We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and delicious!”

Ristorante Taverna del Grappolo Blu
Ranked #11 of 69 Restaurants in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I ate at Il Grappolo Blu twice during out stay in Montalcino. The restaurant is hidden on a little side street, and the atmosphere is cozy and inviting! Food was delicious and the portions were very generous! Extensive wine list with many good choices, and the service was top-notch. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    262
    93
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Aware of our requirements”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Sunday lunch half way through our week in Montalcino. We ordered two starters of one sort and two of another and set about sharing them between us. Il Padrone was instantly aware and gave us fresh plates each so that we could leave the four starters in the middle of the table and help ourselves. These little details make you feel that you are a valued customer and not just another table of punters.

The food was very good. The wine list was extraordinary. It looks as if they had wine from all 221 different Brunello producers. Having drunk our way through quite a lot Brunello already that week we opted for the 2006 Syrah from Castello Banfi which was a wow and very sensibly priced.

Altogether a very pleasant and enjoyable sunday lunch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Tuscan meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great food, I had beef cheeks and husband had wild boar. The cippoline onions in balsamic amazing. Small place, get a reservation. Closest restaurant to capitani hotel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoGators2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable food with a "conveyor belt" style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food was reasonable although the rabbit was chopped into small pieces and therefore was full of bone splinters which made it impossible to enjoy. The rest of the food was reasonable though but nothing special. What really surprised me was that they pretended to bring a full "unopened" bottle of water to the table which I noticed was filled from a chilled tap from behind the counter. I saw this at least three times so it wasn't just us who were "cheated" this way. The waiters were all sour faced as if they did not know how to smile at the guest and made us feel as if we were getting our meal from a conveyer belt. We would not visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D_EB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Agree with other reviewers - food is good at typical prices for the region. Service was friendly and the atmosphere is nice. Would return again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TS2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Taverna del Grappolo Blu also viewed

Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante Taverna del Grappolo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing