We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful spot”
other travelers have booked this property
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom Around the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The view from your bedroom at sunrise
The bedroom
Around the house
Natural pool
The property in the evening
The bedroom
The bedroom
The living room
Kitchen
Bedroom
Park around the house
Pool at sunset
Hammock for your siesta
A glass of Brunello (with a sommelier advice from the owner if you want)
Around the house
Brunello di Montalcino
Around the house
Around the house
The twin bedroom
The ensuite bathroom
The ensuite bathroom
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
Around the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Montalcino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
NancyB38
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for three nights in this lovely spot and wished it could have been longer. Alexandra is a wonderful host and made our stay very comfortable. The apartment is beautifully furnished and functional, the outdoor cats are friendly, and I wished I'd realized there was a peacock earlier (because how often can you say you stayed at a place with a peacock in residence). We loved lingering over wine and cheese each evening, with a picture-perfect Tuscan valley spread out beneath us. My only warning is that the hill is very steep, so be prepared on your first drive up it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Montalcino experience”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Alexandra was one of the best hosts we have ever had at AirBNB. She is clearly dedicated to being a great host- every detail is considered. Her home is well decorated with a wonderful garden and natural pool - perfect for enjoying a bottle of wine she recommends you pick up in Montalcino up the road. She is a sommelier and can recommend good wine tours in the region. She also has a company called Select Tasting where she pairs food and wine. Unfortunately the schedule didnt work for us, otherwise, we would have loved to attend. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzalo T
1 review
“Excelent location, landscape view and great garden”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great time at Fonte Aulente during last april. The location and the landscape view excellent.
We had a very good experiencie there, our hosts were very kind and their recommendations were really useful.
The house is really ok and thr garden is simply incredible.
We hope we can come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn G
Redding, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Alexandra is the perfect host. On arrival she told us about our lovely apartment - centuries old with a modern addition. It was clean and bright, everything was carefully chosen to blend with the antique surroundings and still be up to date. The views were amazing from every aspect of the large property with wonderful blooming trees and flowers. Alexandra explained the country path we took from the house to the top of Montalchino and suggested local trips we thoroughly enjoyed. All was capped off by a wine and food pairing lesson by Alexandra who is a professional sommelier. It was a perfect stay. Even the outdoor cats made us feel welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property and view.
Liked least: It was all wonderful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana R
Amli, Norway
1 review
“Amazing experience! Incredible place!”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The place is incredibly beautiful, amazing view and perfectly located. We enjoyed Montalcino and travelled to several towns in Toscana with the great advantage of staying in such a great place.
The suite is clean and tidy and has everything one might need for the days the trip could last.
Alexandra is a marvelous host! Even before we arrive to Fonte Aulente, Alexandra was very kind and helpful with us. She gave us good tips on what to do during our stay and was more than lovely with us. Her being so sweet and friendly made us feel comfortable and like at home.
We could only say that the Wifi didn't work too well....but then again, who needs Wifi in Montalcino? :)
We are definitely staying in Fonte Aulente next time we go to Toscana. Totally recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the friendly host
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ26
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect Tuscan hideaway surrounded by beautiful countryside”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We loved our stay at Fonte Aulente. The location couldn't be better - less than a 5 minute drive from the centre of Montalcino. The suite is surrounded by beautiful views - we loved waking up in the morning and opening up the bedroom window on to the wonderful view of the Val D'Orcia. It's perfect for two people, fully equipped kitchen and bathroom - and everything is done in a rustic style, but has all the mod-cons.
Alexandra is the perfect host - she always went out of her way to answer our questions and provided fantastic recommendations for how best to enjoy this beautiful region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie...
Waltham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property, amazing views, amazing host!”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time staying at Alexandra's property. The suite was beautiful, with lovely antiques and decor, and attached to a beautiful 12th century villa. We had access to the pool and a lovely outdoor dining area, which I imagine would have been amazing if we weren't there in winter. Still, we brought a couple of glasses of Brunello out to the garden area to look at the stars. The views are absolutely perfect even in winter. It was less than 5 minutes to downtown Montalcino, which is a classic Tuscan hill town. Most importantly, I can't say enough about Alexandra. She gave some great restaurant and winery recommendations, and showed us a great hike into town. In January, many wineries are closed for the month, which we learned the hard way. We also didn't reach out to vineyards far enough in advance for private tastings (ALWAYS call for an appointment, it's not like Napa/Sonoma!) We told Alexandra about this and she made a call to a great local winery (Poggio Antico) and got us an appointment. She is a wonderful host! I cannot say enough about our experience.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing