We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of Osteria La Crocina

Osteria La Crocina
Ranked #7 of 70 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small and very Nice organic restaurant with a family atmosphere, in the frame of a fabulous stone farmhouse surrounded by vineyards. Ample parking.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

One of those memorable meals, actually two memorable meals, and the reason one visits Italy. The food was outstanding and the hosts/owners were very attentive and accommodating as we ate for hours among friends drinking great wine a few hundred feet from the equally great Agriturismo la Crociona where we were staying.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennisK290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    83
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We hired a driver (Romelimousineplus.com) to transport our family of four from Florence to Rome. We made a full day of it and toured the tuscan countryside along the way. When it came time for lunch Pietro, our driver, brought us to this gem of a restaurant near Montalcino. We had the best meal of our entire Italian vacation here. The menu offered the flavors of Tuscany both traditional and with a fine chef's flair. It is absolutely worth discovering this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PDawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Without a doubt the best meal we had on our 2 week trip to Tuscany. A huge thank you to Cristian and Giorgia for bringing such quality to Montalcino. The setting is beautiful and the food is unmatched in the region. The complementary tomato soup was delicious. If you are fortunate enough to dine here, please order the risotto alla Brunello which was the best dish of our trip. This is a great stop after visiting Sant Antimo or the wineries of Montalcino. Molto Buono!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank californiatopiemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEST meal in Tuscany, but FAR”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was BY FAR the best meal we had in Tuscany (and we ate at the best restaurants for lunch and dinner we could find in many towns every day for 10 days). FINALLY we found creative, innovative, gastronomic and beautifully presented cuisine with a respect for the local produce and traditions. A foodies paradise. Great service from the young couple (chef and matre) who run the pace with tremendous passion. Its a short drive from Montlacino but its 1000% worth it. DON NOT miss this gem!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main, Deutschland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best restaurant in Montalcino”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This restaurant you have to visit when you are in the area of Montalcino. The restaurant is located down the hill and has a beautiful garden. We were amazed by all the delicious dishes and the excellent service. The chef himself explained a few of his favorite dishes. And besides pasta (which you find in every other restaurant) you have a huge variety of different dishes. The tuna with sesame was our favorite dish. Make sure to leave some room for desert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria La Crocina also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Sant'Angelo in Colle, Montalcino
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Poggio alle Mura, Montalcino
 

Been to Osteria La Crocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing