We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner with friends.”
Review of L'Orto di Casole

L'Orto di Casole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner with friends.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We believe this restaurant is under new management and if this an example of how hard these young people work to make guests feel welcome then we hope they succeed in their new venture. Staff were accommodating and friendly without crowding us and we had excellent suggestions about our menu choices. We enjoyed it so much that we have booked for the last evening of our holiday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank You so much to have choose our Restaurant to celebrate Your anniversary with Your friends. All the Staff send to You their best regards and greetings, we wish You all the best.

Arrivederci.

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    54
    16
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food, not cheap, service can be better”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

had lunch here once. There wasn't really a lunch menu with bruschetta's or salads, just the primi and secondi of the dinner menu. I had great ravioli, although the portion was small (2 raviolis). The escalope milanese of my child was average. My wife got melon prosciutto, not on the manu. We got a good Vernaccia, cheap. Good wine list
Service by the waitress was unfriendly.
great view/terrace, but we had to sit inside because of rain...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DukeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks for Your review.
By our Menu a la carte, You have a lot of choice to enjoy also a light lunch. In addition to the menù, we purposed to our guest also a list with our tasty salads. We think that is a confortable solution for whom wants to have an important lunch and for whom want something light.
But thanks for Your suggestions.
Arrivederci.

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fresh veggies from their own garden”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We ate in this restaurant 3 times during our one week stay. Always lunch, no dinner. Menu was good, mentioning veggie and gluten free dishes, very much appreciated. All foods were tasty and good, sometimes portions good have been a bit larger. We especially liked the battered and fried veggies from their own garden, yummie! Also the grilled Scamorza was nice, but could have been served warmer! Like many restaurants in Casole und the nearby Colle they offered only naturalized water (as in tab water, yes - who wants to drink that?) but upon request they came up with at least plastic bottles of mineral water. Service was rather slow but still tolerable for vacation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MagicJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing with us your impressions about your experience at our restaurant where the relaxed atmosphere allows you to dine quietly in the terrace enjoying the breathtaking scenery surrounding the property.

See you soon.

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great T-bone!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were staying at Terre di Casole and had dinner at the hotel. Ordered the t-bone, which was perfectly cooked. Also, had the ravioli with goat cheese, also really delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank manoelabrienza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks for Your review! We're happy that You enjoyed Your dinner!!

Have a nice summer and hope to see You again!

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I like this restaurant because it ticks all my boxes.
Service is fantastic, all waiters are knowledgable and professional with a brilliant personality. The Chef (a woman) prepares the dishes not just to taste nice but to look even better.
Location....well there is an entire valley standing in front of you!
Food....very good, lot of choices. They have a private veggie garden where the grow fresh veggies and herbs. My favourite dish is definitely the Vellutata di ceci, chickpeas soup with bacon and prawn. Delicious!!!
Wine: great wine list, of course nice selection of local Chianti.
Price: Fair

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elpatojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise P, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at L'Orto di Casole, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks for the detailed review.
Yes, we're proud about our vegetable garden and FOR SURE also about all our Staff and the Chef Marianna that send to you her best regards.
Everybody is waiting for you here again very soon!!

CIAO ELISABETTA!
Ti abbracciamo forte e ti aspettiamo.

Ristorante L'Orto di Casole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Orto di Casole also viewed

Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Province of Siena
Casole d'Elsa, Province of Siena
 

Been to L'Orto di Casole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing