We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montalcino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Residence Montalcino
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We recently spent two nights in Montalcino at the “Residenza Palazzo Saloni”. It is a wonderful place to stay right in the heart of Montalcino, just 150 meters off the main square. There are 15 brand new apartments spacious and charming : the rooms are very clean, nicely furnished and beautifully decorated in perfect tuscany style. There is no lift, so, if you choose the upstairs apartment, you have to carry your luggage up the stairs, but the view worth the effort … it’s gorgeous. There are also a restaurant and a parking for guest’s car. Everything was beyond our expectations. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyVacation73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed September 7, 2007

A week staying at this quirky hotel enjoying the superb tuscan countryside was not enough but then, can you ever have enough of a town which while steeped in centuries of history is still a commercial working entity not entirely reliant on tourism. The accommodation is well appointed at the Hotel Residence and the facilities modern and well maintained. For a 3 star establishment it is exceptional, and its location right in town great but be sure to book a parking spot when you book your room. Montalcino is not a place for staying in if you do not have a park and have to find somewhere outside the walls! This hotel is very small and built in keeping with the village architecture so it has small spaces and stairs not lifts but that is its charm. It is just a few metres from the town centre and all of the history of Montalcino, and there is plenty -- try reading Vanilla Beans and Brodo by Isabella Dusi to get the flavour of this wonderful hilltop town. Our room looked out over the wonderful tuscan countryside and we awoke to the sounds of the village roosters crowing with the sun streaming in our window - bliss. Montalcino is one of the premier wine growing regions of Italy and a visit here would not be complete without sampling Brunello di Montalcino. Its not cheap but then no top quality wine is. Italy is blessed with lots of great towns and villages to visit but this has to rank with the very best of the hilltowns. It is within a bus ride of Siena and not much further to Florence. With the car it is within striking distance of the coast and Elba, and the other way quite close to the towns of Umbria but you can profitably leave the car and take some walks around the town wall and the fortezza, around the town streets and even into the countryside to the 11th century abbey at Sant'Antimo - you can catch the bus back to town. The hotel website gives an accurate representation of its offerings, and as a base for a visit to Montalcino and the surrounding country it would be hard to beat.
I guess if you are looking for 5 star city hotel this would not be your cup of tea but if you need a relaxing break from the hurlyburly then you would find this place soothing to the soul, and yes it does have a nice clean swimming pool in a lovely grassed yard, and I'd go back there tomorrow!

  • Stayed: September 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank The_Admiral_Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Cecilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2015
Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
0.1 mi away
Il Giglio Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
157 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Montalcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Montalcino

Address: Via Soccorso Saloni 31, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing