We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nirvana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This was the last place we visited as part of our honeymoon, and it was by far the best. The hotel was secluded, intimate, and had great staff. You are free to either enjoy the nearby grounds, or to explore all that the region has to offer. If exploring, a car is a must. The hotel itself was spotless, comfortable, and had every luxury amenity a discerning traveler could want. We will definitely return and would recommend it highly for seasoned travelers looking for a quiet, little piece of heaven in the tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioDatteroni, Hospitality Director at Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2009

Thank You!!
We look forward to welcoming you again to our Estate.
Best regards.
Fabio Datteroni
Hospitality Director
Castello Banfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 426 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2009

Il Borgo at Castello Banfi was exactly what we needed after our 2 week trek through Italy. The surrounding vineyards are beautiful and the staff was absolutely wonderful. The only bummer about our stay there.... was that it was only 1 night. Looking back at our trip, we wished that we could have stayed another night or two.
Would highly suggest scheduling a tour of the vineyards and processing facility. Defiantly much different than any of the other wineries that we visited during our trip. Additionally, it is well worth your time and money to enjoy a meal or two at La Taverna restaurant.
The service that we received while we were there was top notch. The staff treated us very well and even upgraded our room. Thank you to Andrea for all of his help during our booking process and during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seyah09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Stayed here for our honeymoon back in July and have been meaning to write a review. Amazing hotel which was an 11th century castle converted into a luxury hotel room. We stayed in a suite (highly recommend) and had a 5 course wine tasting meal included in our rate. Rented bikes and rode around the massive 7,000 acre vineyard. Did the wine tour, drove to the fort in the main part of town and tasted a ton of great Brunellos. Stay here if you want the true Tuscan experience, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank International_Baller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Delightful accommodations at Il Borgo and wonderful food at La Taverna, in an unbelievable setting. Castello Banfi is a 12th century castle perched on a high hill surrounded by seemingly endless vineyards and olive groves. It's a very quiet, romantic getaway spot. A couple of reviewers seem not to have done their homework before they booked. But if you want genuine peace and quiet in an idyllic scene, this is the place. My wife and I have visited a great many fine hotels in numerous countries, but this is as good as it gets. Try the great little restaurant in nearby Sant' Angelo in Colle - Trattoria Il Leccio. Plenty of fun in Montalcino, Paenze and other nearby towns, too.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streamborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is a fantastic place -- a true escape from the outside world, about a 25-minute drive from the beautiful town of Montalcino. The resort is peaceful and lovely, and we loved staying here. There are 14 hotel rooms located in the former Borgo, or company town buildings, associated with the Banfi vineyards. The Castello, or castle, sits atop a hill surrounded by 21,000 acres of Banfi property, about 9,000 of which are active vineyards and fruit and olive orchards. Adjacent the Castello are the old stone Borgo buildings. We had a huge, charming room with ceiling beams, deep stone windowsills, working wooden shutters, and tile floors. There was even a tiny study with vine-covered windows overlooking the countryside. The immense bathroom was as big as the bedroom; it had double sinks, a large tub, and a spacious glassed-in shower. Since this is a working vineyard, all the wine, champagne, and water in the mini-bar were FREE! There was also a nightly happy hour up at the Castello that we never managed to attend.

Breakfast was served under canvas umbrellas on a patio at the end of one of the Borgo buildings. There was a small but nice buffet with fresh fruit and baked goods, and hot items could also be ordered.

Our favorite part of the resort was the serene swimming pool situated above the vineyard-covered slopes. Fruit trees shaded the lounge chairs, flowers hung over the stone walls, and the old stone pool house offered complimentary self-serve cocktails and beverages in two mini-refrigerators. Poolside waiter service was also available -- we just called from the phone in the pool house, and food and a chilled bottle of wine were quickly delivered. We were the only people there each afternoon; others arrived at about 5:00, so up until that time we had the entire pool to ourselves.

The restaurant at the Castello, La Taverna, is casual but good with a rather meat-intensive Tuscan menu (lots of pork dishes) and excellent Brunello wines. Wine-tasting and tours of the Banfi factory are very worthwhile.

We found this to be a truly outstanding place to stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

If you are looking to become a nun or a monk, this place is for you. There is NO HUMAN INTERACTION at all. We felt as though the end of the world had come and we were the last humans alive. This is not a welcoming place. There is absolutely NOTHING to do here and you are quite far from civilization. Besides the vineyards being pretty to look at and take a few pictures, a 10 minute stay is all that's needed. We have stayed at many high end hotels, and there simply needs to be more "life" to this place. Even a complimentary shuttle to the nearby village would have been a nice touch (and a welcome diversion) Seems more thought has gone into the interior decorating than anything else.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Moishepupik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioDatteroni, Hospitality Director at Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2009

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
thank you for posting your comments on Castello Banfi.
We are very sorry that you have not enjoyed our property and its offerings.
You are completely right, we are not in the High Street of a crowded city centre with shops and boutiques and thousands of people walking around. We are in a piece of heaven, in the gorgeous Tuscan country side of the famous Brunello's wine region. Castello Banfi offers to visitors the opportunity to walk in the old times of its Medieval Castle, its Museum of Glass with antiques glasses referred to the 5th century BC to nowadays, a beautiful Enoteca-Wine Bar where a tasting of all the etiquettes we produces is leaded by an expert sommelier beside the selling of all our wines and locally produced handcrafted works, our restaurant is a typical Tuscan Taverna that serves local dishes of the Tuscan cooking traditions. Since March 2007 we also restored a 18t century village nestled against the Castle's walls where a magnificent Resort offers a high end accommodation with a la carte Tuscan Breakfast, spacious rooms and Suites and an infinity pool overlooking the valley and the mountains that surrounds our property. A reading room with comfortable sofas and a large selection of books is available for the Hotel guests for a relaxing time in front of a magnificent fire place lighted during the cold days.
Guided visit to our winery are available 7 days a week during the high season (5 days a week in the short low season).
In few minutes by car (we always warmly suggest to have a car or we can arrange transportation with our concierge) there are nice villages to visit or we can arrange bikes, in room massage, horse back riding, hot air ballooning, Ferrari rental, Cooking-classes, Wine tasting, day of half day trips.
I really hope to have another occasion to host you at Castello Banfi and let you enjoy our Hospitality Offerings.
Best regards
Fabio Datteroni
Castello Banfi
Montalcino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th anniversary at Castello Banfi. I must say, it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Gorgeous scenery, beautiful rooms and incredible service. They could not have done anything more to enhance our visit to Tuscany!
It is an extremely quiet place, rarely more than 5 or 6 people walking around. The breakfast is delicous...they knew exactly how we wanted our coffee and opened early every am to accomodate...the front desk clerk even opened the restaurant on the last day to make our coffee early.
The library is very relaxing for your afternoon glass of wine and we loved the views from the pool. I took an early morning walk one morning...I will never forget it!
The staff bent over backwards to make our tours, restaurant reservations....anything we needed...they were right there....doing anything they could to help us.
It was absolutely the best vacation of my life...go there if you possibly can.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabioDatteroni, Hospitality Director at Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2009

Thank You!!!
Best regards.
Fabio Datteroni
Hospitality Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.0 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
666 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
5.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
21.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
715 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range: $655 - $1,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 2 Deluxe Rooms and 12 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing