We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Certificate of Excellence
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An oasis in Tuscany”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Casole for 2 nights and we wish it was more. We drove their from Rome however the 2 hour trip took 3 hours as we got lost. Of course there is worse things then getting lost in Italy. We had traveled to Italy for our 25 wedding anniversary and when we arrived at Castello do Casole we were greeted by a glass of wine while we checked in and champagne in our room. The concierge, Sado (??) was excellent and helped program our GPS for a winery tour the next day and also directions to our hotel in Florence two days later. She even called out hotel to confirm our stay and see where we had to park our car. Amazing service!!We ate breakfast and dinner there each day and night and the food was outstanding. Our room was unbelievable and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. The hotel was expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sport1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    32
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
70
198
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family stayed in the Piti house in April, 2013. It was, by far, the most breathtaking home we've stayed in. The weather was chilly, but our gracious hostess heated our outdoor pool for us to enjoy the stunning scenery! The service was fabulous, the restaurant in the main hotel was delicious, the workout facility was incredible, and our accommodations were luxurious, cozy, and comfortable. Given the opportunity, we would all go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Casole with friends for 4 nights. We were two families with children aged between 1 and 5. The staff were very attentive and helped with our every need. We lost our luggage at the airport and the concierge spent most of our first morning helping to locate it with Florence Airport staff. The pool is set in the middle of the Tuscan mountains with some amazing views and the the two restaurants serve delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel is located in a large plot of privately owned land with beautiful pathways for walks and moments of relaxation. The kids activity centre made sure that everyone had something to do and our 5 year old had a great time learning how to bake and make a pizza. Its around 1 and 1/2 hour drive from Florence but is well worth the journey and the drive is also fun. The rooms were spotless and luxurious which was expected as the prices are not cheap. All in all I can definitely see us come back here again. This was is a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Would suggest your stay close to the main lobby if you have young children otherwise if you're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goose30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our family, including four young children, stayed here for 5 nights and had two (connecting) junior suites. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. There were at least three people who greeted us upon arrival. We were told to leave all of our luggage in the car and come in and relax. We were served prosecco and punch for the kids.

The views were stunning from the hotel and the ambience was just so utterly beautiful. I think most guests are couples, as it is so romantic, but we found it a great experience with our children too. There were children's programs like pizza making and ice cream tasting on Wednesday nights, but we just missed it because we checked out on a Wednesday morning.

The rooms were large and spacious with every amenity we could want including bath salts, cottonballs for nail polish as well as cotton pads for makeup removal! There was a little refrigerator in each room that was stocked with soft drinks and water. The gym was very well equipped as well and the spa was very nice.

Every step of the way, we felt as if the staff was two steps ahead of us. They seemed to predict our every need and appear at every corner ready to help before we could even ask for help.

The food and service at Pazzia was excellent. It made us feel as though we were dining in one of the small towns in Tuscany, and not like a resort restaurant. One night, we wanted to order room servie for my children who wanted to eat pasta with alfredo sauce -- something they didn't have on the menu. The server went to ask the Chef and before we knew it, the children's request had been fulfilled.

Breakfast at Tosca also had a great selection of breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, as well as some hot items that could be ordered off the menu. The hot foods arrived quickly. On our first morning, 2 of my children were sleeping in and were about to miss the breakfast buffet that closed at 10:30. The server overheard me and told me that I could make the children a plate of food. After I had gathered the items to take to them, the server had me put the plates on a tray and he followed me up to my room.

On the morning of checkout, we brought our suitcases down to the front and they loaded it into our car for us while we ate breakfast. During breakfast, I realized I had forgotten something in the room. I went to the front desk to ask for the key and was told that one of the staff members had gone to room to check to see if we left anything behind. He did find things that we forgot!

We have never had such impeccable service and luxury. It's no wonder this hotel was ranked #1 hotel in Europe by Travel & Leisure magazine 2013 (#2 in the world). I cannot wait to return. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohanamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The estate was unbelievable and beautiful. Stayed with my wife for three nights in august and everywhere we looked we could not stop taking pictures. Booked through preferred hotels and received room upgrade and bottle of very nice estate wine. Restaurants on site were both very good -- as was hotel bar. We went to nearby Casole D'elsa for dinner one night which was very close and enjoyable. On short notice, hotel arranged for a wine tasting and "light lunch" at Poggio Amorelli in Castellina di Chianti. Awesome. Pool was also out of this world, with great attendants. Had breakfast included, but received wrong information at check in that only the buffet was included. On our last day realized that could have ordered anything on the menu (i.e. omelets, pancakes, etc.). Similarly, had a very nicely prepared picnic lunch, but advice on where to go to enjoy it on the property was poor. Also, no picnic blanket or glasses for wine (sheepishly gave us paper cups). I am sure these things will be worked out. This hotel is definitely on the radar for Americans, so expect to hear a lot of English from your fellow guests. I understand the reference in the prior review to California...I could see that. For example breakfast spread has a "gluten-free" section. Therefore, if looking for a great relaxing resort experience, I would highly recommend. If looking to be immersed in the local culture, this would probably not be it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from 4 night stay at this property. Booked the cheapest room category (studio suite) with a little hesitation based on other TA reviews. Needless to say, we were not disappointed. This property is amazing in every sense. Some of the finest linens and furnishings I have ever experienced for a "base category" room. Yes, the bedroom area was a little dark with no real view but made for great sleeping conditions! The bathroom was awesome with a HUGE walk-in shower, egg shaped tub, double sink with sky light above which let in lots of natural night.
Bathroom amenities were plentiful with full size shampoo, conditioner and body wash. The hair dryer was the best I have ever used in a hotel, not the usual tiny one on the wall. There were two fluffy bathrobes and matching slippers for use throughout our stay and plenty of oversized bath towels. One note is there is no clothes iron in the room. Any pressing has to be sent out (for a fee!) which we found a little inconvenient as we left getting dressed for our dinner reservation until the last minute only to discover our recently unpacked clothing items were less then smooth.
The infinity pool was incredible with breathtaking views of the Tuscan countryside and town of Castello d'elsa in the distance. Great poolside bar and food service, although I could have done without the 15Euro per drink prices.
This hotel is in a great area for sightseeing and wine tasting throughout the region. Nothing was more then a 20-30 min drive away. The hotel concierge had the best printed instructions we have ever seen from a hotel and outsmarted our GPS more then once. They also had great recommendations for places to eat and wineries to visit.
Overall, a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it to others visiting the region. We felt like we got what we paid for given the prices were high but so was the experience.

Room Tip: Had friends who paid with premium credit cards (AmEx) and they all got upgraded rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jccHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The physical hotel is amazing. Easily one of the nicest properties I have ever been too. It is gorgeous, well maintained and the views from their pool and balconies are spectacular. Everything is newly remodeled and wonderful.

We spent several nights at the Castello in their standard room. We asked for a view and were given a nice room with a balcony and a view of the countryside. The room was very large with a fireplace, nice seating area and a very comfortable king sized bed. The room also had a gorgeous marble bathroom with a marble walk in shower and a large soaking tub. The bathroom had dual vanities and was gorgeous. The room had wifi which was fast, satellite TV and AC (which worked decently well - luckily it gets very cool in Tuscany at night).

We used the spa for a treatment in one of the couples rooms. The spa is gorgeous and just opened. It has some small service issues to deal with but once they are fixed it will be amazing. The facility is gorgeous and it has mens and women's locker rooms. The showers in the spa were nice rain showers, though I prefer a more private shower - these were open. The men's are had a cool and hot tub for soaking and relaxation. The couples suite was unreal. It was in the old wine storage area. It had gorgeous arched ceilings, a beautiful couples tub, shower and other facilities. Very nice. Our treatment included a soak, but oddly no towels were out to dry off (one of the small kinks to be worked out). The massage itself was excellent.

We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was very good. Some of the food is skewed for American tastes but we had a wonderful fish dish and a very nice steak and some wonderful pasta. The food was great and service was very good.

Breakfast was served each morning in the hotel's restaurant. It is a buffet but they also have eggs on order and pancakes. The buffet was large but the food was only ok. For instance, the baked goods didn't seem freshly made but the omlettes they prepared to order were nice.

The highlight of the Castello is the pool area. They have a gorgeous large infinity pool overlooking the countryside. The service at the pool was good and they had food and drink options. We enjoyed spending a few hours each day at the pool.

Our only real negative was the service we experienced. It was decent but not great; it was not proactive. For instance, we came back from dinner one evening and it was pouring but no one was at the hotel front to get us from our car and give us an umbrella. Most hotels we stay at would have someone waiting. Other instances are that we never really got hellos from staff.

Overall, we think the hotel will improve as it ages and we will likely stay there again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Request a view or you might end up with a view of the courtyard (still nice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casole d'Elsa
19.9 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
655 reviews
16.6 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
593 reviews
23.8 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
323 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Hotel Le Fontanelle
#1 of 1 in Pianella
332 reviews
24.0 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 10 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa

Property: Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Address: Localita Querceto SNC, 53031 Casole d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Casole d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Casole d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of a Tuscany, lives a vibrant and vital estate and in the center of that estate is a storied castle that dates to the 1100's. Here you will be welcomed to a five-star boutique hotel in the grand European tradition. Exquisitely appointed, its 41 private suites effortlessly combine Old World Tuscan charm with modern luxuries, elegance and sophistication. Throughout the estate live private farm homes and villas for larger parties to stay in. It is that secret place one might hopes to discover along a country road - a place with graceful and intimate accommodations, inspired cuisine, an inviting repertoire of activities, and above all, knowing and attentive service. Castello di Casole - A Timbers Resort, the very definition of Italian luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing