We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Hotel dei Capitani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel dei Capitani
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I'll remember this stay for the rest of my life. What amazing hotel. Ask for the room just beside the pool . You will have an incredible view of the Tuscany.The pool is quiet and with an uncomparable view....!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapoueche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Sirs,
I am glad that your holiday was unforgettable. it is nice to think that someone has a good memory of us for the rest of her life.
We make a wish for a happy life for more success
Thank you
Mariangela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 470 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

After leaving busy Rome we were completely absorbed into this quiet and beautiful oasis. The location is perfect for exploring Montalcino, but still in a quiet corner away from the main piazza. Get a room with a view, it was our favorite view in all of Italy. The pool is relaxing and quiet with a constant view of the countryside. The breakfast with fresh cappuccino is exactly what you need before a long day of wine tasting. The staff is very helpful, take their recommendations for food and wine. The beds are the only downside, hard and very uncomfortable, but pretty standard for Tuscany.

Room Tip: Get a countryside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
it's very nice that you consider our Hotel an oasis and is nice too to know that your holiday was wonderful. I hope that you can repeat the experience and we will be happy
Thank you
Mariangela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Dei Capitani, in a superior room with a spectacular view over the valley. The room was probably about average size for Europe and was sufficient for a short stay. The location was perfect...just a short walk to the center of Montalcino. The daily breakfast was excellent- with many meats, cheeses, fruits and cereals from which to choose. Roberta was always welcoming with her charming smile!

I must mention Massimo and Giovanni at the front desk. Massimo assisted us time and again...and went above and beyond on our behalf. Giovanni was also a delight. He helped me with my Italian, and when necessary, practiced his English!

If you are visiting Montalcino, I urge you to consider Dei Capitani! We were more than pleased with all aspects of our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the valley. The sunsets and sunrises are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Sirs,
that's nice to read your comment, and it's nice that you remember the name of some people who work here.
On behalf of all I would like to say many thanks again and see you next time
Mariangela Demelas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed in Capitani the last two years (and one time a few years ago). The hotel has a fantastic view and very friendly staff. The breakfast is great, and the pool area is great, though with limited space.

The location in Montalcino is nice - a bit away from the very centre, but close enough to reach in a few minutes.

The best rooms are the ones facing the valley with a small balcony.

It is a pity that they do not have a bar where you can enjoy the view in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Sirs,
three times already and I hope to see you again.
Thank you for the comment and photos.
Concerning the bar we thought it can be confusing. Next time, however, there will be a real bar but if you want to drink on the terrace you can ask and it will be done.
Thank you again
Mariangela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Overall very,very nice stay. PROS - beautiful common areas, nice sun deck, great pool, uncomparable Tuscan views, friendly mostly-helpful staff, great AC, very reasonable prices (100 EUR/night for 3 people and a dog) well-situated inside the town walls and close to the main areas of town and a super breakfast (though no one North of Capua can make a decent espresso...but I digress). Room was quiet. CONS - Parking can be a hike. Closest lot was 300 meters...uphill but it was full and I had to park in a dusty ravine on the other side of Montelcino. At least a 1.5km hike. But that's not the hotel's fault so I don't ding them for that. Other issue was a brken light switch on the reading lamp. We had a ground-floor room with windows opening onto the street...not looking onto the street but, literally, on to the street. Well, there were some planters to keep cars a meter away...and my 6-yr old boy thought it was awsome and climbed in and out through the window a lot. Still, I'd have to say that was a "con".

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am glad that your stay was enjoyable and and that you have been forgiven some small defect. I want to say only that, as you say yourself that you've got the room on the road, on the ground floor but you also have paid a very low amount. I hope next time to be able to guarantee to you a room with a view or a room upstairs. Please let me know when you want in advance.
Best regards
Mariangela Demelas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The view is amazing. We had a balcony room with the incredible view; although the "balcony" was about 2 ft by 2 ft. The room was quite dated but clean.

We found it fairly noisy. Could hear people talking in the next room that evening; and voices and banging all around in the morning.

You have to park about 300 yards away; up a hill. Have to admit I didn't appreciate that too much; especially in the heat.

Liked the pool and view from the pool. Water was pretty chilly though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Sir,
I'm sorry that your stay was not very satisfactory, and I apologize for that.
I would say, that the size of room is the normal in Europe; however for the parking much depends on the fact that we are located in a medieval city and then the spaces are not enough. We will treasure your advice and thank you again for being our Guest
Mariangela Demelas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel Capitani is the pride of it's owners. Well kept and very clean. We stayed here as part of a cycling tour and the hotel catered for us and our bikes. The hotel is well positioned with great views across Tuscany. A short stroll from restaurants and the town centre, makes it accessible for anyone. Breakfast was fantastic and sitting on the terrace overlooking Tuscany in all it's glory was brilliant.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neri64, Manager at Hotel dei Capitani, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am very happy that you have a good memory of your bike ride and
in particular of our hotel.
The greatest pleasure for us to share this pride with you.
Many thanks for the nice words and I hope to see you in the nearest future
Mariangela Demelas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
2.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
153 reviews
5.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
679 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
160 reviews
8.1 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Capitani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Capitani

Address: Via Lapini 6, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range: $93 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel dei Capitani 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in part of the eighteenth-century “Catasto Leopoldino” in the historic centre of Montalcino. The rooms at the back afford a splendid view, taking in the Val d’Orcia and the Val d’Arbia.Opening out onto this backdrop is a large, panoramic garden, where a swimming pool has been created to resemble a medieval fountain.In the remaining rooms, some of which are laid out on two levels, you can breathe in the typical atmosphere of an ancient Tuscan village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel dei Capitani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Capitani Hotel
Dei Capitani Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing