We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at extraordinary (low) prices.”
Review of Caffe Sant'Angelo

Caffe Sant'Angelo
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Buonconvento
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food at extraordinary (low) prices.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The setting is simple (no linen cloth, you keep your cutlery between courses) but the food is really sophisticated and the prices are a delight. This is where the locals come to eat - we regularly travel 35 minutes to join them. The menu is small and does not change a great deal but has some absolutely delicious items - the torta di pecorino, the baked pecorino and pear, the tagliata. We normally drink the local red wine (sfuso provided by the butcher opposite who also has a vineyard) and our bill for two courses and coffee comes to under €20 a head. We have taken many friends there - all of whom have been delighted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    52
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Try the mezze maniche all amatriciana. Try the panzanella. Try the superb meat...That was my hangout while I was working there and I keep recommending this little cozy place to everyone is planning a trip to Tuscany.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank teacup-pofferties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“SUPERB, INEXPENSIVE DELIGHT. CLOSED SUNDAYS”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Friends brought me to this unpretentious restaurant, really a small-town bar, with seating inside & out. You come here for the FOOD; the husband & wife team of Daniela & Pino produce without fuss, some of the best food I've ever eaten. The 'must have' is the cheese tart starter; but all the food is fresh, beautifully cooked & served with a smile & friendliness. The place is hard to find, just off the Via Cassia to Montalcino, after Sant'Angelo in Colle. I can't think of a better place to pass an afternoon. Do go to the butcher opposite who sells good wine as well as superb meat. He serves the restaurant too.Caffe’ Sant’Angelo – Via Grossetana, 8 – S. Angelo Scalo, Montalcino (SI) Telephone: 340-8305269 (Closed on Sunday)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordhighschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Family owned- wife cooking, husband serving. Unbelieveably wonderful food and very reasonable prices. Traditional Tuscan cooking. On our "must return to" list!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Sant'Angelo also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Sant'Angelo in Colle, Montalcino
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Caffe Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing