We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Piaggio Museum

Piaggio Museum
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Pontedera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Piaggio Museum is open also the second and the fourth sunday of the month from 10:00 to 18:00.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Although I was in Italy on a group tour, I was able to take off on the odd couple of days and do my own thing. An absolute highlight was being taken through the Vespa Museum by Massimo of Arianna and Friends. Massimo was waiting at Pontedera Station, and had given me excellent instructions on how to get there. We spent nearly 3 hours at the museum. Massimo translated what the guide was saying, and , being from the area for so many generations, was also able to share his family stories too - which were fascinating! I own a vespa, so was delighted to be able to see this iconic plant. But there were 4 other people on my tour who wish they had known about the museum as well. Thank you Massimo for an unforgettable day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDLoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    161
    46
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“worthwhile visit”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am not a motorbike fan so the idea to go there did not excite me much, especially since they do not request an admission fee. However after the first few minutes in the entrance of the museum, the feeling changed and we passed a pleasant 2 hours going around the place. The history of the Vespa is shown through the various scooters, posters and other items. Quite interesting is the story of the 'Dali', a Vespa signed by the painter himself when he met 2 Spanish students travelling from Madrid to Athens on the scooter. There is also a section for Gilera bikes, some race winners. Definitely worth the time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My 17 year old son couldn't bear looking at any more medieval churches, so to keep his face straight we decided to visit this museum as we were staying fairly close by. I expected to be bored rigid but was very pleasantly surprised. There was a fairly long but interesting film to give you a full background into the company, it's history and it's products - fortunately this had English subtitles. The scooters themselves were grouped into the unusual and then chronologically, which I thought made sense and signage was in both English and Italian. There could perhaps have been a little more explanation about some of them, for example, there was one titled "Blue Peter" which seemed to be something to do with the British children's programme but what the connection was wasn't clear.There was also a very well presented series of timelines and photos which gave further information on the company. Upstairs there was a display of the products of a company taken over by Piaggio. This was a little crowded and not so well explained, though that did not bother me as they were nowhere near as interesting as the Vespas. The museum also has a small but comprehensive shop. I had expected to spend about an hour there but it was over 2 hours before we left. My only criticism was there were not enough examples of the other products made by the company although there was one very attractive train at the entrance and a plane or two outside. But all in all a very good museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vespa”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Wow take the time to see the history of the vespa - it is a short walk from the train station in Pontedera - you can take the bus
from Buti to Pontedera

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucia0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelfranco Di Sotto, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting story of motorcycles”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

One can find interesting old historic models.
Lovely inside shop.
The staff should explain why the models are situated in that order and
the history of them

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pipalata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piaggio Museum also viewed

Pontedera, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piaggio Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing