We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but disappointing service”
Review of Il Leccio

Il Leccio
Reserve with
Il Leccio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good food but disappointing service”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stopped here for lunch when touring in Tuscany. Nice food and a lovely spot to eat but perhaps this restaurant could do with a little more competition than there is in Sant' Angelo in order to bring out the best in its staff. Not very welcoming or friendly and despite not being busy, there was a surprising delay in bringing our bill (we had to ask twice) and then returning for payment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    196
    60
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is really the only reason to go to Sant' Angelo in Colle, which is a tiny town close to Montalcino in Tuscany. Very little going on here, but Il Leccio is excellent. Every bit of food we had was fantastic. It's sometimes difficult to get into, particularly for dinner, so make reservations if you can. Lots of locals here, so using a little Italian will go a long way, even though they speak English quite well. Depending upon which direction you're coming from, make sure to take some pictures of the village from a distance--beautiful.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKLeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We went with high expectations based on the ranking in Tripadvisor and our Hotel recommendation . Location in the charming little village of Sant'angelo is great with nice outside seating that was very pleasant even on a quite balmy summer evening . The rest was very disappointing - service was substandard to state it mildly - server was sweating and unpleasant and gave us the feeling we are a big burden on him.Food was OK but we have had much better in many places in Italy. Prices way to high for the quality offered.
Go to Il Pozzo - next door, better food, much better service and attitude and cheaper.....

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JARBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We try to visit this place every time we come to Montalcino and it continues to offer wonderful hearty pasta at a decent price. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. Three of us had an appetizer, wine (decent bottle), pasta and coffee for E100.00 The food is delicious and the quaint town and rustic decor make this a great experience. We will be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimmieandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good and food and good wine list”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

we went to Il Leccio as one of the local winemakers we visited recommended it.
The menu as a good selection of pasta while second mains are principally meaty. We had pici al sugo di carne and they were amazing. Only critic i can make is the portion was a bit small.
Second mains are all based on meat. We had pig with cinnamon and apricots and it was also very good but i would choose the steak next time. The wine list is also very good with all the brunello you can imagine and i believe fairly priced as well. Some specific brunellos for fanatics like me are not present on the list but i believe if you ask for it the owner is gonna open is cellar for you. Price for 4 mains in total and a good brunello 2006 around 100 euros which is reasonable in my opinion.Atmoshere was also relaxing and quite in the piazza. Overall i recommend it

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommySan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Leccio also viewed

Sant'Angelo in Colle, Montalcino
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Poggio alle Mura, Montalcino
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Il Leccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing