We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Restaurant is GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Restaurant is GREAT”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We did not stay here, but the restaurant isn't listed under tripadvisor restaurants in Montalcino and should be, as the food is wonderful. We had an excellent dinner (cinghale and beef), with a bottle of wine, 2 secondos, 2 sides and a shared dessert (pears in Brunello, spectacular!) for 66,00 euro, which was really reasonable for the quality of the food. Our waitress was a sweetheart. We would recommend this place to any one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    96
    39
    13
    2
See reviews for
34
165
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Great wine list. Fresh pasta made with local and in season ingredients. Lots of Italians eating there, always a good sign. The owner (I think) has a great knowledge of wine and local wineries. Service was very good. They use a dumb waiter to bring the food to the dining room, very cool. 2 tables have a view but the food is so good you don't necessarily need them.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed as part of an iron donkey cycle tour of Tuscany. We checked in pretty easily and the owner stored our bikes in the garage without any fuss. The room had plenty of character with exposed beams and furniture to compliment. It was spacious enough, well maintained and quiet. The bed was comfortable and good selection at breakfast. Great view over the valley from the window. We would seek this place out if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snpontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a wine tour. We both have nothing but wonderful things to stay about our experience. The check in was smooth. We have not stayed in Montalcino prior to this trip, but the rooms were larger than many of the rooms that we experienced in other parts of Italy. Lots of great Brunellos to chose from. Breakfast was very good. We would stay here again and recommend this to anyone traveling to Montalcino. We plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelieverMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
229 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We love this place and will always come back.

The family are true gentile personne. The parents do not speak much English which others confuse with rudeness. This is nonsense! They are very welcoming and simply make you at home and comfortable.

For the last few visits we have had the opportunity to use the family mansard apartment. It is private and very comfortable with full facilities. There is no lift so be prepared to walk up to floors. It is however a home from home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splodge48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at this charming hotel. The location and setting could not have been any better in Montalcino. The accomodations were a little tight but adequate, and was consistent with what we would expect from a building and town with this much history. I felt the price for our room was extremely fair. The staff was very responsive, the dinner was very good and the wine list quite impressive if you are into Brunellos.

Room Tip: We requested room 1N which has the patio but it was not available. Instead we stayed in the room di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while on a cycle tour of Tuscany. We appreciated having a locked garage for our bikes. The hotel is family run, they speak excellent English and were very welcoming. Our room was spacious and had a wonderful valley view. Breakfast was very good and included hot scrambled eggs and fresh baked (still warm) bread, as well as a delicious fruit tart and two other kinds of coffe cakes. Meats and local cheese were also available. We enjoyed our stay and the only somewhat quirky item regarding our stay was the short half tub in which one had to squat/sit in to take a shower.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.9 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#5 of 14 in Montalcino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
7.1 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
Hotel Vecchia Oliviera
#6 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Via Soccorso Saloni 5, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montalcino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Giglio Hotel
Il Giglio Montalcino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing