We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good breakfast, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel dei Capitani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel dei Capitani
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great view, good breakfast, friendly staff”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

It was my second visit and my friend's third visit. We were about to start our walk to Viterbo. Although the rooms are quite small and simple, they are perfectly adequate. It is the location and views that are outstanding. As it was the end of April (Easter Sunday)!the pool was still out of action but I did swim in it the last time. Breakfast was very good with a generous selection of sweet and savoury. The staff we met were engaging and very helpful. Would very willingly stay there again. As this was part of a package deal with ATG the walking company we couldn't assess individual value

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms outside and 'above' the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellioth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    198
    57
    17
    12
See reviews for
51
246
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband I spent 4 nights here on our honeymoon in Oct 2013. The view from our room was amazing - I really enjoyed drinking wine and eating baked goods from the bakery while looking at the view.

Breakfast was typical. Meat, cheese, fruit, yogurt etc.

It was steps away from a few really good restaurants and included parking for our rental car. I would stay here again. Always ask for a room with a view!

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverKimYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic view of the hills of Tuscany. Other than that, it's pretty average. The staff didn't seem that interested in helping the guests. They weren't exactly rude but it just seemed like they were into customer service. The breakfast was not good. I would not stay there again if I ever went back to Montacino. Rooms were noisy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
264 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was my fourth time stay at the mom and pop style hotel. The location of the hotel continues to be its strength. The view from the room is quite enchanting. Breakfast room is relaxing with a lovely view of the valley although the food variety is minimal, as is the service. Internet is free but can be irritatingly slow in the room-signals are better in the lobby. Staff is extremely polite and likes to be very helpful. Located on the extreme side of the city center, there is a steep climb from the hotel to the main street so people with infirmities might find it difficult to negotiate. On the positive side, the car can take you the hotel and parking is possible. The bathroom is small with the bare minimum amenities available.

Room Tip: Make sure the view of the valley comes with the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineguyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights during our self-guided hiking tour of Tuscany. We were a little disappointed that the pool was closed for renovation as we were really looking forward to it after the long hike. The views from this hotel are stunning, especially in the morning. We chose the "comfort level" for our hiking tour so our room overlooked the street in front of the hotel and unfortunately was right over the main entrance ...so quite late into the evening we heard the front auto-opening door open and close. The room was rather plain, but it was comfortable and clean. It did have a mini bar which we appreciated for keeping waters cold.

Hotel dei Capitani is located a very short walk from the center of town. The breakfast was probably one of the better ones we had in Tuscany and the variety of options was nice and the staff was friendly. The front desk reception staff was also very helpful & friendly. I appreciated that they all spoke a few different languages, including English.

For this price point, we certainly would recommend Hotel dei Capitani.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BnRadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here as the first leg in our walking tour of the Tuscan hill towns. Room was clean and very nicely set up with a good sized bath. The bed was in a loft area that required 10-12 stairs to reach - bath is on the first floor. Staff were friendly and professional. As noted in other reviews, you have an expansive view of the Tuscan countryside from the downstairs sitting room and outside terrace. Town is a short, but fairly steep walk up to the main street. There is a small, charming children's park at the top of the hill. All the shops, restaurants and attractions are with a 5 - 10+ minute walk. Breakfast at the hotel gave you several choices of the normal breakfast foods and beverages. Exploring the town in the early morning and later in the evening (outside the normal tourist hours) really adds to the charm. We recommend the hotel as one that gives you good service, great views and a clean basic room for a good value.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem - check with hotel first about the floor location of your room and if the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent two nights here and found it centrally located, comfortable and quiet. Sitting on the terrace in the evening was heaven. The hotel staff were very helpful and the house wine was excellent. They offer a large selection of foods for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginacat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
1.1 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#10 of 17 in Montalcino
135 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Capitani

Property: Hotel dei Capitani
Address: Via Lapini 6, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Capitani 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in part of the eighteenth-century “Catasto Leopoldino” in the historic centre of Montalcino. The rooms at the back afford a splendid view, taking in the Val d’Orcia and the Val d’Arbia.Opening out onto this backdrop is a large, panoramic garden, where a swimming pool has been created to resemble a medieval fountain.In the remaining rooms, some of which are laid out on two levels, you can breathe in the typical atmosphere of an ancient Tuscan village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel dei Capitani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Capitani Hotel
Dei Capitani Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing