We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with decent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location with decent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This B&B is located in the heart of the small town of Montalcino. It was great for walking around and exploring the whole town. The B&B itself is all stairs like most places in Italy with no elevator so travel light. The room was rustic Tuscano style with basic amenities and great toiletries. Breakfast was also generous and quite tasty. The free valet parking was a pleasant surprise. The location of this little B&B is really the best part about it and the price is pretty reasonable for Europe.

We had mixed feelings about the service which is why I gave it 4/5 rating. If I had written this review during the stay I might have considered a 3/5 rating. The odd couple that runs the place can be unpleasant by customer service standards. We had dinner here one night and the food was ok. We had maybe one glass of wine left in our bottle from our day trip and was told rather rudely we cannot drink it in the restaurant. Honestly, we would not have been offended if told nicely that they do not allow you to bring your own wines. Part of the mixed feelings comes from this dining experience. FYI The pizza place down the street is fabulous and we were able to enjoy a whole bottle of wine there. To be balanced in my criticism, we were rather happy that they were able to let us come a day earlier than planned.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the city and the location of this B&B was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    96
    36
    12
    1
See reviews for
33
160
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Arrived there on the day of floods. Cosy and rustic room. Everything worked out well for us and the owner ( the husband) went out of his way to assist us. Breakfast was good. Centrally located and well worth the rates.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tredclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night during a two-week cycling trip through Tuscany and felt this hotel was one of the better. We stayed in the B&B rooms down the street from the hotel. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. We did use the hotel lobby and Wi-fi. Breakfast was the best of all the accommodations we stayed at during our trip. All in all, a greatplace to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 26pt2runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabright
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everything was wonderful. The room was cozy with a lovely view of the Tuscan valley. Everything was fabulous. It simply felt beautiful here through the entire hotel, the family/staff were incredible. Breakfast was awesome. Happy happy and totally recommend! We were sad to leave.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LizSeabright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamdaugavietis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We loved our five-night stay at Il Giglio in Montalcino for numerous reasons including comfort, cleanliness, convenient location, quiet charm, congeniality and helpfulness of the owners and staff, and the delicious meals. What more could one want? We will hopefully return to stay there again someday. A memorable and totally pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 and had a balcony and fantastic view of Montalcino, including magnificent sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamdaugavietis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent one night in Montalcino at Il Giglio. We were a little concerned reading tripadvisor after we had booked. However, we found the owners were very nice people, provided us with good service and ran an immaculate hotel. Our room had a very modern bathroom (spotless) with all the conveniences you would expect. The views from our room were breathtaking.

We ate dinner at restaurant in the evening and had a very good meal. My wife had a first course of Risotto Brunello and was one of best dishes she had over our 2 weeks in Italy. The other dishes we ate were excellent, but less memorable. Service was great for both the hotel and restaruant and both provided a great value for the money.

We highly recommend Il Giglio if you're staying in the Pienza or Montalcino area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a hill-top town hotel with limited space. We were put up in rooms down the street. Once we had lugged our baggage down the street and up a very steep hill followed by a flight of steps we found ourselves in very comfortable and spacious accomodation,

Breakfast a little on the minimal side with no eggs but good cappuccino but overall quite good for a busy town such as Montalcino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris580421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.9 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#7 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.1 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Via Soccorso Saloni 5, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Hotel
Il Giglio Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing