We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great place, fantastic property. We stayed in the Florus room and it was one of the best hotel rooms we have stayed in. Castello Banfi is hedonistic luxury. The ambience is great, the views are superb, the restaurant classy and of course - wines, wines and more wines.
The tasting experience was very good and we found some real good wines to take home back with us.
We also took a tour of the winery and were amazed to see the scale of production of wines at Banfi.
Overall, as someone on this page has said, it can be said to be to Disney of the wine world :-)

Room Tip: We loved the Florus room. Luxurious, comfortable, fantastic views and one of the biggest bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
245
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Castello Banfi in Montalcino. We have stayed at many of the best resorts in the world and this is now one of them. The facilities are beautiful, the staff was incredible and the food and wine were also wonderful. This is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hornplayer1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I had one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had! Castellow Banfi is an amazingly romantic place. The staff is incredible. And the food and wine are wonderful. We could not have asked for a better romantic getaway...and we have traveled all over the world. We would highly recommend staying here, enjoying the natural beauty, the accommodations, the staff, the food and the wine!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, we would recommend asking for a room with a view. You will not be disapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

While many reviewers have lauded the setting, the service and the wine - all of which are superb - our fondest memory of Castello Banfi will always be the hours we spent cooking with Chef Samuele Scinardo. His cuisine is delightful in the restaurant, but his delightful, patient personality makes even the clumsiest cook achieve greatness. He guided us through the preparation of a four course meal, and then we got to eat it accompanied by the appropriate Banfi wines, of course. It was simply terrific and we'd do it again in a heartbeat! Thank you, Samuele!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teton33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

BEAUTIFUL place, literally a little piece of Heaven
Fantastic rooms
Location is super cool and so so beautiful
Service is really good
Just breakfast a little bit "quiet" but good enough to start the day
Lunch & dinner great restaurant, great service
Wine, so so

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizaster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful property twice during this trip. After the disappointment of arriving in a touristy Florence we phoned up the wonderful staff at Banfi and returned for a second stay the following day. We booked a Spring Special consisting of the Suite and Breakfast, a sumptuous Tuscan Tasting Feast, and Wine tasting / Winery tour. We actually as a result experienced the special twice!

The actual property is 7000 acres as Banfi now is the largest winery in the area. (noted comment by Lotsofpepper about the Mariani's owning too much of Brunello Territory) There is the option to hike over their spectacular property with stupendous views, sights of deer, rabbits, and even wild boar. The food was spectacular both in the Taverna and the Sumptuous Tuscan Breakfasts.. The highlight of breakfast being small custard filled home made "donuts" fruit tarts and made to order omelettes. Dinners too were spectacular.

Thanks to Marco our waiter, and Andreas the hospitality manager for facilitating both of our visits.

A word to those trying to get to Banfi... MAKE SURE YOU HAVE AN ACCURATE GPS... It is almost impossible to find without one!

Room Tip: There are only 14 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labellegoulue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaiatuba, SP
Level Contributor
327 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

amazing,fantastic experience in castello banfi il borgo,staff very very friendly,rooms big,excellent and confortable.
breakfest very good,you must try castelo banfi once if you visit tuscany
swimming pool medium,may be because now is winter,but a little dirty your area,could be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.0 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
6.3 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
21.6 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 39 in Siena
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Property: Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 9 Rooms & 5 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing