We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Compare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beyond Compare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This spectacular boutique hotel feels like it is its own little village. It is so special and unique that I cannot compare it to any other resort. Our room was extremely large, probably 25 X 40 with high ceilings. The compartmentalized bathroom plus closets complete the suite. The beautiful furnishings, decor and view embellish your surroundings.

The staff made it clear they are there to provide you with anything and everything you would not just request, but that they think you might need. They were all helpful and pleasant. We stayed for dinner every night. We had tastings which included local foods and changed nightly. The servers could not do enough for us and certainly are a wonderful addition to the food and wine.

Though we spent two of the four days with a guide touring Tuscany, we had ample time to relax at the pool, walk the resort and just enjoy ourselves.

Though we drove to the resort from Florence, many of the other guests had a driver. Our GPS was on the money, until the detour due to a washed out bridge. We eventually arrived to a warm and gracious welcome. If you want to drink with dinner or are uncomfortable on windy unpaved roads, I suggest you dine at Castiglione del Bosco as many of the visitors when we were there did. Most of the other guests were friendly and had cocktails on the terrace nightly followed by an evening of fine dining. We went to the more casual restaurant for lunch.

For those who enjoy the type of resort I describe, Castiglion Del Bosco is not to be missed. We will return..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    11
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
153
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Not truly 5 stars, 4.5 maybe but can't do that as certainly room for improvement but really one of if not the best hotel we've every stayed at.
Amazing place and with incredible views, super friendly and helpful staff and lots of facilities. We ate at their Osteria la Canonica restaurant our first evening after long drive down from Portofino via Pisa and were so pleased we changed our last evening dinner back there as it was so good, not a huge menu but enough choice and great food and service. We played tennis a couple of mornings which was great although quite a lot of bugs and bees around that were annoying. One day we did a walk/hike which was fun but the grounds are huge and trails vary dramatically so best to ask ahead what makes most sense. Wine tasting was great and we ended up buying a few bottles and having them shipped back to us in California. Location is great and while 15 minutes or so drive to nearby towns to visit and / or for dinners plus loads of other wineries nearby. Our room was amazing as got upgraded but would have been better with a balcony/terrace to enjoy it more.
Breakfast at restaurant was decent but after first day did room service so quicker as had so much to fit in.
Front office staff were amazing and had our itinerary and were constantly updating for us as our plans changed.
The areas for improvement:
Housekeeping was inconsistent, sometimes at turndown shutters were closed, sometimes not, one night window and blinds left open, towels not replaced, water in fridge not replaced, wine glasses removed but at least when we called within minutes they were there to fix it but shouldn't be necessary.
Concierge service ahead of time was slow with normal response time of 3+ days, while most things got arranged it wasn't ideal and our request months in advance for skimmed/non fat milk for our coffee got missed until we had to request again when we got to our room.
Hiking trails are good but are poorly marked and difficulty unclear and it would be easy to get lost
But overall amazing and looking forward to going back again to explore the area more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I had CdB reviewed but somehow the review counted into a separate name -- still me.
Anyway, it was a golf vacation with couple of friends. We stayed at a villa there -- big thanks to our friend's boss since it was his treat. Lucky me :)
Services were excellent. Golf was great, and the villa we stayed was superior.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Terence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The accolades are true - this place is heaven on earth. The pool is spectacular, our room was gorgeous (and the turn down service incredible - several times per day and we never ran into the housekeeping staff). The main restaurant on the property - Drago - is also top notch. We were less thrilled with the more "casual" place, mainly because the waiters constantly badgered us on adding appetizers and desserts, which was annoying at such an expensive place. The closest town is Montalcino, a solid 20-25 minute drive away so be prepared to eat expensively on property (we brought in a picnic one night and ate out one night in Montalcino one night as well, although we would recommend eating in Sant'Angelo en Colle instead at Il Leccio - a truly great meal we had on the way out). The excursions are all really expensive (e.g., 90euro for a 1 hour wine tasting) but we splurged on the truffle hunting and we were glad we did as it was a unique and fun experience. The property is drop dead gorgeous and this place was a highlight of our honeymoon!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kindofmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

One of the most amazing places we have ever been too. Beyond 5 star perfection. The grounds are perfect along with the food and wine. Best place in Tuscany worth the long drive . This is the type of place you do not need to leave .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AP411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I read many reviews prior to my trip on June 10th. I was with a group of eight couples on a biking trip and this was our home for 4 nights.
What more can be said of this exquisite hotel? Not much. It was one of the the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. We were in a villa, but enjoyed the lovely pool, the food and drinks served by the kindest people. The smaller restaurant was our hang out for three of the nights, where we dined like kings and queens!
After 30 miles of biking each day, I still managed to gain weight from the the delicious pasta's, pizza's, steaks, potato's etc etc.
If you are fortunate enough to get to Tuscany, put this hotel on your bucket list...
Alison L.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fermaglich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Am writing this review at the end of a 7 night stay in Tuscany. This stunning property is most definitely one of the highlights. It used to be a medieval village itself so the grounds and buildings are spread out all over with stunning views of the Tuscan countryside from everywhere.

Check in was faultless with all the service you expect from a property of this price and standard.

The room (we had a junior suite) is huge with a gorgeous separate bathroom suite, very comfortable bed, private terraces and lounge area all in tasteful shades of olive and beige. On the first night it rained so it was really nice to just be able to enjoy the amazing suite.

We did a lot of our town visits (Pienza, montepulciano, Siena) before arriving at CDB so we could just make the most of the hotel. I'd recommend doing the same as it takes quite a while to reach the hotel up in the hills and is a 10k drive up a dirt track to get in which I'm not sure I would want to do more than a couple of times.

Food was great. There are 2 restaurants- one casual and one formal and both had great options albeit quite expensive.

There is a small spa with decent treatments.

I'm really happy we chose CDB as the last place to stay on our Tuscany trip. We would definitely return here and I recommend it if you want total luxurious surroundings and the feeling of being somewhere very 5*. It is very private and you will leave feeling totally relaxed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank isabelw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
4.2 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
23.8 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
5.6 mi away
Villa Armena Relais
Villa Armena Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Property: Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Address: Loc. Castiglion Del Bosco, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the UNESCO-listed Val d'Orcia Natural Park and in the heart of the Brunello di Montalcino wine-making region, Castiglion del Bosco is a 5000-acre country estate.Today, Castiglion del Bosco is a unique combination: it's one of Tuscany's largest private estates; it's an elegant Tuscan home away from home with a range of elegant and spacious suites and villas; it's a superb culinary destination, an exclusive private golf club and a leading Brunello di Montalcino winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing