We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal choice for a stay in Montalcino”
Review of Il Barlanzone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Il Barlanzone
Ranked #9 of 22 Montalcino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Il Barlanzone with our 2 adult sons. We had 2 of the double bedrooms/bath. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and roomy.
Our host, Simone, was very friendly and helped with suggestions of where to eat, and also places to visit.
Internet is available and also free parking.
All in all, our visit to Montalcino was Fantastic. We would love to return.
We would recommend Il Barlanzone to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy and John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The apartment on the roof top of Il Barlanzone, is the next best thing living in Montalcino, this was our second stay and certainly not our last. The location is spectacular with uninterrupted views of the Fortezza and easy access to everything Montalcino has to offer. If you love your food, worship your Brunello and hence need to spend more than just a few days in Montalcino there is no better place to spend a week.

For those wanting to feel pat of a town rather than simply visit it, the apartment will deliver this without disappointment. Try to be there for a Friday, so you can take full advantage of the local market, nothing better than stocking the pantry with fresh local vegetables, Tartufo Pecorino and roasted Tuscan Porchetta. . .

I want to go to there . . . now.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Now we, my wife and I, three times have had a fantastic week in the apartment in Il Barlanzone, 2007, 2010 & 2012. Always fine service, free parking, a wine shop with excellent wines and serious advising, the apartment is nice and clean, Simone and his mother Paola are always friendly and helpful. Il Barlanzone has a perfect position in the town, and the view from the terrace is fantastic.
We can absolutely recommend Il Barlanzone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

In such a beautiful part in Italy, where you would go for relaxation, stunning views and great food and wine, to stay in such a place can be a let down. The double room given, was very noisy, and the bed uncomfortable. The views from some of the rooms I believe are great.
There is nothing provided in the bathroom except the towels -so bring your own shampoo and soap!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest level which would likely have less noise and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barlanzone, Proprietario at Il Barlanzone, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank for leave suggestion and review about the Affittacamere.We are sorry to understand your stay was not like you expect.For sure,if you book room in centre of very famous and touristic town in the “hightest summer season” maybe you should sleep with the windows close…….Ours Building complety renoved in the year 2000 is certified for the noise ISO 2001
All the mattress are “new and orthopaedic”,just buyed last February at beginning of season,we are sorry if this is not your favourite kind.
All ours rooms are fournished of natural shower-shampo,sorry if this is not your favourite.
If you may had asked for a changing room,we had been glad to do all ours best ,but you diden’t…..
So please contact me if yo’ll be back,I’ll be happy to keep care personally your stay to us.
We want excuse again and we hope the rest of your Tuscany trip was great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I am writing this review from my private balcony which is part of the beautiful apartment on the top floor of Il Barlanzone. This is paradise with views of the fortress to my left and the peacful village to my right. The little hotel is situated just on the edge of Montalcino across from the fortress and is steps away from shops, brunello and the main piazza. Simone, the owner, could not be more pleasant and his wonderful mother even baked me an amazing torta to welcome me. I can't say enough good things about this peaceful little hotel. If you are looking for accomodations in Montalcino, I highly recommend Il Barlanzone! Ciao!

Room Tip: Top floor apartment is the best! Private balcony to enjoy your Brunello each evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobiesail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Il Barlanzone is in the centre of Montalcino, free parking is possible close to the hotel. The owner, Simone, is very friendly and gave us a tip to eat well close to the hotel. The room was big enough and clean, ideal to stay in the centre of Montalcino.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FangioD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Montalcino if you're looking for a quiet place to relax and rest your head. It is located right across from the fortress (which you can see from some of the rooms) and rows of local shops are right outside your door. I look forward to going back and spending a week or two exploring the area more thoroughly, and would stay at Il Barlanzone again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montalcino hotels
1.7 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Scalette di Piazza
Le Scalette di Piazza
#1 of 22 in Montalcino
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poggio Rubino B&B Camere Idolina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzina Cesira
Palazzina Cesira
#3 of 22 in Montalcino
177 reviews
10.7 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
177 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Barlanzone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Barlanzone

Address: Via Ricasoli 33, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Montalcino
Price Range: $93 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Il Barlanzone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing