are spacious-plenty of water pressure and hot water. Our bed was very comfortable and with a good mattress. The b'fast spread is big-and typical of other Italian hotels I have been in. We enjoyed the food-it was lovely-and I say that having worked at a cooking school in Florence, Italy, with famous chefs...There are other good restaurants nearby. Poolside is clean and the chairs comfortable with working umbrella's. I would recommend this place-and have, especially if you are looking to simply rest, enjoy some R&R and not be an "tourist".

Room Tip: All the rooms face the valley-and have large, spacious balconies. Not a noisy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Summrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax Aquaviva ... C, Direttore at Relax Hotel Aquaviva, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Customer,
We are very pleased that your stay at the Aquaviva Hotel was nice!
Thank you on behalf of myself and all the staff for the review left by myself and all the staff. We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel and the opportunity I invite you to try our spa with our treatments to make your stay truly relaxing!
Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great functional hotel- pool had a liner more akin to a paddling pool in terms of quality. Great though and you can't really fault it. Good views, big rooms and chilled out!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_1chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Good hotel and superb steaks ;) Nice people. Casole d'Elsa a short drive away also has a great restaurant at Osteria Casolina - set menu and great food. And always events in the town to watch out for. A really good place to simply relax and chill. (Second visit, btw.)

Room Tip: go for the sunny side overlooking the pool and a superb Tuscan view - but not a problem if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TootsHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

having spent a wet week in tuscany we decided to check out of our previous hotel and were looking for a hotel with spa facilities and internet connection to escape the rain for a day and catch up on e-mails.

having read reviews and hotel description for the aquaviva we thought it fitted the bill.

the impression we had was that it was closer to siena than it turned out to be, but to be fair we hadn't checked hotel website for location details. Journey was hair raising at points , even our sat nav told us not to go!!


Upon approach our hearts sank - it was a motel style building. Upon check in they could not locate a key to a room for us, hotel was huge and i suspect no more than 10 parties were staying (a bit norman bates ) eventually we got our room. very spacious and a fabulous view. Huge wardrobe - what a bonus - only 4 coat hangers - how useful!

bathroom clean, but very basic - hardly any toilettries and horrible shower curtain etc

shower was not the best, water temp kept changing without warning.

bed soft squeaky and lumpy
hotel room had one power socket conveniently located miles from the mirror - not funny when I was trying to straighten my hair!
room had a safe - but you needed to pay for a key.

having checked in around 6pm and having time before dinner
we made a beeline for the pool area - were given a towel for the pool (had to pay if you wanted a robe)
pool area tired - mattresses on poolside beds were few and far between and ones that were out were mouldy. The jacuzzi was a bit of a death trap , but it sort of worked (only some jets operating) but indoor pool was a bonus.

the pool had no proper changing area so meant you either had to go through reception in swimmers or risk leaving clothes etc to get wet around pool

we enquired about spa treatments for the following day to be told it was the girls day off - so whole point of traveling there gone.
when we asked how to access the internet we were told they didn't have it that area! but as we couldn't check it out on our PC we couldn't argue about their description!!

dinner was ok (we chose really basic food grilled chicken and chips) we had a feeling everything else would be pretty bad, meal was overpriced but wine was nice enough. The waiter however was really nice and very helpful - kept us updated with the champions league results!

breakfast was absolutely terrible - waiter kept switching the toast machine off and turning the temp of the hot water / coffee machine to low. all i wanted was tea and toast and this seemed too much to ask for - and we were being charged euro26 each for the breakfast! we need to start liking processed cheese and tinned fruit a bit more.

based on the breakfast and no spa treatment and very tired pool area and very very remote location we cut short our booking and left immediately!

I would not recommend this hotel - so many better places to go and it wasn't even well placed for commuting to many other places.

on our trip we stayed in a mix of basic city hotels, motels, relais and luxury 4 star plus venues and visited a number of other venues (looking for wedding destinations) so I think fair to say this did not live up to reviews

to add insult to injury, the web rates for the hotel were euro76 but hotel was charging euro 105 (we booked direct as internet cafe not secure for credit card payment)

good news is we left and spent an unexpected day in san gimignano - checked into a lovely 4* that really is a 4* (but not had breakfast yet - will keep you posted!)

  • Liked — the wine and leaving!
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank purplefoxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Casole d'Elsa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
15.4 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
12.5 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#1 of 5 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Terre di Casole
Hotel Terre di Casole
#2 of 13 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo al Cerro
Borgo al Cerro
#3 of 13 in Casole d'Elsa
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relax Hotel Aquaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relax Hotel Aquaviva

Property: Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Address: Localita Aquaviva, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relax Hotel Aquaviva 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hilltop in Tuscany's Chianti wine district, Aquaviva Hotel & Spa offers panoramic views of the hills around Siena. It features a wellness centre with heated indoor pool, an outdoor swimming pool, and a traditional restaurant. Each room comes with a balcony or patio. At Aquaviva you have free access to the pools. Children can have fun in the playground and baby pool. You can book the wellness facilities which include massages, a steam bath, sauna and Kneipp hydrotherapy. This relaxing hotel is decorated with antiques and original paintings that belonged to the owner's great-grandmother. Rooms and suites are air conditioned and come with satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries and a hairdryer. Some rooms have a spa bath. The restaurant, Il Frate Godente, offers an a la carte menu of classic Tuscan and Italian cuisine. A generous sweet breakfast is served daily. Just 3 km away you will find the picturesque village of Casole d'Elsa, while the centre of Siena is 36 km away. San Gimignano and Volterra are within a 30-minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Relax Hotel Aquaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquaviva Hotel Casole d Elsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing