We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poggio Antico Vineyards

Poggio Antico Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 2 Nightlife in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
304 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was on our list of wineries to visit, it is in a very beautiful setting, but the sign for tours and tasting are not clear, we went to the tour location only to be sent back to the buildings for tasting. The tasting room was small but the staff was friendly as he was trying to cover all 50 US states of the visitors. It was not clear by his description we were being charged for the tastings, although he gave us a discount for purchasing wine. Plus, no bathrooms in the tasting building, we had to walk back to the tour building and be buzzed in to use a bathroom...they should change this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    37
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Super winery tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We set up 4 winery tours in one day which can be done if you start about 9am and finish at 5 or 6. We did Valdicava, Poggio Antico, Ciacci, and Uccelliera. This was our second stop and a good one as it is perfectly set up for visitors. The Italian cypress tree lined drive is beyond beautiful and their tours are vey fun and informative. We got to go upstairs and look into the fermentation tanks which you don't get to do everyday. They have a huge variety of wines to taste through and several super Tuscan IGT's. We bought several small wooden boxes to place in our luggage back to Houston and had zero problems. Would definitely recommend this winery!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank demastersd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must for wine lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent a great afternoon touring and tasting the wines at Poggio Antico on part of our tour through Tuscan Sunshine Tours hosted by Daniele. He was extremely knowledgeable, delightful, and so inviting! We ended up purchasing several cases to be shipped back to the US and the shipment arrived within 3 weeks. The best part was it was so well packaged. We ended up also shipping some of their amazing olive oil and I am not a fan but the grappa. Their Brunello is one of the best we had and we had plenty! A MUST VISIT!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spent a great afternoon touring and tasting the wines at Poggio Antico. Hosted by Stine - very knowledgable and delightful. Ended up purchasing several cases to be shipped back to Canada - shipment arrived within a week and well packaged. Great olive oil as well. Their Brunello is one of the best in the area. Unfortunately not readily available in North America. Worth a trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenChiasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Good Wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Poggio Antico sits overlooking valleys looking towards the Thyrennian Sea. The staff is great and not only gave a great tour but took care to give us a history of the place. We were able to watch the bottling machine in action and taken into the cellars to see the fermentation and aging process. The wines were very good and several have received awards. A worthy visit for anyone going to Montalcino

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poggio Antico Vineyards also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino
 

Been to Poggio Antico Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing