We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget to Tour the Vineyard!”

Ristorante di Poggio Antico
Ranked #37 of 76 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
CA USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't forget to Tour the Vineyard!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I visited Tuscany on our honeymoon in mid-March. Our hotel, Locanda dell'Amorosa, recommended the Poggio Antico vineyards to us when we expressed interests to visit wine estates in and around Montalcino. The hotel serves their wines and we were most impressed with their Brunello the night before at dinner. We are so glad they did. To be clear, we did not visit the restaurant. Our remarks are about the vineyard itself--the property tour, the wine tasting, and their follow through in shipping product to the USA, all of which we highly recommend and applaud their excellence. When we told Poggio Antico that we wanted to leave a TripAdvisor review for others, we were asked by the owner to leave our review on the this, the restaurant page.
The property is about 10km outside of town, but still easy to get to, and they have signage on the main road which leads to their estate (see picture below). Still, if driving yourself as opposed to a guided tour, we recommend getting directions none-the-less, unless your intent is to get 'lost' in Tuscany.
Travel Hint: make a reservation for the tour and tasting before going. While open for business hours, the winery's practice is to schedule tours in advance with small groups. Our group just happened to be 4 people, ourselves and another couple traveling to Tuscany on their anniversary.
Our tour was led by the son of the founder. Clearly his knowledge and passion for Poggio Antico came through. The tour was as informative as it was interesting. He answered all our questions, and both couples had plenty. He also did an excellent job in hosting us for a wine tasting that followed the tour. He was not rushed and neither were we. We felt like we were among friends. Of course we had to buy some of the various wines and ship them back home.
In terms of time expectation, including the tour and wine tasting, set 2 - 2.5 hours to be safe.
Perhaps the greatest complement we can give Poggio Antico is in their fulfillment of our order. It happened without incident and in a very timely manner. They used email to give us status of our order at every step of the fulfillment process. This would seem like a rather simple customer service aspect of a winery that is used to shipping product back to the USA, but from our experience in Tuscany, it is not common practice. We cannot write such a review for our experience and wine purchase in Cortona, for instance. When you spend that much money to ship wine home, you want to know your purchase is safe and being acted upon. We greatly appreciated being kept informed by Poggio Antico.
Oh, and the wine itself: Awesome. We live near Napa and Sonoma and so we are accustomed to really great red wines. We were introduced to Brunello's a couple years back by a great friend. We now love the variety and drink it regularly. The Poggio Antico offers are easily some of the best if not the best Brunellos we've ever enjoyed. Though we don't use wine site recommendations, but rather personal recommendations, we're not at all surprised to find the following on wine.com: "The 2007 Brunello di Montalcino Altero is a gorgeous, sleek wine laced with dark red cherries, kirsch, menthol, pine and spices. Sweet floral notes wrap around the silky finish. The 2007 stands out for its finessed texture and impeccable overall balance. I can’t remember a more polished, elegant vintage of Altero. Poggio Antico hit it out of the park. The 2007 spent 24 months in 500-liter French oak tonneaux. Anticipated maturity: 2017-2027. 95 Points." Our response would be: why wait 'til 2017!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    34
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
banna0081
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great taste of Tuscany!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the tasting menu, it was not very busy so the chef was out interacting with the customers. After chatting with us, he even added a couple dishes and made a substitution for my husband so we could try more!! The food was great, not a lot of food, but very good! We hope to go back on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank banna0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“lovely modern restaurant in the countryside”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Poggio Antico is some distance (10 minutes or so) outside the town of Montalcino in the lovely Tuscan countryside. One approaches it on a long cypress-lined drive from the main road. Given the name, it is a surprisingly modern place. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is very nice. We found the service a little slow, but this is not unusual in Italy where leisurely dining is the custom.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Brunello producer, equally outstanding restaurant”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Was fortunate enough to visit for a second time in Sept. 11. (My first visit was back in 2005, I believe.) If this isn't one of the better restaurants in Tuscany, I don't know what is. Great typically Tuscan food with a modern twist. Even better, you can pair your meal with great wines by the glass from this top Brunello di Montalcino producer—a rare opportunity. To top it all off, a great view out over the vineyards to Sant Angelo in Colle and beyond. Very welcoming and friendly staff, no snobbishness here despite the quality (though reservations are advised. Ask for an outdoor table if the weather permits). This restaurant used to have one Michelin star, not really sure why they lost it. Now that it has re-opened, they deserve to get it back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stoptravelscams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EXTREMELY SLOW SERVICE! but excellent food”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We recently visted the Restarante di Poggio Antico and winery upon the recommendation of a highly rated neighboring winery which was fully booked. We really loved the IDEA of a winery tour followed by a tasting followed by a lovely meal. UNFORTUNATELY, the idea and the reality didn't align..... First we had a lot of difficulty finding the place. Our TomTom GPS couldn't find it and the GPS coordinates provided by the winery didn't work either (despite 3 calls to confirm.....) Eventually we found the place, but arrived around 10 minutes late for our 12:30 tour and they wouldn't let us join in..... Suggested we come back at 3:00 pm. (Had the winery compound had better signage we may have only been 5 minutes late). David, the very personable Sommelier in the tasting room, who had helped us book the tour and reserve the our table was a bit surprised..... We had our wine tasting and decided we really weren't impressed with their wine in terms of value in comparision with other Brunello we'd tried and then moved on a few minutes early for our 1:30 lunch reservation. When we arrived the restaurant was totally packed and we were seating in a side room (with a nice view, but somewhat out of sight of the main space). After some 10-15 minutes we managed to get our wine order placed and received some bread which together kept us somewhat happy. Another 10-15 minutes later we managed to place our food order. 20 minutes later the first dishes arrived, included a very soft / lightly cooked gnocci and a carpaccio of beef. After another 30-35 minutes (Even an adjacent bi-lingual table noticed we were waiting a very long time) our main courses arrived. I had the Venison which was tremendous (and also the most expensive item on the menu). By the time we had our caffe and settled the tab, it was 3:20 and we had missed our tour (again).

All in all the food was excellent, but the Poggio Antico wine was average and the speed and service of the meal was terrible.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lau_Wai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante di Poggio Antico also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Poggio alle Mura, Montalcino
 

Been to Ristorante di Poggio Antico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing