We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimate luxury in Toscana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ultimate luxury in Toscana”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

whatever I say about this "experience" will not be enough - two years in a row we went with the family and enjoyed a three night stay, while it is in a middle of no-where, even the GPS could not locate it we relied on posts planted by the hotel reach our destination! It was recommended to me by Amex Centurion travel service and the whole family loved the idea of being in this domaine/vineyard! Suites are furnished and styled by Ferregamo beautiful, spacious and very comfortable- restaurant serves veggies and fruits planted on site - make sure to walk this organic lot, from melon to eggplants,tomatoes etc...so beautifully manicured!! visit the winery - very modern and unlike the much older wineries I am accustomed to visitng while in Tuscany! to sum up the trip: Great food+ Great suites+ Great location - fantastic service... 6 stars!!

Room Tip: get the suites with the little garden - bit pricier but worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    12
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
56
179
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Finding Castiglion Del Bosco, even with the GPS, wasn't easy, but it was so worth it. The grounds are immaculate and impeccably landscaped. The pool was beautiful. The views of the Tuscan countryside were dramatic and breathtaking. It is most definitely NOT inexpensive, but I will say that the ambiance exudes luxury.
We ate at the restaurant in the hotel every night, and the food was outstanding. Even the snacks for "happy hour" were delicious. We did the vineyard/winery tour, which you have to bookin advance, and I highly recommend you do too. They will take you to a few of the vineyards that they have replanted since Ferragamo bought the property (in 2003 I believe) and then into the winery, where you see every nuance of their production. After visiting the private, members wince cellar and the tasting room in the winery itself, we headed back to the hotel and tasted several delicious wines, each better than the rest. This was our last stop in Italy, and it was indeed memorable. We will be back for sure!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ny_skier_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Someone I wish to own one of the villas. Yes that would be a dream come true and that's how beautiful it is.

You are right in a setting which offers the balance of luxury within a very natural setting. Fresh produce from the garden. Perfect food made by all the chefs. Beautiful rooms. World class service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandiOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Castiglion Del Bosco is much more than a hotel. It is an ancient village that has been meticulously rebuilt and transformed. Every detail has been thought out and executed beautifully from the huge stone pool with a view of Tuscany, the bocci ball court under the cypress trees, the huge kitchen garden, the ancient church with rare frescoes to the buildings themselves. The resort and rooms are incredibly gorgeous and comfortable.
We requested a terrace suite and were upgraded to larger suite without a terrace. It was stunning with an attention to detail that I have never seen before. The main room had high coved ceilings that were hand painted and a massive stone fireplace. The bedroom had high ceilings an enormous four poster bed with C & C linens making the most luxurious bed. Although much of the furniture were antiques, there was no sense of mustiness, but instead there was a clean and fresh feeling to the rooms. The bathroom had acres of cream marble counters with lots of drawers, windows on two walls, a free standing tub and a walk in closet. Details included a red leather covered the flatscreen tv and safe, a high end espresso maker and huge oil paintings. At night there were homemade cookies by your bed and other afternoons homemade candies and always bottle water.
Not wanting to leave the room in the morning we paid the extra 10 euros to have our complementary breakfast brought to our room. You can order anything you want including fresh ricotta and honey, pancakes, baskets of to die for pastries, etc. It was amazing.
It was very hot, so we spent a lot of time by the pool. Marco, the pool guy was great. Very friendly and helpful. The pool towels were amazing--huge, thick and incredibly soft, custom made by C & C.
We did the horse back riding outing. I was disappointed to find out it was not on the property (we got very lost trying to find it) but it was a fabulous way to see the surrounding countryside. The horses were healthy and well trained. We rode for three hours past farms, castles, vineyards and forests. It was challenging and lots of fun, plus our guide was very informative.
We also did the $75 a person wine tasting. It seemed like a lot of money at first, but it was well worth it. It starts with a tour of the vineyards and winery and then generous tasting of 5 good wines and appetizers.
The spa is nice, I had a private steam room and shower area, but the massage was just OK.
The food at both the formal restaurant and bistro was very good. The service was very attentive and friendly. The pricing was very fair. In the darling bistro they serve little buckets of fresh garden vegetables and a grilled bread with their own olive for dunking. There is a store to the side where we bought a bottle of wine which they served to us while we played Bocci ball!
This hotel is in the league of the very best Amans and Four Seasons, but with a style all its own. Expensive, but very much worth the splurge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Planning our yearly vacation to Italy last year (October) my husband and I decided to try a 'new' hotel/resort in Tuscany. Loving privacy and seclusion we picked this spot in its own private Borgo! After a long drive in the evening we were greeted most cordially and thrilled to arrive in a very special and elegant place. The rooms are understated luxury and tastefully decorated --- the bathroom was outstanding. The owners provide many extra touches and treats that are clearly well thought out. We both loved the resort's own Ferragamo Bath products - Tuscan Soul.

The property has 2 excellent restaurants and we frankly ate on site our entire 5 night stay. The resort has extensive hiking trails and an excellent (and panoramic) fitness studio. The spa is small but perfect and expertly run.

The views from the infinity pool and the breakfast terrace are sublime. On one day we walked to Montalcino (about 3 hours) and it is a short drive to the highlights of the Val d'Orcia including Pienza and of course some excellent wineries.

The hotel's staff are professional and hospitable. The resort clearly attracts an overseas clientele but we experienced no condensation or pretense --- simply a universal graciousness on the part of all the staff which was in keeping with the remarkable surroundings.


Do we recommend Castiglion del Bosco? Well, we're returning this fall....

Room Tip: We were in the "lowest" category room and it was frankly outstanding in size and in furnis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I just spent three nights at CdB and it was just fabulous. Everything was exactly what luxury is supposed to be. Absolute perfection. The cooking class was fantastic. Most of the vegetables served in the hotel come from the garden on site. I still dream about the pomodoro sauce. The winery tour is very, very cool and we enjoyed getting to see where the grapes are grown. The rooms are huge and the Ferragamo bath products are a lovely addition. You have a great view from just about anywhere in the hotel. It was impeccable and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treeves925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've spent our lives travelling to some of the most spectacular places and this now surpasses them all for pure beauty and service. Sig Ferragamo has transformed this 2500 plus acre estate of Brunello di Montalcino wines to an intoxicating respite for lovers of life, good taste stunning interiors fine wines fast cars Tuscan countryside and onsite-produced gastronomy heaven. The service was impeccable, thoughtful attentive and immediate. Nothing was too much trouble. We met their group and events manager Sara who was a delight, anything was possible and nothing was too much trouble, so we intend to return for a planned celebration. The smiles and genuine warmth of affection from all the talented staff oozed charm and attention to detail. The private villas have views to die for and some with their own extra garden-house rooms (akin to a small villa each themselves) where you can park a nanny or accompanying parents close to hand. The resort is in fact more your own personal village with a tiny chapel, castle ruins, piazza, osteria, terraces.. Perfect for a wedding if you have a daughter and friends worth spoiling, or just like us a simple escape where the finer things in life all come together in one place. This place is impeccable quality at value. Take a soft top car to breath in the countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are to die for. The 5 bedroomed villa is buggy ride overlooking the golf course an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geronimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montalcino
7.3 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 14 in Montalcino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
9.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.2 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 14 in Montalcino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
23.8 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
15.4 mi away
Borgo Santo Pietro
Borgo Santo Pietro
#1 of 3 in Chiusdino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco

Property: Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco
Address: Loc. Castiglion Del Bosco, 53024, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Montalcino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the UNESCO-listed Val d'Orcia Natural Park and in the heart of the Brunello di Montalcino wine-making region, Castiglion del Bosco is a 5000-acre country estate.Today, Castiglion del Bosco is a unique combination: it's one of Tuscany's largest private estates; it's an elegant Tuscan home away from home with a range of elegant and spacious suites and villas; it's a superb culinary destination, an exclusive private golf club and a leading Brunello di Montalcino winery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Rosewood Castiglion Del Bosco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing