We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, wine and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Re di Macchia

Re di Macchia
Ranked #3 of 70 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
283 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wine and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night in Montalcino and we were booked which was just as well as it was almost full. We tried Saturday but couldn't get in, so booked for Monday. Super reception by the owner I think and great food. Great bruschetta and amazing art bit salad starters, followed bybreallybwell cooked pasta with boar Ragu and porcini lasagne. Crete brûlée and moscatel de Montalcino plus great wines along the way made this the experience of the trip. I thoroughly recommend this we saw other dishes coming out and the steaks looked fabulous.

Thanks for a lovely meal and evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    207
    48
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and the personal touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant which we found so excellent we went back a second time.
It's a small place so reserve if you can. The night we were there, all tables were booked.
The menu features many local foods. You will try not to hurry because the desserts from presentation to taste are awesome.
The owner, Antonio, attends personally to your table with some help.
He went out of his way after we chose a certain wine to tell us about the small vineyard and the artist owner.
The prices for the wine and food were reasonable.
This is a six star place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kapstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“What an amazing evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

12 of us celebrated walking the Via Francigena from San Gimignano to Montalcino by finishing with a meal at this lovely restaurant. The staff were amazing! We had a fabulous meal, served with a flourish by Antonio; delicious and glorious wines he had suggested; generous servings; and a really great evening. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy, welcoming and romantic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a very nice evening here recommended to us by a local resident.

We tried a menu that the reastaurant had put together of four courses.

First an antipasto of both cold cuts from Toscana, bruschetta and another bread with chicken liver spread.
Then a super tasty lasagne with mushrooms in it.
Then we had the manzo brasato al brunello con spinachi which was a tasty beef in brunello sauch with potato and spinach.
We got to pick desert for this menu and I had the torta di ricotta which was very good and my fiancée had the panacotta.

To drink I chose the "wine package" which consisted of a glass of selected wines to go with each dish. I don't recall which exact wines there was but each was very tasty.

Both of us were very happy with the food, the drinks, the service and the atmosphere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik-Andersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in Tuscany, Service was Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We did the four course with wine pairing and were surprised not only at how delicious it all was, but the value was unbeatable. Reservations a MUST as seating is very limited. The service couldn't have been any better. My personal favorite was the mushroom lasagna (I'm sure it had a fancier name but I can't remember what it might have been). It was heavenly. Montalcino was easlily one of our favorite hill towns and this place was easily one of the best meals of the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WYSOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Re di Macchia also viewed

Sant'Angelo in Colle, Montalcino
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Re di Macchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing