We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

What a terrific property right on the Banfi winery site. Terrific, helpful staff. Great morning breakfasts included. Treat yourself to a lunch or a dinner at their Taverna restaurant. The room was LARGE and fantastic. The staff knows how to treat guests and they are there when you need them and very professional. A perfect place for a romantic honeymoon or special celebration.

Room Tip: 14 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowFtLaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 446 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

It's my personal and all time favorite. A little heaven on earth in the heart of Tuscany. A truly wonderful location, a historic site, delicious food, very good wine from the estate, and a great team.

We have been there 3 times by now (2009 - 2010 - 2011). We had different rooms each time we went there, all with their own style and charm. Excellent every time.

We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCCGBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of our 25th wedding anniversary trip to Italy. We had high expectations and they were met. The setting is incredible (especially the pool), the rooms are spacious and lovely (although for some inexplicable reason we did not have a bureau in our room), and the staff friendly and helpful. Given the small number of rooms, you are barely aware of other guests. The restaurant, La Taverna, is excellent. The only caveat to staying here for more than a few days is that, as far as we could tell, there are no nearby dining options other than La Taverna. Regardless, Il Borgo is a unique place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Il Borgo was everything we were expecting it to be! Our room was fantastic - it was in a group of 14 rooms converted out of the castle's old servants quarters. The pool and breakfast areas were gorgeous and amazing views were available from all points of the property. The castle itself has a library for the patrons use, a lovely restaurant and a historic glass museum. Everything was excellent, including our special wine tour of the Banfi winery operation. The enoteca on site was excellent too. The staff looked after us very well. We would recommend Il Borgo without question!

Room Tip: Book through a Virtuoso agent to get a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We love this castle; it is wonderful in all aspects. You will be treated like you suppose to, a five stars care. The suites are built to meet all your stay needs. We stayed at suite #29, because that what was available. It was spacious with all luxury amenities. Next time we will stay at suite#33, which is smaller but the view is unobstructed. The sunset there is breath talking, do not miss it. The pool area is picturesque. The breakfast is very delicious, especially the il borgo omelet... Try it. This spot is our favorite in Tuscany area; we plan to stay there whenever we visit the area, hopefully yearly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio D, Direttore at Castello Banfi - Il Borgo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2011

Good afternoon,
me, and ALL the Staff members, would like to express the warmest THANK YOU for the kind words of appreciation for our dedicated work to make each single stay of each of our more than Welcome Guests the best and the most Extraordinary Tuscan Experience at Castello Banfi.
Warmest regards
Fabio Datteroni
Hospitality Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This 800 year old castle-winery sits amid 7000 acres of beauty and serenity. Spacious rooms, delightful breakfast patio, and dinners in the dining room or on the terrace were a thing of beauty. It is remote and our rental car did not have a GPS....note to self: Take your own! But, we have those now laughable memories of getting lost!. It is expensive, but it is a treasure.

Room Tip: Only 14 rooms, only saw two, but I bet they are all really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoeLakeTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We arrived at Castello Banfi after a drive from the busyness of Rome. We were so taken back by the beauty and tranquility of the property. The views of the vineyards and hills are stunning! We had a beautifully appointed room with an extremely large bathroom. These are a few extras that we really appreciated: the complimentary half bottle of Banfi brunello, as well as the Banfi sparkling wines and bottled waters in the fridge (replenished daily), complimentary soft drinks and water available by the pool; nice breakfast buffet and a made to order menu; and free wi-fi. One would say these things should be included for the price that you pay, but our experience has taught us that it isn't necessarily so, unfortunately. Mostly we appreciated the staff and the service - excellent! After driving around all day to Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, we loved returning to Banfi in the evening. We ate dinner each night on the lovely, candlelit terrace. The service at dinner was outstanding and everything we ordered was delicious! Dinner was a thoroughly enjoyable experience! Our stay at Castello Banfi was a highlight of our two week trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank member63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
704 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
5.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Aia Mattonata Relais
Aia Mattonata Relais
#1 of 40 in Siena
736 reviews
6.3 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Banfi - Il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Address: Poggio Alle Mura | Sant'Angelo Scalo, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range: $708 - $1,423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Banfi - Il Borgo 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Wine Resort in the famous Brunello di Montalcino Wine Region-Extraordinary Countryside Tuscan Experience-Nestled against a Medieval Castle located in the middle of a privately owned 7100 acres Nice&professional staff very knowledgeable of the best attractions of the area-Extremely large bedrooms and bathrooms, both with great views-Very Exclusive Property consisting of only 2 Deluxe Rooms and 12 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Castello Banfi - Il Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Hotel Montalcino
Castello Banfi Il Borgo Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing