We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect tuscan experience - truly romantic...”
other travelers have booked this property
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom Around the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom
Around the house
Natural pool
The property in the evening
The bedroom
The bedroom
The living room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Park around the house
Pool at sunset
Hammock for your siesta
A glass of Brunello (with a sommelier advice from the owner if you want)
Around the house
Brunello di Montalcino
Around the house
Around the house
The twin bedroom
The ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Montalcino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
MichaelaA...
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The perfect tuscan experience - truly romantic & extraordinary”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Alexandra's apartment for 4 nights and really loved it!!
Everything was simply perfect! The apartment is located in a separate part
of Alexandra's own house, situated in a very beautiful location on the hills
of Montalcino overlooking the wine yards. We woke up with the best view you
can imagine. There is no noise from roads or anything due to the perfect
location on the hill. There are no neighbours as well. Outside the
apartment a huge ground awaits you with beautiful flowers and scenery, and
best, with a natural swimming pool where we enjoyed a swim. The apartment
itself has lots of lovely details and is very cosy and spacious. The
equipment is perfect, the kitchen is fully equipped which was important to
us as we as well cooked our own dinner, using the herbs of her garden of
course. Alexandra is a perfect host, we enjoyed our daily chat with her,
Alexandra is fluent in French and English. She was always very helpful with
regards to any kind of advice like organizing a winery visit, explaining us
all about the area. She as well could organize wine tastings as she is a
sommeliere and knows all about wine.
All in all, the best Airbnb experience so far and we will definitely
return - you should try her place and meet Alexandra, her husband and the
kids!!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The absolute peacefulness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NancyB38
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for three nights in this lovely spot and wished it could have been longer. Alexandra is a wonderful host and made our stay very comfortable. The apartment is beautifully furnished and functional, the outdoor cats are friendly, and I wished I'd realized there was a peacock earlier (because how often can you say you stayed at a place with a peacock in residence). We loved lingering over wine and cheese each evening, with a picture-perfect Tuscan valley spread out beneath us. My only warning is that the hill is very steep, so be prepared on your first drive up it!

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Montalcino experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Alexandra was one of the best hosts we have ever had at AirBNB. She is clearly dedicated to being a great host- every detail is considered. Her home is well decorated with a wonderful garden and natural pool - perfect for enjoying a bottle of wine she recommends you pick up in Montalcino up the road. She is a sommelier and can recommend good wine tours in the region. She also has a company called Select Tasting where she pairs food and wine. Unfortunately the schedule didnt work for us, otherwise, we would have loved to attend. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzalo T
1 review
“Excelent location, landscape view and great garden”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great time at Fonte Aulente during last april. The location and the landscape view excellent.
We had a very good experiencie there, our hosts were very kind and their recommendations were really useful.
The house is really ok and thr garden is simply incredible.
We hope we can come back!

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn G
Redding, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Alexandra is the perfect host. On arrival she told us about our lovely apartment - centuries old with a modern addition. It was clean and bright, everything was carefully chosen to blend with the antique surroundings and still be up to date. The views were amazing from every aspect of the large property with wonderful blooming trees and flowers. Alexandra explained the country path we took from the house to the top of Montalchino and suggested local trips we thoroughly enjoyed. All was capped off by a wine and food pairing lesson by Alexandra who is a professional sommelier. It was a perfect stay. Even the outdoor cats made us feel welcome.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property and view.
Liked least: It was all wonderful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana R
Amli, Norway
1 review
“Amazing experience! Incredible place!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The place is incredibly beautiful, amazing view and perfectly located. We enjoyed Montalcino and travelled to several towns in Toscana with the great advantage of staying in such a great place.
The suite is clean and tidy and has everything one might need for the days the trip could last.
Alexandra is a marvelous host! Even before we arrive to Fonte Aulente, Alexandra was very kind and helpful with us. She gave us good tips on what to do during our stay and was more than lovely with us. Her being so sweet and friendly made us feel comfortable and like at home.
We could only say that the Wifi didn't work too well....but then again, who needs Wifi in Montalcino? :)
We are definitely staying in Fonte Aulente next time we go to Toscana. Totally recommended!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the friendly host
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ26
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan hideaway surrounded by beautiful countryside”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We loved our stay at Fonte Aulente. The location couldn't be better - less than a 5 minute drive from the centre of Montalcino. The suite is surrounded by beautiful views - we loved waking up in the morning and opening up the bedroom window on to the wonderful view of the Val D'Orcia. It's perfect for two people, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom - and everything is done in a rustic style, but has all the mod-cons.
Alexandra is the perfect host - she always went out of her way to answer our questions and provided fantastic recommendations for how best to enjoy this beautiful region.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing