We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Under the Tuscan sun…a gorgeous, tranquil stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom Around the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom
Around the house
Natural pool
The property in the evening
The bedroom
The bedroom
The living room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Park around the house
Pool at sunset
Hammock for your siesta
A glass of Brunello (with a sommelier advice from the owner if you want)
Around the house
Brunello di Montalcino
Around the house
Around the house
The twin bedroom
The ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Montalcino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
worlditra...
Princeton, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Under the Tuscan sun…a gorgeous, tranquil stay!”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Nestled in the seemingly endless and gorgeous UNESCO world heritage protected Tuscan hills of Val d’Orchia, you should definitely reach out and reserve this beautiful property rental, Fonte Aulente. It’s conveniently located just a few miles from town, this apartment is part of a converted 12 th century farmhouse. It is truly charming and comfortable, especially with a nice kitchen area to prepare a meal if you want to just stay in for the evening. It also has a beautiful garden setting, which features a swimming pool, hammocks and an outside table for dining. One of the owners, Alexandra, is also a sommelier, so this rental comes with an option to purchase some excellent Brunello wine selections for your own tasting/dining experience! (Note, if you are interested in wine tasting, ask Alexandra about her local wine tasting class, it was incredibly fun and informative!). We only stayed for 2 nights and wished we had spent more time there. Another impressive feature of Fonte Aulente was its amazing location. It was incredible to be outside in the quiet evenings and look up at such a clear and beautiful sky, full of bright stars. Then also be able to wake up in the morning and literally gaze across those rolling hills in the heart of Tuscany. If you are looking to truly experience Tuscany organically, minus a commercial or touristy feel, you should stay at Fonte Aulente. You won’t regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bucolic views
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian2005wi...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very well appointed apartment with beautiful views”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Alexandra provides a warm welcome and friendly and knowledgeable advice when you stay at her delightful old farmhouse with stunning views across the world heritage listed Val D'Orcia. The extensive grounds with an amazing natural swimming pool, complete with attached lily pond and frog colony, provides a wonderful extension to the spacious and well appointed apartment. Being a professional sommelier living in the middle of Brunello wine country, there's very little that Alexandra doesn't know about the local wines and vineyards to help you make the most of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly helpfulness and beautiful views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick36536...
Beckenham, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The views are exactly what you'd expect from the pictures (stunning) and the flat itself was really lovely. There's also loads of outside space for al fresco dinners and sunbathing.

The location's perfect too -- really close to beautiful Montalcino and right in the middle of the most beautiful place on earth, the Val d'Orcia.

And our hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Alexandra gave us loads of tips when we wanted to book a wine tasting and even called them up to book for us. Her husband greeted us when we arrived and made us feel really welcome too.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location to explore Val d'Orcia”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I spent the first few days of our honeymoon at Alexandra's beautiful apartment. It was a tranquil and beautiful place, tucked onto the hillside. Alexandra provided some useful recommendations of wineries to visit in the area. What we loved most about Fonte Aulente is the location. It is very close to Montalcino, of course, but it is also a short drive away from other beautiful towns such as Pienza, Montepulciano, Sant'Angelo in Colle and San Quirico--perfect if you are there to explore the sights and sounds of central Tuscany.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelaA...
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The perfect tuscan experience - truly romantic & extraordinary”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Alexandra's apartment for 4 nights and really loved it!!
Everything was simply perfect! The apartment is located in a separate part
of Alexandra's own house, situated in a very beautiful location on the hills
of Montalcino overlooking the wine yards. We woke up with the best view you
can imagine. There is no noise from roads or anything due to the perfect
location on the hill. There are no neighbours as well. Outside the
apartment a huge ground awaits you with beautiful flowers and scenery, and
best, with a natural swimming pool where we enjoyed a swim. The apartment
itself has lots of lovely details and is very cosy and spacious. The
equipment is perfect, the kitchen is fully equipped which was important to
us as we as well cooked our own dinner, using the herbs of her garden of
course. Alexandra is a perfect host, we enjoyed our daily chat with her,
Alexandra is fluent in French and English. She was always very helpful with
regards to any kind of advice like organizing a winery visit, explaining us
all about the area. She as well could organize wine tastings as she is a
sommeliere and knows all about wine.
All in all, the best Airbnb experience so far and we will definitely
return - you should try her place and meet Alexandra, her husband and the
kids!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The absolute peacefulness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyB38
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for three nights in this lovely spot and wished it could have been longer. Alexandra is a wonderful host and made our stay very comfortable. The apartment is beautifully furnished and functional, the outdoor cats are friendly, and I wished I'd realized there was a peacock earlier (because how often can you say you stayed at a place with a peacock in residence). We loved lingering over wine and cheese each evening, with a picture-perfect Tuscan valley spread out beneath us. My only warning is that the hill is very steep, so be prepared on your first drive up it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Montalcino experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Alexandra was one of the best hosts we have ever had at AirBNB. She is clearly dedicated to being a great host- every detail is considered. Her home is well decorated with a wonderful garden and natural pool - perfect for enjoying a bottle of wine she recommends you pick up in Montalcino up the road. She is a sommelier and can recommend good wine tours in the region. She also has a company called Select Tasting where she pairs food and wine. Unfortunately the schedule didnt work for us, otherwise, we would have loved to attend. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing