We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay a couple of nights in an amazing room (San Angelo) which was overlooking the rose garden as part of a driving holiday. Room was split over three levels and beautifully decorated.
We dined in both La Taverna and the more formal restaurant and experienced some wonderful food and wine. Canapes and wine were also served in the library area. We were able to have breakfast outside on one of the mornings as the weather was in our favour. The grounds and buildings are spectacular with stunning views.
Service was exceptional throughout with many extras included and look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Bathroom in San Angelo room was brilliant but only had a shower which suited us perfectly. Also as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MO007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
237
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BUENOS AIRES
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Right in the middle of italian Tuscany (la Toscana) not far away from the ancient Montalcino city, is located Castello Banfi (Castello di Poggio alle Mura) where we stayed three nights.
We were in one of the just 14 rooms it has, number 15, named Excelsus. An appartment with bedroom living room and two enormous bathrooms (each the size of a reasonable appartment bedroom about 20/25 sq meters. Is a recently renewed construction with fabulous views to the vineyards, exceptional service from the reception, the people at the restaurant, those who carry the luggage and the guides of the winery tour. Everybody speaking english, some of them also spanish all of them directed by a Spanish guy from Mallorca, Juan Miquel, exceptional manager with whom we talk several times. We dined all the three nights to avoid driving to and from Montalcino in the night. The food was very good but maybe they need more options to satisfy returning clients. All that paired with their exceptional wines like Brunellos de Montalcino or SuperTuscans. An experience to recomend and repeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had the most amazing visit at Castello Banfi. We highly recommend doing the tasting dinner at the restaurant, they match wonderful wines with delicious dishes. The tour of the Banfi winery was also great, and the wine tasting. The staff was stupendious, answered all our questions, arranged visits to other wineries, dinners, and day trips. There is tea at 4 and wine at 6. Breakfast was delicious. The entire stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: Everything at Castello Banfi was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tish1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We didn't want to leave Castelllo Banfi. What a wonderful, peaceful place. A perfect location to return after daily road trips to villages and hilltop towns. Every morning we took long walks along the vineyards - discovering a hidden old farmhouse, lakes and a friendly donkey. We found the staff very helpful and courteous and the restaurant was excellent. The best location in Tuscany to relax and enjoy - an anniversary to remember.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Everything at Castello Banfi is done with the comfort of the guests in mind. The design and decoration of the rooms is beautiful, and it all retains the character of Tuscany - we absolutely loved it. We strolled around the grounds, visited the glass museum, and relaxed in the reading room. Everything was perfect.

We did the tasting menu in the restaurant and were impressed with the food, the wines and the service. The breakfast, with eggs cooked to order, was a rarity in Italy.

I can't imagine that anyone would ever find reason to be disappointed in any aspect of the facilities or services at Castello Banfi. It was our final stop before returning to Rome to fly home, and I couldn't have asked for a better end to our 3 1/2 weeks in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 225Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved Castello Banfi. We stayed four nights at the beginning of a three week holiday in Italy. Our room number 37 "Principessa", was a free standing building with a large bedroom, separate sitting room with table and chairs and a very spacious bathroom ( shower only). The bedroom and bath had large windows with beautiful views of the valley below.

We found the food to be excellent. We had their five course "Tuscan" dinner with wine pairing. With all that food and wine it was a challenge just to finish. Luckily we only had to walk a short distance back to our room. We also ate lunch there and had one other dinner at the hotel restaurant.

The property is situated on about 7,000 acres of vineyards, olive trees and forested land and we took walks everyday down the roads that cut through the property. There was an olive tree in the middle of the guest parking lot that I was told was over 300 hundred years old! Although the property is located in the quiet country side, there are several dining options close by so your not confined to eating at the hotel every night nor do you have to drive all the way into Montalcino for a meal. The village of San Angelo in Colle is about 15 minutes away and has two really nice restaurants. There is a small village just at the bottom of the hill from the hotel that has one nice local restaurant where we had an excellent pizza. However, this property is so tranquil and beautiful that staying on the property is a good option.

We hope to return to Castello Banfi again someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Now this is called a property and experience combination...truly world class...
It's expensive but worth every penny
If you get a chance ....don't hesitate to stay in the middle of nowhere cause this is world class in every way

Room Tip: Any room is good but the first floor ones better cause of view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NimishK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.0 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
6.3 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Property: Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing