We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wines”
Review of Altesino

Altesino
Ranked #17 of 82 things to do in Montalcino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Altesino is a leader in various, important innovations in the production of Sangiovese from Montalcino, causing it to stand out and become a reference point for the entire territory. Some of the positive contributions putting Montalcino on the world map are: the introduction of the "Cru" (Montosoli) concept in 1975, the production in '77 of the first Grappa from a winery and the first Futures (purchasing wine before its release) for Brunello 1985. We organize wine tastings and the visit are made under appointment preferably.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful wines”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Melissa was an excellent guide, showing us the property, explaining the various vineyards we could see from the property, and introducing us to the playful Shepherds. Altesino has some of the best Brunello in the world, and their Montosoli is consistently fantastic, thanks to its unusual location high on a Montalcino hillside.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RKLeBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful view modern cellar”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

one of the most beautiful wineries! the guide (girl) there was really nice and kind!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great wine tour”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful property-we learned a great deal about the Brunello wine process.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank artrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must visit Vineyard in montalcino!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I had a visit to the Altesino Vineyard in September. It was nice to have our own private tasting on a Sunday afternoon of their great selection of wines. They have an excellent Brunello and many other wonderful varietals. Tasting is performed right on the estate. Our host was very helpful and knowledgeable about the wine and we left with many different selections to bring home.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank southernbelle831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Astounding Tour of an Impressive Winery”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Upon arriving at the semi-secluded Altesino Winery in the Brunello di Montalcino region in Tuscany, my buddy and I were greeted in the parking lot by our tour guide Melissa and two sweet-as-can-be german shepherd dogs who were eager to grab as much attention from us as possible. We had finished lunch in Brunello earlier and were about 45 minutes early from our scheduled group tour, and figured we would hang out and browse the facility on our own until our tour commenced. Melissa and the other tour guide Sabine (two young Danish ladies who spoke perfect English) greeted us and said that if it's all the same to us, they would take us on our own private tour of the winery as they were not busy at the time. Melissa did a phenomenal job of educating us of their vineyards and the different micro-climates in the region and how that translated to the grapes. We toured their fermentation room and were told about their fermentation and aging processes and the different oaks they used to age their wines in barrels. We were shown the bottling room as well as the room were the wines were hand-labeled. The grand finale of the tour came in the tasting room where a table had already been set up for us. A beautiful setting complete with a white table cloth and an antepast dish, replete with various cheeses, pancetta and olive oil. Melissa proceeded to describe for us the various wines as we tasted them. Their Brunello was powerful and ripe with dark fruit flavors; an absolute treat. We proceeded to finish our tasting and purchased a couple bottles of wine as well. Altesino is certainly a place I would highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altesino also viewed

Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 
Montalcino, Province of Siena
Montalcino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Altesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing