We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime concept. A rare find thats really hard to compare with...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Sublime concept. A rare find thats really hard to compare with...”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is really special. It's way off the beaten path, with commanding views and an ultra luxurious footprint. Very few places around the world can compare. Everything is perfect. almost too perfect but not obnoxious! The food is excellent, especially in the casual osteria. We enjoyed the outdoor seating. The small spa is fitting and the services and facilities were great. This hotel is gorgeous!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrutinizing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    13
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
58
189
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Castiglion del Bosco is one of the most beautiful and amazing country hotel resorts one could hope to visit. This 800 year old 4,500 acre Tuscan estate was purchased in 2004 by Massimo Ferragamo, who spared no expense in restoring and building an incredible resort... luxurious facilities with only 22 suites and 9 villas, in a setting that is nothing short of stunning.

Our Dell' Orcio suite was one of the most luxurious suites we've stayed at this side of Trisara. Even the jaded Mrs. simonsays777 remarked "this is amazing". Absolutely gorgeous... spacious (I'm guessing 1,500 SF), beautiful finishings, furniture, colors, decor and patio.

Service by a youngish staff was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFO777dotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We've been coming to CdB for the last 3 years. The first two years' experience was impecable! We considered it 'The Best Hotel in the World' - and we know what we're talking about!

But this year we've, sadly, noticed that the quality is starting to decrease.

Maybe they've changed the General Manager or the core concept, but the fact is: The quality is going down.

The views and panoramas opening from practically all the windows and balconies are fabulous! You can spend hours sitting on the balcony of your villa with a glass of wine and enjoying. I've got a passion for beautiful scenery and this is the only place on Earth, where I can't imagine that the views can't get any better!



For both of these years breakfast was always in Osteria La Cannonica with authentic homely atmosphere, which couldn't be replicated anywhere else in the world. Now, purtroppo, they've moved it into Campo del Drago (the gastronomic restaurant), where it lost its' originality and became just a standard 5-star hotel breakfast... It's impossible to order the same breakfarst selection as they had last year, because the products weren't 'Typical Tuscan'. But how are Cereals and Bagels a part of Italian cuisine at all?! there're also interfering nasty mouches there....

We initially have booked a suite with a connected double, but afterwards we decided to move into a villa. However, the hotel staff was more reluctant to show us all the different options, than to tell us that for everything that one orders one is charged additional 30 Euros for Villa Service (in other words, delivery from the kitchen to the villa. The distance is approximately 5 mins leisurely walking).

Also, room service isn't available until 12 am for the villas and pre-order isn't either. The only option is cooking breakfast yourself, which is quite weird for a hotel trying to create the best luxury experience in Tuscany. We asked for a chef to come and cook us breakfast, but he never arrived. (we had a fantastic time cooking breakfast ourselves and eating it afterwards).

When we asked the reception to organise fishing for us, which is suggested by their Official Activity Guide they said that they were 'doing it for the first time', thus they had equipment only for three, because they found out that fourth was 'not good'.
When we finally caught A vegetarian carp. La Cannonica refused continuously to cook it, not wanting to take the responsibility and proposing us to sign a paper, that we won't have any questions to the restaurant. In the end, we decided not to eat it.

The rooms and villas are very cozy and very well thought-out. But the level of service is now coming down, so that it's not so much of a pleasure staying here now.

However, it's SUCH a pity, that such an idea and concept is now being killed. It's SO difficult to create something and SO easy to destroy it...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our recent stay at this property was the highlight of a top-of-the-line trip to Italy. While we stayed in 5-star hotels in Florence, Venice, Lake Como, and Milan, nothing topped the features of CdB. Our room, a suite just underneath the main building was one of the nicest rooms I've ever seen! Luxurious, inviting and comfortable, all exponentially multiplied! Forget the $$ and understand that you will likely never experience better for your buck anywhere.

The activities (we did a cooking class, golf, swimming, gym,bocce, hikes, and the infamous Brunch) were wonderful and had we more time, we'd like to have done many more. The food at each of their restaurants was among the best hotel food we've yet to experience. The Sunday Brunch is simply the best brunch we've ever had in our lives. In addition to every imaginable Tuscan treat, you are invited to walk into the kitchen and custom order from whatever they present.

Most importantly, the people, their attitude and service could not have been better. They were sweet, un-intrusive, yet ready to be helpful at any moment. I even left a pair of prescription sunglasses on the golf course that were later found and overnighted to our Lake Como hotel (hat tip to Michela!)

Our only regret was not carving out more time to spend at this special venue!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been to Tuscany several times and stayed at wonderful places, but none have compared to our experience at this elegant and relaxing hotel. We only wished we had more than two evenings here. From the moment we were greeted at the front entrance to our exquisite suite(upgrade), we were surprised and delighted. The dining room was overlooking the mountains, the waitstaff impeccable and the food delicious. Loved their continental breakfast, no buffet, they bring everything to you. The server from Genoa(can't remember her name) was just so lovely and helpful. She made our last moments there memorable.

I would return absolutely and highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you use Virtuoso agent, you could get upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and i went to Italy for two weeks in September.
Our first stop was Florence for 3 nights and then we rented a car and drove to Castiglion Del Bosco. Its hard to express in words how wonderful this oasis is.
Everything from the moment you are greeting to the moment you leave is outstanding!!!
Even the gym is gorgeous and has the most up to date equipment and breath taking views.
The food is outstanding at both restaurants although my husband and I preferred the more laid back Osteria.
Our third stop was Venice and then we were suppose to end in Rome however we found ourselves wishing we could end our vacation in paradise so we cancelled our hotel in Rome and went back to the Castiglion Del Bosco. We were so lucky they still had space since i believe they only have 22 rooms or so (not including the Villas).
I would highly recommend doing a wine tasting and horseback ridding, both were trully memorable experiences.
The Castiglion Del Bosco MADE our vacation so THANK YOU!!!!
p.s. Augusta who manages the Osteria Restaurant was amazing! She trully made our dinning experience one to remember. So friendly and amazing

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Michele Suite which was beautiful. Large sitting area, gorgeous bathroom and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viviansz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here last year during two weeks trip to Italy. One week in Tuscany and in this hotel. What a hotel!!! It is in quiet rural location (you need to go on the roads without asphalt), but that gives more charm and more feeling of what real Tuscany is. You can see on of the most beautiful towns in Tuscany - Montalcino - from this hotel.

The hotel is a small Tuscan village with separate buildings. Details of everything in hotel are awesome from room interior to dinnerware in restaurant. Food and wine are excellent, Try Brunnelo di Montalcino wine. Infinity swimming pool is gorgeous.

Recommend for those who like rural setting, quiet surroundings and attention to details. Check some of my photos from this hotel.

Room Tip: Junior Suite or Senior Suite are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Another_Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
407 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
642 reviews
4.2 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
141 reviews
23.8 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
3.8 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Property: Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Address: Loc. Castiglion Del Bosco, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the UNESCO-listed Val d'Orcia Natural Park and in the heart of the Brunello di Montalcino wine-making region, Castiglion del Bosco is a 5000-acre country estate.Today, Castiglion del Bosco is a unique combination: it's one of Tuscany's largest private estates; it's an elegant Tuscan home away from home with a range of elegant and spacious suites and villas; it's a superb culinary destination, an exclusive private golf club and a leading Brunello di Montalcino winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing