We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofia - CLOSED

Sofia
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Description: the "Sofia" is a small wine bar and restaurant where you can also eat a good pizza and good tipical tuscan products. The wine list is simple and refined, each winery that we sell has its own particular story.You can taste the wine and buy one or many bottles for the table or to take away, or to taste wine bicchiere.We have connections to many wine cellars of Montalcino, and you can order other wines out of our wine list.We can organize a tour with car and driver around the wineries of Montalcino.We ship wine all over the world.il "Sofia" e' una piccola enoteca dove si mangia anche una buona pizza e buoni prodotti tipici toscani. La carta dei vini e' semplice e ricercata, ogni cantina che vendiamo ha una sua particolare storia.Potete assaggiare il vino ed acquistare una o tante bottiglie per il tavolo o per portare via, o degustare il vino al bicchiere.Abbiamo collegamenti con molte enoteche di Montalcino, e possiamo farvi avere anche altri vini non presenti nella nostra wine list.Possiamo organizzare un tour con auto e autista per visitare le cantine di Montalcino.Spediamo vino in tutto il mondo.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch and shared a pizza. The service and pizza were good and the atmosphere very pleasant. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio g, Proprietario at Sofia, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you madame for your wonderful review!
Hope to see you again!
Fulvia e Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    57
    10
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service and food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We went in for late lunch the first day we arrived in Montalcino. The sagre del tordo was underway so the restaurant was fairly empty. We started with cheese and prosciutto, then shared a pizza. Everything was very good. We went back later that night for some dessert at the bar and the lady recognized us immediately. The service and price was so good, we went back a third time before we left town, just to have pre-dinner drinks. The service is top notch and the prices very reasonable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sofia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittaniMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio g, Proprietario at Sofia, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Good morning Brittany, thank you for you review, also for Yelp review. It's very important for us. We try to make you at home. We think that a restaurant and wine bar can be "for tourist" but not "touristic"!Thank you, and greetings from Tuscany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romance In Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband & I came to Tuscany On our honeymoon and it has been amazing . We ate the pizza here from reading the reviews from others and it was exceptional! We are New Yorkers and we live, love & breath pizza and this place blew us away! The pizza with brescsola and truffle oil was to die for! This is a must see. The husband & wife owners were warm friendly and English speaking we will definitely return!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adesimone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio g, Proprietario at Sofia, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear customer, we are delighted about the review.
We are so grateful.
Really thank you very much. After you, other people came and asked the same pizza!!!!
A greeting from Tuscany.
Fulvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here based on other reviews.
When we arrived at 1230 the place was empty as it's still early on a Sunday. My wife and I ordered 2 different pizzas to try . I got the piccantini ( mozzarella, pecorino , hot salami and sausage) she got the gostova ( white pizza with truffle oil and braciole ) by far the most amazing pizza ever! And that coming from someone who is married to an Italian who makes amazing homemade pizza and our daily selection of pizzas in NYC ... A must see if coming to the region

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sofia, it was great ;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Siamo stati al Sofia due sere fa: fantastico!
Ottima pizza e antipasti, stupenda lista di vini e professionalità. Il tutto a prezzi accessibilissimi.
I gestori ed il personale sono davvero simpatici. In inverno ci sarà anche teatro e noi... Ci tornenremo ;)

We have been to at Sofia two days ago and it was fantastic!
Pizza and antipasti were really good and the wine list was very intresting. It is NOT expencive at all.
The owners and the waiter are really profesional and friendly.
In december it will organized theather and we'll be there!

Wir sind nach Sofia vor zwei Tagen gegangen und es war super!
Pizza und Antipasti waren sehr lecker und die Weinkarte war auch wunderbar.
Alles war NICHT teuer.
Die Besetzer und die Kellnerin waren sehr professionell und freundlich.
In December sie werden Theater Performances organisieren und wir werden wieder kommen!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yes2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofia also viewed

Poggio alle Mura, Montalcino
Sant'Angelo in Colle, Montalcino
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing