We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Villa Paradiso - Bellisima!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Villa Paradiso - Bellisima!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

A group of friends came for a week and stayed in Villa Paradiso, which is associated with, but is to the South, away from the hotel. Our concierge was always helpful, the maid service attentive, and the chef (available on request) made a marvelous meal for us one night. If you are looking for a quiet "home base" for day trips in Tuscany, you can't beat it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    31
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
59
175
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is an example that the beauty and quality of a luxury property can attract and even call one back again, but what remains after departure are thoughts about the details. That is the case of the Castello di Casole. First the good news. There are few places in which we have stayed that have been designed and constructed so beautifully and thoughtfully. The technology is state of the art but intuitive to use. The rooms are stunning and vast. The building and grounds are a delight for the eye. It promises so much.
But then the lack of really working the details in every area, every day begin to show up.We check in a bit early and are welcomed with a drink but our rooms are not ready. No problem. However, only after some time of waiting and checking at the desk are we told, yes your room is ready rather than being told. The staff service is not consistent. Some are simply wonderful in anticipating and fulfilling needs. Others act as if requests are mere suggestions and one has to follow up several times to have them handled. They do not screen all the extracurricular activities well. We signed for a grappa distillery visit that was so bad all we could do was laugh. When the concierge asked about our visit and was told the story how we wasted an hour or so going to and back, he said he was sorry and should likely not recommend it again. I made a joke and said it was okay and he could just buy me a nice grappa at the bar.....he completely missed the suggestion that a true luxury hotel would have made on its own.
Children are allowed to run free through the hotel. This is supposed to be a luxury vacation experience considering the price of the rooms and food, but every day there are kids kicking soccer balls in the piazza, yelling and throwing balls in the pool, and scenes of parents leaving kids on their own by the pool when they go off for lunch of some other activity. We had just come from the Schloss Elmau in Bravaria and they welcomed just as many families but that hotel was so thoughtful in how they organized separate child areas and activities that it was a delight to see families and couples each enjoying their hoped-for experiences without compromise.
In the four days we stayed at the hotel, we never once had a manager ask us about our experience. We never saw the hotel manager for that matter, and this is not so large a property that he should be invisible.
And last, practically all of the guests we saw were American. We are too, but it's always nice to be at a hotel that is a draw to a range of nationalities. It contributes to its interest and charm. When one looks at how this hotel functions, it is clear that the focus is on continuing the single nationality direction by the way the property and service is detailed. This can be a danger because we Americans love to roam and find new places and experiences if the same old one loses our attention because it gets too "familiar." That is the risk here because if one travels all the way to Tuscany to see the same people one does in New York or LA, how many will continue to think this is "special?"
The Castello is a beautiful and high quality facility for sure and we hope that one day, should we visit again (now our second time) it will have added the attention to detail in all the important aspects one looks for in a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: All sides of the hotel have different but equally stunning views...it's a matter of choice of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a warm welcome and an easy check-in but our stay coincided with Mercedes event which basically created a bit of chaos. The hotel was rented out to Mercedes for their marketing event for 2 weeks and I was happy to see them gone 2nd day of our stay- though the noise of cleanup remained for another day. the staff was wonderful, and Alegra the manager was incredibly nice and understanding when I complained to her about a couple of items. Overall, our room which was called Magnifica was very convenient to everything and easily accessible, but incredibly average with dark dark setting and no sun light. The best part of the hotel was the staff. they were all super nice and attentive. we had a really great time at the pizza making and at the pool. Food was way way way expensive but what other choice you have? well... nothing. Overall, I would say for the staggering nightly rate, I was expecting more. However, if you find a deal with this hotel, do it. it is worth staying here as it is really clean and calm.

Room Tip: we stayed in Magnifica suite. It is dark but large. very convenient to all the restaurants and main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcanax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were warmly welcomed with a glass of bubbly. The concierge can not possibly be more helpful. Our suite is beyond beautiful. The Tuscan view makes for breathtaking views. A photographers dream. I can not wait to explore the property more. It beckons every sense. Easily one of the most perfect places to stay. We are very experienced travelers and have mingled with many, from castles to small B&B's.... The Castello Di Casole is a bucket list adventure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesandKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The setting here in Tuscany is magical. The estate is visible from kilometres away and is very beautiful. Staff very friendly and helpful. There was a Mercedes event so we were upgraded to the main villa which was huge!! Two stories and beautiful kitchens etc. like a house. Food was quite average. There is cheese in everything and lots of it! but they recommended a great couple of restaurants nearby. Do a guided bike tour- fantastic- but make sure you choose the beginner- there are lots of hills!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed here after being 8 days in Sicily. The beauty and magic of the resort is first noticed about a quarter mile away as you approach by car. The castle of the resort is sitting atop one of the tallest hills on the 4200 acres that make this magnificent property. When you reach the circle drive at the front of the resort, you know you've arrived in a special place. That special feeling never ended. The staff were over accommodating and so friendly. We were given a glass of prosecco and asked to wait in the library while the staff checked us in. We were immediately upgraded to a suite and it was comfortable, beautiful and spacious. The restaurants on the property provided great service and delicious for. This resort was just the red carpet, pampering treatment we needed after a hectic 8 days in Sicily. We were sad the day we had to leave to go to Milan. Castello di Casole is on the top of our recommendation list, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgcgcg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

As the pictures make clear, this hotel is in a beautiful location, and the views and the ambiance are quintessential Tuscany. We had very much looked forward to a stay of a few days here before we moved to a villa on the grounds, but, unfortunately, our stay coincided with a construction project for a corporate event that followed our stay. So instead of a peaceful respite, we had saws and hammers and forklifts from morning to night. We were given no warning, no accommodation, no apology from the hotel management. They didn't seem to think that guests would mind waking up to a chainsaw, or the beep-beep-beep of a forklift. All day long. It never occurred to me to ask a place operating with their aspirations if our stay would be compromised in such an intrusive way, but, at least for this hotel, be warned they don't appear to put guests first. Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kpcinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
16.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
20.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
23.8 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
12.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.1 mi away
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
Relax Hotel Aquaviva
#4 of 12 in Casole d'Elsa
3.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa

Property: Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Address: Localita Querceto SNC, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a Tuscany, lives a vibrant and vital estate and in the center of that estate is a storied castle that dates to the 1100's. Here you will be welcomed to a five-star boutique hotel in the grand European tradition. Exquisitely appointed, its 41 private suites effortlessly combine Old World Tuscan charm with modern luxuries, elegance and sophistication. Throughout the estate live private farm homes and villas for larger parties to stay in. It is that secret place one might hopes to discover along a country road - a place with graceful and intimate accommodations, inspired cuisine, an inviting repertoire of activities, and above all, knowing and attentive service. Castello di Casole - A Timbers Resort, the very definition of Italian luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing