We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unfriendly and disinterested reception staff”
Review of Hotel dei Capitani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel dei Capitani
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly and disinterested reception staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is very dark and has very small rooms. The thing we disliked the most is the guy in reception. His attitude is you are bothering me, why are you here. He is not a people person and his unfriendly, arrogant, disinterested attitude puts a flavour to the whole stay at the hotel.
I would not recommend this place nor would I return to it

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Normu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
I'm sorry that your experience was so terrifying. I beg your pardon for this because it is right to do so. In Italy we say that the customer is always right. Maybe you've been too hard with the guy in the reception, maybe he did not want to be rude and maybe it was very busy.
If you really have been our guest, as I certainly have not seen him only, (Normally, you can see other reviews mentioned a very highly of him) so I'm wondering if we have changed the entire staff and I would not be realized. I do not want to defend anyone, and I'm here to apologize, maybe I would have preferred to be able to apologize personally and maybe explain if necessary.
Have already said that it is humanly impossible to make everybody happy, with you we did not succeed. You said you will not come, I tell you that you could do it and you may change your mind.
Wishing you the best
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    198
    57
    17
    12
See reviews for
51
246
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

There cannot possibly be a better view of Tuscany than from our room (202 I think). Small balcony- we opened doors and placed two chairs almost out on it to soak in all the golden light and hills. Nice sitting room. So great to walk the town after dinner and be close to the hotel. Breakfast great, nice staff who dealt pleasantly with a cranky guest who did not want to sit outside but the breakfast room full, outdoors was what we wanted so no problem for us. Unloading right in front of hotel, parking close. Swimming pool too cold, would agree with reviewer suggesting alternative glassware to sit by pool and enjoy the brunello wines from the region. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Location In town very good, room with view worth every euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGators2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sirs,
We're almost at the end of this season. I say this with a sense of pride that we are very happy as we passed. We have had many lovely guests and we do everything to do our utmost. I recognize that is not easy and sometimes we make mistakes. Certainly like your comment does not let us become arrogant but gives us the charge to be even more careful.
The Persons like you are the oxygen to our days
many many thanks
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel itself is nice but we wouldn't stay here again unless we had a room with a view. The non view room on the first floor was adequate and clean but cramped and got a lot of noise from the lobby. The pool area and patio have great views and is shady in the afternoon. Parking was actually in a public lot 2-3 blocks away but was advertised as "parking available". Dropped off bags at the door. The person who checked us in spoke English but was not very helpful in describing the amenities or layout of the hotel.
Once we found out there was a breakfast buffet we found it to be very good with fantastic fruit. The server was friendly and helpful and the view from the terrace was incredible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comment.
I'm sorry you did not get the room with a view but it is also true that you booked a room without a view. I take this opportunity, even for the reader to be very careful when you book and choose the room with a view if you want.

Concerning the person at the check-in, you probably have not done specific questions or requests and sometimes we can not invade the privacy of the Customer. I'm sorry that you had discovered late our great breakfast , considering that when you booked you knew it was included in the price.
Best wishes
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The swimming pool view is probably worth the price alone. This place is all about the view, and the hotel knows it.

The rooms are nothing amazing, but they are adequate. Our room was not on the view side (the ones on the other side were quite pricey), so we didn't have much to see, but we were able to enjoy the view when we went swimming, and at breakfast (which was delicious by the way).

The terrace with the view is a great place to relax after a day of walking around the town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comment and I hope that next time, if there is, will book a room with a view.
Please let us know in advance
Sincerely
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel - it is in a great position for views and also for trotting into town for evening drinks and meals. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of continental offerings and of course - great coffee. The breakfast terrace and the pool have the most stunning vistas - you can stare all day!As we were staying for a week, the hotel kindly upgraded us to a family room/suite which gave us even more room to spread out. The room also had the great views. On the whole we could not fault it - although it is a little hairy getting out of the car park!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe rooms and drink in the wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeymaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sirs,
It 'was really nice have you as our guests and I send a big thank you for your beautiful words.
This helps us to improve our service.
Thanks to people like you, we also passes the tiredness that sometimes we accumulate
With our best wishes
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I opened the blinds in our room and actually took a step backwards the view was like a painting! Staffers were all very upbeat and helpful with dining. Rooms were smaller than American but this should be expected in an area as old as this. Very clean hotel throughout but parking is a bit tricky. The pool was lucious and the views...I cannot describe how beautiful they were. The hotel staff do not allow glass outside but this makes enjoying a bottle of the local Brunello on the terrace an issue. Please allow the use of glass or provide suitable glass ware so guests can enjoy the view and the wine together! This is a very small issue that would not keep me from returning many many times. As a frequent international business traveler this hotel is a treat. We loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side...these have the most beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad that your stay was enjoyable.
Concerning the glass is forbidden only in the pool area because it can be dangerous. Unfortunately, on occasion someone has left the glasses abandoned then broken. You can still use glasses at the terrace on the other side.
I'm sorry if you didn't see the warning signs.
Nex time I will be glad to offer a drink on the terrace
Best regards
Mariangela Demelas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent small hotel within the city walls so great location to wander and explore the old city, particularly before 10 am and after 5 pm when the tourist bus loads have gone. Clearly you want a room with a view over the Tuscan valley and they have many. I'm surprised about some of the comments in earler reviews re car parking and walking, don't they realize this is a medieval city and if you want hotel car parks and large hotel rooms suggest people visit other modern cities. The charm of this place is the small streets and few cars!
My only complaint about the hotel is the mosquitoes in bedrooms, in breakfast room and on terrace. No action such as burners etc is aken to keep them at bay.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room facing the valley and on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thanks for explaining what kind of city is Montalcino and then the limits and the beauty that we have in a medieval city. I apologize for the mosquitoes that normally are not here. This year has been particularly hot and we realized too late that the mosquitoes were sleeping in the hotel.
I apologize again and thank you
Sincerely
Mariangela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
1.1 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#10 of 17 in Montalcino
135 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#7 of 17 in Montalcino
155 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Capitani

Property: Hotel dei Capitani
Address: Via Lapini 6, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Capitani 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in part of the eighteenth-century “Catasto Leopoldino” in the historic centre of Montalcino. The rooms at the back afford a splendid view, taking in the Val d’Orcia and the Val d’Arbia.Opening out onto this backdrop is a large, panoramic garden, where a swimming pool has been created to resemble a medieval fountain.In the remaining rooms, some of which are laid out on two levels, you can breathe in the typical atmosphere of an ancient Tuscan village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel dei Capitani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Capitani Hotel
Dei Capitani Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing