We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Palazzo Saloni
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The beautiful small residence in the beautiful city. We had an apartment with 1 bedroom. The apartment was perfectly equipped and decorated. In rooms it was very cozy and warm. We had no balcony or a terrace, but the view from the window was wonderful, on hills of Tuscany. This residence has a good private closed parking that is a rarity for Montalcino city. And at the same time it is the downtown. Very pleasant and kind lady works at a front desk, it serves a breakfast at restaurant which is in the same building. The breakfast isn't so various, but consists of local fresh and tasty products, coffee was excellent.
I regret only that we were in this hotel only one night!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AssiaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 135 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night 29 Oct 2012 after booking through booking.com. The room rate for a one bedroom apartment was 90Euro including breakfast. The location in Montalcino is good as you don’t have to drive in the really narrow streets too far. A very narrow street leads to a large, secure parking lot right below hotel. We were greeted nicely and given thorough directions when asked. The room we were given, Grapella Room, was on the top floor which was two long and steep stairwells up, three if you include the stairwell from the car park. This was probably my fault as I had requested a room with a good view. It was a very beautiful view over the Tuscan hillsides (not of Montalcino) but a very long slog up (and down) with the suitcases. The one bedroom apartment was very clean but the lighting in the kitchen and living room were very poor. The lighting in the bedroom was better but sadly there were no night table lamps. The bedroom was comfortable but the living room was under furnished and felt a bit cavernous. Yes, the rooms are large but they do lack charm (ours did anyway). The towels were great – big bath sheets. There was a separate well lit sink area then two stairs led up to the toilet, bidet and shower area. The shower water was hot with a good flow. We didn’t use the kitchen but it has table, chairs, sink, 4 burner stove top, and oven. The view from both the living room and bedroom windows over the Tuscan hillside at dawn was perfect. The breakfast was served in the restaurant downstairs which can be accessed through the hotel from the half way down the parking lot stairwell from the lobby. It was a kind of sad and strange affair. First of all, all the place settings in the breakfast area were either used or occupied. And all the food was gone – eaten. I can’t recall exactly what time we went for breakfast but it certainly wasn’t later than 45 minutes after the start time. Eventually an older woman came out from somewhere and very slowly brought out more food - very slowly. But of course whenever she came out the people who were already seated kept asking her for more cappuccino, espresso, etc so it was a very long and drawn out affair. I didn’t care so much but my husband was quite frustrated by the whole thing. I can see why – it even took forever to get even a clean fork. At check out we had to wait maybe five minutes for someone to come so we could pay – the housekeeper had to find them and it turned out to be the same breakfast lady (!!) – she was very kind but she seemed to have too many roles to fill for efficiency. We asked to leave our car in their parking lot for the morning and were cheerfully accommodated. Sadly, I think this B&B has a few more cons than pros - I might look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have great views but there are lots of stairs to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our stay here was great. We stayed one night. We had a very large bedroom with a living room and small kitchen. Very nice view of the hills of montalcino. We were disappointed that the restaurant was not open either of the days we were there. Breakfast was nice. I agree with previous reviewers that most of the time you had to look for the staff but they were helpful when we found them. I would highly recommend staying here for the location, parking included, nice price and huge nice rooms with a view. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaseyandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have been many times to Montalcino and have stayed in various places. My room here was huge! a large bedroom overlooking the hills and a large living/dinning area. The bathroom was a bit tight though, but still functionable! I was there in mid august when it can be very hot, and even though there was no air condition, I was still able to sleep comfortably and without being hot. There was also a restaurant downstairs which was fantastic and the hotel was close to the center and with parking!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineindulgence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

There was urine caked on the toilet, when we checked in. The room smelled like cat urine. No phone, no oetoilet paper hanging, no trash cans and only shampoo in a small bottle. No lotion, conditioner. We were awakened at 8:00 am, on a Saturday morning, by a worker with a chain saw, doing yard work, that sounded like a jet flying through our room - that never stopped. The room key didn't work for one of the doors. There was trash outside our door. And then......at 10:10 am, a maid frantically pounded on our door, demanding we vacate the room, because checkout time was at (believe it or not) 10:00 am! She wouldn't take no for an answer, so we had to get dressed, leave the room and walk to reception, to say we weren't leaving until 11:00.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Appartamento Bombino
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Masaria1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Chochise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palazzo Saloni O, Proprietario at Residenza Palazzo Saloni, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.8 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
479 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Il Rifugio d'Altri Tempi
Il Rifugio d'Altri Tempi
#20 of 22 in Montalcino
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poggio Rubino B&B Camere Idolina
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Palazzo Saloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Palazzo Saloni

Address: Via Soccorso Saloni 31, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Montalcino
Price Range: $79 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Palazzo Saloni 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza Palazzo Saloni, an 18th century building, is located in the heart of Montalcino surrounded by the green hills of the Brunello region. You can admire the surroundings and enjoy the breathtaking landscape of the Sienese hills with their famous vineyards and olive groves, which are well known and appreciated world wide.The Residenza Palazzo Saloni can satisfy all your holiday preferences in any of its 15 apartments and with the excellent service it offers.The Residenza Palazzo Saloni invites its guests for a stay within the walls of Montalcino where they can live according to the daily rhythms of village life. An added bonus is the very convenient private parking lot for its clients.The recently restored apartments combine arte povera with all the modern comforts. Every room is elegantly finished with wood beams and flooring which bring nature indoors.The Residenza Palazzo Saloni's 15 apartments, each named after a Tuscan vineyard, are furnished with all the comforts in addition to satellite TV. Pets are welcome.The Osteria d'Altri Tempi restaurant is located on Vicolo Landi next to the Residenza Palazzo Saloni for its clients and the general public.Discover old Tuscan flavours and fragrances of the culinary delights of Montalcino complemented by a well-stocked wine list including the prestigious Brunello. Breathe in the enchanting ambiance of Montalcino while dining on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Residenza Palazzo Saloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing