We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Castello Banfi is a magical place nestled in the hills of Tuscany. The 14 rooms are located in a castle on the winery and have vast views of gorgeous vineyards and green rolling hills. The food is amazing. For dinner, the 5 course wine pairing dinner at the Taverna is a must. It gives you the opportunity to sample the wide range of Banfi wines, all the way from the Rosso di Montalcino to the Brunello di Montalcino along with their own BelNero blend among others. The wine tasting at the Enoteca is a fun way to taste the differences in their range of wines. I would suggest doing the wine tour prior to the tasting so you can see and understand all the love that goes into producing the wine. Their generous breakfast includes fresh pastries, cheeses, meats, eggs and fruit. Make sure to taste the aged balsamic Salsa Etrusca...a delicious delicacy! Lunch is available as well or can be brought to you at the pool. You might not expect this in Italy, but my husband even said it was the best Turkey Club Sandwich he has ever had!

The service at the hotel was excellent and the staff was always friendly and willing to provide directions or make reservations. The pool is calming and private with breathtaking views. We slept great all 3 nights as it was always quiet, the air conditioning worked perfectly and probably because our 2 young children were not with us! At first we were disappointed that the gym barely exists, but then again.. who really works out on vacation? Plus there are miles to walk on surrounding the vineyards if you want to go for a long walk or run. Most of the time we were busy visiting other places in the area. The town of Montalcino is charming and it is fun to do the Brunello tasting in the fortress, followed by dinner in town. Montalcino is about 25 minutes away and Pienza, another lovely medieval town, is about 40 minutes away. Castello Banfi is a bit challenging to find so make sure you enter Poggio alle Mura into your GPS. This place should be on everyone's bucket list!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tebNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 436 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I were married 30 years in February so I planned a surprise destination to Montalcino in April this year. I booked 5 days in Montalcino which were truely fantastic. I told my wife that we could call in to the Banfi winery on our way home to the airport!! Little did she know I had booked three nights in the Banfi Estate. We have travelled to different parts of Italy over the past 7 years and loved every moment but this was by far the best experience of our lives. The room hotel and winery were fantastic. We felt at home. We had the 5 course tasting menu with wine on our second night, this was the best dining experience we have ever had and we have been to three Michelin star restaurants before. The breakfast each morning was sensational! Our room and especially the bathroom were huge. The staff in the wine tasting room are so friendly and helpful.i could not fault this beautiful place and long to go back there again ,hopefully next year. I drove for the first time in Italy just to get to this place and it was so worth it! Believe me this place is certainly worth a visit and stay! Heaven !!

Room Tip: No matter what room you get you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murtydore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only for one night, and we would need at least 3 to explore the region properly. The hotel is super romantic, with extra large rooms and above average service for Italian patterns. The restaurant is excellent. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cs0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been at the Castello di Banfi for 3 nights, touring this beautiful region of Italy. The hotel is an annex of the Banfi winery, one of the regions largest winemakers, and that influence is obvious. A small Borgo of 14 rooms and very quiet with a variety of nationalities visiting at the time. The hotel is positioned atop a hill and provides wonderful vies of the country side. The room is large comfortable and well presented. The restaurant provides excellent dining at reasonable prices with the expected comprehensive wine list. It is a peaceful and relaxing environment. Staff, while attentive and friendly are unobtrusive. A perfect place to enjoy the delights of Montalcino and the region, one of the most delightful in Italy.

Room Tip: If a stay of a few days is planned in the region, a vehicle is essential. The rooms have spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came to Castello Banfi for 3 amazing nights on our honeymoon. It was our favorite part of our honeymoon. The hotel and the winery are amazing. The staff are so friendly and accomodating, the room was beautiful (we were upgraded for our honeymoon), the food was excellent, the pool was beautiful and the whole experience was amazing. We did the cook and stay package and were lucky enough to have a cooking class with Chef Dominico. He was funny, nice and helped us cook a delicious four course meal which we then ate with wine pairings. The dinners at the Taverna were excellent and the host/head waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and fun to talk to. The breakfasts every morning were delicious and complementary wine is abundant on the property. The tour of the winery and the tasting were also fantastic. The views of Tuscany are breathtaking. I really don't have anything negative to say about this amazing place. If you are thinking of going, do yourself a favor and book. We are hoping to come back for anniversaries in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atbrown629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Castello Banfi for 3 glorious days in June. The place is amazing. The rooms are huge and the beds are out of this world comfortable. The staff is very helpful in everyway. The view of Tuscany from the grounds is breathtaking, especially at sunset. This is a great place to explore the Brunello wines, starting in their tasting room and then touring the region.

Best to drive to the hotel and have a car for use, but we managed by having the Hotel pick us up from Florence and they were able to have a rental car delivered to us at the hotel.

The restaurant on the property is outstanding. Their 5 course dinner paired with wine was one of the best meals we have ever had.

This is a very expensive place to stay , which leads one to have very high expectations and they exceeded all of them. It is the perfect Tuscany experience. A Slice of heaven

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munro1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay a couple of nights in an amazing room (San Angelo) which was overlooking the rose garden as part of a driving holiday. Room was split over three levels and beautifully decorated.
We dined in both La Taverna and the more formal restaurant and experienced some wonderful food and wine. Canapes and wine were also served in the library area. We were able to have breakfast outside on one of the mornings as the weather was in our favour. The grounds and buildings are spectacular with stunning views.
Service was exceptional throughout with many extras included and look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Bathroom in San Angelo room was brilliant but only had a shower which suited us perfectly. Also as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.0 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
677 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
6.3 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
153 reviews
21.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
727 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range: $554 - $1,179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 2 Deluxe Rooms and 12 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing