We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not interested”

Enoteca Osticcio Osteria
Ranked #38 of 70 Restaurants in Montalcino
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not interested”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped here because it is so inviting with its tables outside and huge amount of wine inside. There are tables by the windows inside that overlook the valley below. As we came into the enoteca, the girl behind the counter told us there were no tables by the window available.....even before we asked. So we looked around, I took a couple of pictures, and we went outside and sat at one of their tables in front of the restaurant. We waited about 10 minutes, but no one came, so we left. We would have liked to eat here and tried their wines....but I don't think they were that interested in our business. Maybe they were short handed. In any event we went elsewhere and bought lunch and wine to take home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank india1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    111
    69
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a nice wine tasting evening with traditional Tuscan dinner. Nice view from the restaurant and attentive staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ArabianGlobeTrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Tasty table in Tuscany”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very surprised by this Osteria! Located just in the center of Montalcino, behind the famed clock tower... We stumbled upon Osticcio and very much liked what We found. I would typically avoid dining in the center of town, especially in August, but, we were hungry! I'm glad we tried! Not only did we have a nice reserve Brunello (by glass!), we were treated to amuse-bouches from the chef. The pasta was perfectly al dente and fresh. Yummy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanotti-A-broad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prefect for special occasions or a romantic dinner”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, stunning view, attentive service.
One of the best pastas I've ever had - penne in pecorino sauce with fresh green peppers.
A bit pricey, but I guess it's justified by the location and the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mishmishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The view is stunning.The food is excellent.The waitresses charming.However ,the service became slower as the evening wore on,and the owner was rather tetchy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Osticcio Osteria also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Enoteca Osticcio Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing